We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good. All around.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Vestlandet
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good. All around.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Arrived in the middle of the night, but was still met by a very smiley girl who checked me in in about 20 seconds.
I slept like a log because it's a very quiet hotel, in spite of being located literally at the airport. Also because the beds are amazing and I sorely regret not buying a pillow, as they are just as amazing. Lovely linens without the clinical hospital-y feeling hotel linens sometimes get.
The room itself was just as promised and as good as when I've stayed before. Everything is clean and in order, and this goes for the bathroom as well. The food is good, and I had room service with a smile. I had planned going to the city when I woke up, but decided to just be happy for my second night and enjoy my stay in stead.

If I had to pick a couple of negative things it would be how I found the room to be just a couple of degrees too hot for my taste for sleeping even after I'd turned the thermostat all the way down, but that's just nitpicking. And I suppose some people will call it too expensive, but as long as I get the quality I pay for, I don't mind.

As I said: Good. All around.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergenairport, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear guest!

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you soon!

Tina Våtvik Olsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    246
    66
    27
    10
See reviews for
79
197
62
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Only stayed at the hotel one night, but that was more then enough to give me a great impression. The staff there is fantastisc. You immidetly feel welcome at Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport. Customer experience is obviously important to the staff there. And to top it all, the food is fantastic. Hope I get the chance to stay there again one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergenairport, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear guest!

We have a wonderful and dedicated staff at Clarion Hotel Bergen airport - and we are so pleased to hear that you feel the same way!

Thank you for taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback.

Welcome back!

Tina Våtvik Olsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stayed at Radisson Blue in down town Bergen and at Clarion Bergen Airport Hotel the night before I flight back to Oslo. I have to say this hotel was very clean, the room was spectaculars. If you like a modern look, this hotel is for you. I had breakfast there and it was excellent. I wish this hotel could be located at down town Bergen.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergenairport, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear guest!

Big smile from us in Bergen - We are so happy to hear about your stay.

We thank you for your wonderful feedback!


Tina Våtvik Olsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skillman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
182 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

If you have to catch an early flight from Bergen this is the place to stay. 1 minute walk from hotel to terminal entrance. Hotel modern with standard quality rooms. Just don't plan to eat there. The food in the restaurant was the worst we experienced in our 3 week trip to Scandinavia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orchiddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergenairport, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear guest!

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback.

We are sorry that you had bad experience in our restaruant, we will continue our work to improve.

Tina Våtvik Olsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our experience reflects the other reviews with one exception. Don't know why no one else mentioned that on the stylish shelf by the mini bar featuring the bottle of wine for sale, there is no way to turn off the light showcasing it without turning off all power to the room. This means that you have a choice of either having that light on all night or using the flashlight to find your way around in the dark. The mini bar refrigerator also goes off! We asked the maid and management about it, and they said that's just the way it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CampRedwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergenairport, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear guest!

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback.
We are sorry that our staff was uneable to show you how the light works

The switch by the bed regulates the light at the minibar, this way you can choose without taking the light in the entire room.

Tina Våtvik Olsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I have stayed at Clarion Bergen Airport hotel several times and must say it is the best Choice hotel I have been to. The people at the front desk always welcome you with a smile, the rooms are great, only downside is that the standard rooms are quite small. The beds are comfortable and rooms soundproof. The breakfast is great with a lot of different hot and cold options.
Location is perfect if you have to stay near the airport.
Only thing I don't like is that the gym on the top floor becomes crazy hot during summers.

Room Tip: I like the rooms with the airport view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarMikeBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergenairport, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear guest!

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Clarion Hotel Bergen airport.
Regarding the gym - We are working on some options to make this a more suitable work out area.
Thank you! We look forward to see you again.

Best regards Tina Våtvik Olsen
General Manager - Clarion Hotel Bergen airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I had a 6.30 AM flight from Bergen airport and therefore chose Clarion for my stay. This was an excellent choise due to the location right at the aiport and even a super early breakfast.

I arrived in the evening and could already print my boarding pass in the hotel lobby for the morning flight. I also paid my stay already at check-in.

The hotel room was small but cosy apart from some black hair in the bed... a total put off for me. Other than that, it was very clean.
I did expect some more amenitites in the room, for example slippers and a bathrobe would have been quite thoughtful considering this is a 4-star hotel and they are proudly marketing the sauna on the top floor overlooking the runway.

Speaking of the sauna, I did went up and did find it quite cool to be looking at the planes taking off. Luckily I did not plan to go to the gym before the sauna, because I found it to be a tiny room with a treadmill and a stationary bike (or maybe 2?) and both of them were in use already.
I got little bit confused about the change room too, needed to check twice to take the door to the ladies'. Funny enough, there was no other females, but one of the lockers was in use, so I suspect one of the guys using the gym had already mistaken about the door...
I did enjoy relaxing in the sauna but it was quite a small one and I do wonder if I had stayed if those guys (or any other) would have stepped in too.

I slept perfectly well, even if short, and there was no noice whatsoever coming from the airport.

Breakfast was said to be "simple" at the early hours before the actual breakfast buffet opened, but honestly for me the "simple" brekafast was still a buffet style, really good! Lot of options, really a positive surprise as I was waiting for nothing else than a slice of bread and a fruit.

After breakfast I could simply walk down to the terminal.
Travellers, please be reminded not to leave it for the last minute to go to the terminal though - even if a quick walk, it appeared to be very busy over there and I stayed at least 30 minutes in the queue for the baggage drop. Perhaps better option would have been to go and leave the luggage super early and then come back for breakfast, but I thought about it too late.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeiDi_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergenairport, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear guest!

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We are happy to hear about your stay.
Regarding the gym: We are aware of the fact that the gym is to small, and will strive to find a better solution.

We wish you a wonderful summer!

Tina Våtvik Olsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport

Property: Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport
Address: Flyplassvegen 551, Bergen 5869, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#2 Business Hotel in Bergen
#2 Family Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport is built in direct connection to Flesland, Bergen's airport. From the airport you can walk straight into a vibrant hotel with a personal touch. A visit to Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport is the best way to start or finish your stay in Bergen.The hotel has 1600 square meters of conference venues with a total capacity of more than 1200 people. Our 16 meeting and conference rooms are designed for modern requirements, with large windows and the latest technical solutions. We have experienced staff who will help you to plan and run a successful meeting, conference or other event. Our aim is to solve problems that may arise before they become an issue, so that you can focus on your work.At the same time, we are more than a conference hotel and have something for everyone. The restaurant and bar Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson serves food inspired by Manhattan using locally sourced ingredients. If you want to unwind we recommend a visit to our relax department PAUSE on the top floor. Recharge in the sauna or work out in the gym with a view of the runway.We welcome you to a modern and trendy design hotel with interesting architecture, modern art and musical inspiration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Bergen
Bergen Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing