We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel location is good, clean and nice rooms. However, we were a group of 14 people travelling together. We had children as well in the group. Most of us are vegetarians, had real difficulty in getting food. Even the non-vegetarians had limited options as most of the food available were cold cuts. The hotel did not have any room service so tea coffee as well is difficult to order in room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank nalinchandna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was the most unappealing hotel in our visit to Scandanavia. The decor was bizarre, and the design not very functional. Our room was very small, dark and shabby with poor lighting. Fortunately, the windows opened for natural light and air. The bathroom was clean and adequate but little space to put toiletries. Also, the glass door between the bath and bedroom is only partially frosted, therefore you have reduced privacy. The staff was friendly enough, but not very knowledgeable or helpful with the exception of a young woman who just started for the summer. The breakfast buffet was plentiful but not very interesting. After looking at the dinner buffet, we decided to eat out. On a positive note the location was convenient for walking around the harbor and historical area, and the shuttle bus to the airport is just across the street.

Room Tip: Higher floor, corner room, harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank lagunatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Modern interior in wonderful old building on one of the best sites in Bergen, very close to harbour, market, shops and other facilities. Beautifully furnished, and very clean. Exceptionally quiet room at night. Outstanding inclusive item for us was the wonderful evening buffet (soup/two hot options/excellent cold table) available from 18.00-21.00 It was noticeable how many other guests were taking advantage of this additional benefit. Breakfast buffet was equally good. Cheerful staff at Reception were particularly helpful whenever approached, with a definite "we can" positive attitude. We wanted to take maximum advantage of the hotel's situation with a room overlooking harbour, and this was arranged simply when booking through Clarion's own website plus email; well worth the extra cost of a de luxe room. Overall probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
5  Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

the rooms were fine. staff friendly and good natured. Soundproofing was very good. However, except for one woman who was terrific, they were clueless. Dinner was a joke. Awful food, hardly any choices. Tacos in Bergen as the only dinner choice? Seriously?! No one to help with baggage, though there are several steps up to the hotel. We went across the street to get simple directions to a tourist spot, since the hotel staff in the Clarion was clueless and always too busy. Also, ventilation very poor. We were exceedingly warm the entire time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank particular55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel, which is located very close to the fish market and Bryggen.Our room was tastefully appointed - about the size you'd expect for most European hotels (typically smaller than American or Asian ones). The room was already setup for our child, including the towels and had a heated towel rack, which is always great.

The morning breakfast, afternoon pancakes, and dinner was a bonus and highly desired in a city where eating for a family can easily run $40/pp. The lobby was nice and chic, but lacked a full bar. The staff's friendliness varied - some were very friendly, while others seemed to want you to leave them alone as soon as possible. I was not sure what to make of this, but I obliged all the same. I have to mention for awareness, that the baggage room was not locked (which is an easy fix). Also, 2 of our backpacks were stolen while we had our backs turned as anyone can enter the hotel and there are no guards. The Front Desk is well away from the baggage area, so they do not have a clear sight. Most guests during our stay appeared to be tourists and families, but the place still seemed to be calm and quiet.

Location is close to Bryggen, however it is a decent walk to the train station, form where you are likely to be taking your train to Myrdal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keiocorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Wonderful staff....great breakfast.....good afternoon pancakes.......we based here for 4 nights and were blessed to have a room in the tower on the highest floor....this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tabicma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Great full breakfast, afternoon Swedish pancakes for afternoon snacks, and delicious dinner of beef stroganoff. Hotel price was higher than most, but it was good value. To top it off, we got views of the harbor & downtown!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
737 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#5 of 49 in Bergen
333 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
702 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#11 of 49 in Bergen
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Address: Slottsgaten 1, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bergen
#3 Family Hotel in Bergen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £146 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Havnekontoret Hotel Bergen
Clarion Collection Bergen
Clarion Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing