We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, Comfortable and Good Value-for-Money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Wherever
Level Contributor
209 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Convenient, Comfortable and Good Value-for-Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel is located next to the terminal and is accessed by a covered walkway in a couple of minutes.

The room was a good sized and very nicely decked out in a very modern style. The beds were large and comfortable.

We paid slightly more for a room with a good view over the terminal and its apron. The room is well sound proofed and we had no problems at all with aircraft noise. There was a small bowl of fruit and chocolates and a nice hand-written note of welcome waiting in the room.

There was a really good choice of foods for breakfast including soya milk which enabled me – lactose intolerant to have cereal in a hotel for the first time I can recall.

Dinner was excellent – if pricey like all Norwegian restaurants. I would highly recommend the moule frit followed by reindeer steak.

The room itself was very much cheaper than a more basic Best Western in the city centre and represented excellent value-for-money.

Of course, it is nice being able to check-out less than two hours before your flight takes off as well.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the apron.runway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    246
    66
    27
    10
See reviews for
79
197
62
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We arrived very late on a Friday night and were welcomed delightfully by the staff. The room was lovely with the most comfortable bed I've slept in for years. It was spacious, beautifully clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the staff on reception particularly helpful again on checkout. All in all a great, but far too short, stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenB545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lb,il
Level Contributor
93 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

If you have an early departure or very late arrival this might be a good choice as the hotel is literally about 100 feet from the terminal while being a 45 minute bus ride or 25 minute cab ride from downtown. The large breakfast buffet was one of the best we experienced while in Norway. We asked for and were given a quiet room at the end of the hall. The glass on the bathroom doors is semi translucent so someone in the room can see into the bathroom. A mistake was made on our bill at checkout but was promptly corrected by management when brought to their attention. The thermostat seemed permanently set. This was the most expensive hotel of our stay in Norway costing about $500 for the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chr_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergenairport, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear guest!

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback - We appreciate your honest opinion.

We will continue to challenge each other to be better!


Tina Våtvik Olsen - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Positive: Walking distance to the airport, only one in Bergen. Nice room with a view to the runway. There were egg&bacon at 4 in the morning for breakfast, i did not expect that.

Negative: The restaurant is connected to the lobby. There was strange and irritating music. The Clarion hotels have an very "eco-friendly" approach. This means that you sometimes walk in total darkness because of electricity savings. Some noise from airplanes.

A curiosity: The hotel have forbidden all form of "hanky panky television"..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Two nights at the Clarion BGO and very happy with choice. Right on terminal so great for early morning departures. Staff always helpful. The restaurant menu is a little short on choice but the food was excellent. As is common in Scandinavia, food and drink is pricey compared to UK. About 25 mins to Bergen by car or transfer coaches nearby.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is perfectly positioned for those who need to catch an early flight, the welcome at reception was very warm, and the room was spacious and comfortable. It all started to go wrong when we went to the restaurant. The 'manager', or at least the man who seemed to be nominally in charge managed to lose our order, and even after he had come back and taken it again, nothing appeared for another 45 minutes. as we had only ordered one course because we wanted a quick supper before an early flight, this was frustrating. eventually some distinctly average food arrived, and then when we tried to get the bill, our so called manager/waiter was nowhere to be seen. We eventually found him chatting away to the receptionist. We were clearly not pleased with what had happened, and to be fair he apologised and made a deduction from the bill. Nevertheless, the service was appalling, and we noticed that we were not the only people who were annoyed and angry at this man's appallingly slovenly approach to his customers and to his responsibilities. I should add that nothing that happened was the fault of the young and obviously inexperienced waitress who was trying her best despite the incompetence and indifference of her boss.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moratin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Visited recently for a short meeting, and decided to come a bit early to enjoy the hotel the night before. Wasn't able to try the spa since the couple in teh hot tub when I peeked in didn't look like they wanted company but I did try the restaurant. Appetizer soup was recommended and was okay (lukewarm like it had just been nuked) and was missing its garnish. I pointed it out and discovered it was discounted on the tab when I paid, a nice touch. The main course was quite good, a hanger steak with mushrooms.

Breakfast was really excellent. I especially liked the orange juicing machine and the spicy smoothies, and the coffee was better than the average slop that Norwegian hotels usually offer. Fruit was properly fresh, and for the gluten-free people I'm sure the separate gluten free area with its own toaster would be appreciated.

The room was excellent and comfortable with the HUGEST pillows I've ever seen in a room, and the lighting and workspace was adequate for my needs. Would have been nice to have a desk lamp instead of overhead spotlight though- I loathe overhead lights in hotel rooms if at all possible to avoid. Bathroom was spotless but I missed the bathmat- it's rather convenient to have something on the floor to absorb post-shower footprints.

Finally, the meeting facilities were very convenient and the front desk helped me out of a printer related problem quickly and with a smile. Internet connection is fast and reliable and the meeting room technology worked without a hitch. Also was great to be underway so quickly after the meeting was over, with the airport so close and the arrivals/departures on display in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Icexpatriate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport

Property: Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport
Address: Flyplassvegen 551, Bergen 5869, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
#2 Family Hotel in Bergen
#2 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport is built in direct connection to Flesland, Bergen's airport. From the airport you can walk straight into a vibrant hotel with a personal touch. A visit to Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport is the best way to start or finish your stay in Bergen.The hotel has 1600 square meters of conference venues with a total capacity of more than 1200 people. Our 16 meeting and conference rooms are designed for modern requirements, with large windows and the latest technical solutions. We have experienced staff who will help you to plan and run a successful meeting, conference or other event. Our aim is to solve problems that may arise before they become an issue, so that you can focus on your work.At the same time, we are more than a conference hotel and have something for everyone. The restaurant and bar Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson serves food inspired by Manhattan using locally sourced ingredients. If you want to unwind we recommend a visit to our relax department PAUSE on the top floor. Recharge in the sauna or work out in the gym with a view of the runway.We welcome you to a modern and trendy design hotel with interesting architecture, modern art and musical inspiration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Nordic Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Bergen
Bergen Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing