We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chess `s annual kick-off was a huge success thanks to the great service from all staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We were very well taken care of right from the planning phase. The completion of the event was impeccable and the service likewise. We give Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport our warmest recommendations and will come again next year. Chess Communication, Event Committee, Elin & Monica.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Oselvar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at the Clarion and I really like their very modern and refreshing room lay out and ad ons like free internet. Food is good and brekfast excellant. Bar is very quiet but conference facilties very good. Location next to Airport is great for us travelling offshore and saves on Taxi's which does offset the higher room rates compared with other hotels near by. I would recommend the Clarion for business travel and for those who want to relax and work in their rooms. No use for nightlife or entertainment though.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruaridh_Ormiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

I had an early morning flight after a transfer from Oslo, so I decided to give it a try. The best thing about this hotel is that it's within walking distance from Bergen Airport. The look and feel of the hotel is good, with Scandinavian interior.
The welcome at the reception was not very good. Very young and unexperienced staff. The room has a Scandinavian style. One thing I didn't like was the glass walls to the bathroom, meaning no privacy! The room was also very cold. I tried to adjust it, but to no help. They claim that the windows are completely insulated from outside noise, but this is not true. I had a room facing the runway, and it was noisy! So if you have to stay here, choose a room facing the other direction.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrLibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

A great location, super food, eco-friendly and modern hotel. There is no doubt that this could be wonderful hotel. Despite all the great things going for it, we will not stay here again due to the poor, artificial air that is piped into the rooms. We both did not sleep well due to the inability to get fresh air into the room, the constant whir of the ventilation system and the room being too warm - even after the thermostat was turned to its lowest setting. We both awoke in the morning with plugged noses due to the dryness of the air.
Although the room was spacious and very nicely planned, it was a bit odd to have a bathroom with glass walls that were partly clear. It meant that those in the bathroom did not have privacy and if the light was on in the bathroom, the sleeping part of the room was also lit. Very trendy perhaps, but not quite what some might be used to.
If it were not for the dry, forced air system we would definitely stay here again, but next time we will look for a slightly less modern hotel near the airport, even if we have to take a cab to get to the airport in the morning.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BergenBjoern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

This hotel really capitalizes on it's monopoly at Bergen airport. New, but very overpriced. We knew we were arriving late so we mailed ahead to check they had 24 hour room service. Swift response confirmed this. When we called room service just past midnight we were told the cook had gone home, all we could get was a sandwich. On top of that the service charge for a sandwhich was 125 kr, more than the actual sandwich. It's hard to recommend a hotel with so little focus on giving trustworthy information or serving the customer for a fair price. (coke in the minibar is 43,- kr!). No soaps etc. in the bathroom just dispenser is what you get for 2.000 kr a night.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenrikBJorgensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergenairport, Manager at Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2010

Dear Trip Advisorer!
I am sorry to read about what you describe as untrustworthy service from our hotel. I agree that the receptionist should have given more information about the very limited selection of food during the night. This gives us the oportunity to improve both information about, and selection of food on the night menu. Thank you for taking the time to give this feedback, and we hope to see you back, so that we can have the chance to improve a bad impression.

Kind Regards
Sølvi Solmunde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

The hotel was very modern with a smashing room and bathroom. The bathroom was almost entirely glass so only share a room with someone if you don't mind them seeing you on the toilet!
I had a runway view and it was a novely to open the curtains to some planes in the morning. The hotel was comfortable, clean and stylish and is literally 30 seconds walk to the terminal building so ideal in terms of location.
I will say though that (as with many airport hotels) it seemed a bit soul-less. Also, I arrived quite late at night and there was no room service at this time. They eventually rummaged around and found me an old sandwich - they gave this to me free of charge. I think an airport hotel should have 24 hour room service options as passengers could be arriving any time.

I would stay again if I needed to be near the airport. It was a nice, modern hotel in a good location with pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lufta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

The hotel is situated about 100 metres from Bergen Flesland Airport. Our room was facing the runway and it was great to see flights taking off from this petite airport.

The room was spacious, nicely decorated, had a LCD Plasma TV with English channels and a free movie channel pack. Breakfast was included in the rate.

Overall a nice hotel and would recommend for a short stay to visit the beautiful city of Bergen and surrounds. Have listed out some Pros and Cons and general pointers in travelling to Bergen town center.

Pros
- Very close to the airport (100 metres)
- Sweeping views of the runway
- Free Breakfast
- Very convenient if you have a late night arrival or early morning departure
Cons
- Heating was not working
- Bathroom had frosted glass with transparent glass at the corners making privacy difficult.
- Shower water was luke-warm at best

Transport to city centre :
- Taxi costs about NOK 400 one-way to the City Centre
- Airport Coach (SAS Flybussen) costs NOK 90 one way or NOK 150 return per person. Child is half price
- Good idea to get a family ticket which is for 2 adults and upto 2 children (you only get one-way which costs NOK 180). .Works out cheaper than buying a return ticket for a family.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport

Address: Flyplassvegen 551, Bergen 5869, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#2 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £108 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport is built in direct connection to Flesland, Bergen's airport. From the airport you can walk straight into a vibrant hotel with a personal touch. A visit to Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport is the best way to start or finish your stay in Bergen.The hotel has 1600 square meters of conference venues with a total capacity of more than 1200 people. Our 16 meeting and conference rooms are designed for modern requirements, with large windows and the latest technical solutions. We have experienced staff who will help you to plan and run a successful meeting, conference or other event. Our aim is to solve problems that may arise before they become an issue, so that you can focus on your work.At the same time, we are more than a conference hotel and have something for everyone. The restaurant and bar Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson serves food inspired by Manhattan using locally sourced ingredients. If you want to unwind we recommend a visit to our relax department PAUSE on the top floor. Recharge in the sauna or work out in the gym with a view of the runway.We welcome you to a modern and trendy design hotel with interesting architecture, modern art and musical inspiration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Hotel Bergen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Bergen
Bergen Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing