We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Bergen certainly worth a visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret, Bergen

Couple (mid sixties) from Aberdeen 31 July 2010

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Havnekontoret for 4 nights in July 2010. Also stayed there in July 2009. Booked with Expedia. Regular flights from Aberdeen to Bergen with SAS/Wideroe. Flybussen from airport to hotel at bus terminus. Excellent hotel in ideal position. Room was very comfortable, twin beds together, table and chairs, TV, fridge, bathroom with shower over bath, (no safe). We had harbour view from our fourth floor window. Very nice large lounge area, with reception, bar, library and small room with free internet. Reception staff very friendly and helpful and spoke good English. 360 degree view of Bergen from Turret. Walking around historic Bryggen very interesting. Funicular up to Floyen takes about 5 minutes. Spectacular views from there. Restaurant at top. Also cable car goes to Mt Ulriken. There is the fish market, aquarium and many museums and churches to visit. Cruiseships in Bergen most days. Many fjord trips available from Bergen both for few hours and all day trips. Went on “Norway on a Nutshell last year”. Very good trip on train, bus, ship on inland fjord and train. Eating and drinking out very expensive in Norway. Weather disappointing this year - rained a lot.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harcus65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 826 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed here for one night after flying from America. We got in early and our room was ready for us hours ahead of schedule. The view wasn't great, but the bed was comfy, and we did get breakfast, afternoon pancakes and supper- I've never been to a hotel where supper was included. Good choice and easy walk all around.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcrdaycare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Yes, this hotel is one of the most expensive in Bergen, but considering the price of food in Norway, the fact that this hotel gives you breakfast, afternoon pancakes, AND DINNER in the price of the room makes it a super value in my book. We booked this hotel through Expedia and got a good price.

We'd been all over Scandinavia, but Norway was by far the most expensive place in terms of food. A regular hamburger at a restaurant is $25. An appetizer of chips and salsa is $20. If you want a full meal, the minimum you'll spend is $30 just on one entree, and many are much more than that. There really aren't too many food choices. We found that all over Norway (Oslo included) you either had fast food (McDonalds, Burger King), pubs which sold expensive "Tapas," dirty looking kabab houses (really, most looked very unclean -- and I eat kababs all the time back in the US) or regular restaurants which were all rather fancy and pricey. No inexpensive pasta, for example. A medium sized plain pizza will set you back $35. Even the fish market, which was less expensive than a restaurant, was still expensive. A skewer of shrimp was $20.

So, the fact that you can get all your meals taken care of at this hotel is a financial miracle IMO. We were 4 people, 2 adults and 2 teenage girls. So as you can imagine, feeding 4 people at restaurants with those types of prices adds up really fast. For example, one night we were really craving Indian food. We had 3 entrees that we shared and two breads. No appetizers, no wine, no dessert, no coffee. The bill came to $125.

OK, enough about the food. The hotel itself is really really nice. You'd expect old shabby decor in an old place like this, but it is exactly the opposite. Modern, whimsical, bright, refreshing. Purple is one of the accent colors. The place really makes you feel relaxed and taken care of. It feels happy! The old tower which is attached to the hotel is really cool. You must sit in the room with the frescos on the ceiling, and climb the stairs, where the history of Bergen is showcased in photos on every floor. The view from the top (get a "tower keycard" from reception) is lovely and relaxing!

There are two computers in a little room that you are free to use any time, as well as wireless internet access in the rooms.

There is a really nice exercise and relaxation area downstairs, including a steam room and sauna.

The rooms themselves are moderately sized (not too large or too small). The bathrooms are clean and modern, and this was one place where you could take a shower and not flood the ENTIRE room (only a small part). (What is it with European showers??!!!) One thing I'll say about the bathrooms....some of them have glass doors. It looks nice but is impractical, because some of them are see-through!

The rooms are quiet and the housekeeping is inobtrusive and friendly. The beds are comfortable. You can get a "king" which is essentially two twins side by side. Plenty of space. All rooms have flat screen TVs with a decent selection of channels.

Regarding the food again....in the morning there is a fairly large breakfast buffet. I've seen better (for example, the Hotel Rival in Stockholm), but this was quite nice, especially if you like herring (which I love). There are a few hot items, such as scrambled eggs, and you can cook your own bacon on the built-in griddle.

In the afternoons from 3 to 6 p.m., you can make your own Swedish pancakes on the built-in griddle. I know they say "waffles" but in fact it is pancakes (same batter). Take my advice and go next door to the Rema 1000 supermarket or the fish market and get some strawberries to put inside the pancakes! Yum! Coffee and tea and cold water are available all day. They give you a few types of jam, butter, and sour cream to put inside the pancakes.

In the evening, from 6 to 9 p.m. there is a light dinner buffet served. Usually one or two hot items in chafing pots, and a buffet of various types of salads (both green and pasta/rice), some soup, lots of bread, a dessert of some sort. It may not be what you totally WANT to eat that day, but it will fill you up and not empty your wallet. Overall I thought the dinner food was very tasty. If you have food allergies or other special needs, the kitchen can make you something special.

Overall, I really enjoyed staying at this hotel in Bergen, which is a cute town with an interesting history. The hotel is right in the middle of the historic area, with easy walking everywhere. I would highly recommend it, especially for families with teenagers or groups of people traveling together.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelMomzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I stayed here for my 30th Birthday and had a nice room on the top floor overlooking the harbour. We flew from Oslo after spending a couple of nights in a Clarion Collection hotel there.

The location couldn't be better, in the Harbour next to Bryggen (the UNESCO World Heritage site). A short walk to the centre of town and the Furnicular railway. Could be a bit noisey at night time being so close to the action but we were on the 6th floor and didn't bother us.

The room was nice, but it got very stuffy in there and we needed to keep the windows open, which is not always ideal with Bergen's unpredictable weather. Compared the Clarion Collection in Olso they charge a daily fee if you want to watch any of their films. These were free in Oslo but then again you don't go on holiday to watch tv.

The breakfast was good and varied, there is also tea and coffee available throughout the day, internet access, and a light buffet in the evening which are all included.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clouds111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

If you plan to visit Bergen in the summer with warm weather, plan to stay someplace else. If you like the location the go with the Radisson. Our room was hot, small and view into the inner terrace/parking area. This place is over rated and over priced.
Although dinner and breakfast are included, i felt like was a corner diner. I wished we would have passed on eating there, as it just did not taste good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daffofils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

This is a typical Norwegian provincial hotel probably duplicated in this chain's other hotels throughout Norway. One lonely girl at the reception desk.....who does all- Baggage , Cashier , receptionist,bartender,shop assistant! But seemingly not bothered at all and just as pleasant as can be. This is a lovely hotel , in the best possible location in Bergen right on the harbour and in a architecturally beautiful building. The lobby is imposing and comfortable.

The rooms are superb with the most comfortable beds we've had in a long while . BUT , and this is a BIG BUT the rooms are depressingly dark....and being done up in dark purple only adds to the gloom . They do however have really excellent reading lights on the bed boards. Anyhow we did get a very good night's sleep as its not all noisy outside even on the low floor facing the street Flat screen TV on the wall...good quality but very limited foreign channels. Good large computer desk and free internet connections are excellent.

Breakfast selection OK ,not great , with not a staff member in sight... except 2 cleaners clearing away dirty dishes. You make your own eggs and bacon ...quite a new approach to saving Hotel labour costs!! But the Norwegians are masters at that as we found in our travels but those around when you can see and talk to one, still maintain their lovely and pleasant disposition.

Certainly we would come back if no other reason but for the location and an in depth study in how a 4 star hotel can manage with hardly any staff!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Maybe because all the reviews for this hotel were so great, I was expecting more than I got. First the good points: it's in a great location - in the centre of town and bang on the harbour. The staff are very helpful and very pleasant. It's got a laid back feel to it and the sitting area is comfortable and pleasant to relax in. Now the bits that could have been better: The rooms weren't great - they felt they could have done with a lick of paint, the decor was brown and brown and brown - very dismal. There were two small bottles of hair products in the bathroom and that was it and on both occasions the towels left on the bath were not changed or removed or even folded up. The room cleaning was minimal and erratic with as far as I could make out only the carpet being hoovered and the beds made up. I was out most of the time but the rooms weren't somewhere you would want to come back to and relax. It was just about alright to come back and sleep in - a top of the range three star hotel or bottom of the range four star.That said, the staff were all young and pleasant with a good attitude and that did make up for the rest of it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brill95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#5 of 49 in Bergen
328 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
692 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Address: Slottsgaten 1, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bergen
#3 Family Hotel in Bergen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £153 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Havnekontoret Hotel Bergen
Clarion Collection Bergen
Clarion Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing