We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It oozes real history!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hanseatic Hotel
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“It oozes real history!”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I stayed here for two days in January 2013. I was taken by this place especially the section which dates from 1704. Everything was pleasing, the staff, the room (341), breakfast and location. I'll love to come back.

Room Tip: Choose the old section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thauken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    226
    70
    31
    6
See reviews for
77
335
30
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located for exploring Bergen. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast fresh and tasty. We liked the old fashioned decor.
What could be improved, is that the lights in the room are connected. We could turn off some of the lamps, but not the main light. It would have been nice to leave the lamps on and turn off the strong main light. Also, the bathroom was beautiful, but with a freezing cold floor...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Migsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We had difficulty actually finding this little gem, even with a GPS system. Situated down the end of a cobbled dead end alley, it sits right next to the classic waterfront at Bryggen. Built in 1702, its weatherboard structure defines it as being a one off. There is no immediate parking but there are nearby public places to park. A cheerful and helpful manager assited us with our luggage into the incongruously gleaming lift, an electronic marvel which took us up over an internal alleyway to the 4th floor.The attic roof with its heavy beams and skylights sits above sloping wooden floors and old but solid furniture and a fabulous shimmering white bathtub.
The adjacent waterfront is fascinating, from the Hanseatic museum next door to the numerous shops and restaurants nearby.`
Breakfast was where they let themselves down - both coffee and scrambled egg had run out and the soft boiled egg was liquid.
It sits metres from the bottom of the funicular and is near a hop-on hop-off bus stop.

Room Tip: Choose room 449
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in mid December as a birthday treat for me.

The hotel was a maze of narrow corridors as it had been tastefully converted from an historic hanseatic warehouse, the room was a reasonable size, charming decor and well equipped. The beds were incredibly comfortable.

The earplugs provided should have been a clue to the noise from the nearby restaurants but it was our choice not to use them.

The breakfast buffet was delicious with fantastic bread, smoked salmon, selection of fresh fruit, cheeses, meats, croissants, bacon and sausages - we were spoilt for choice. It was also a great way to fill up before a day spent exploring the city, so we barely needed to stop for lunch.

The location was fantastic, next to the Hanseatic Museum and the 300 year old historic wooden building of Bryggen. A couple of minutes walk to the fish market,tourist information, the funicular and the airport bus - it was the perfect base to explore Bergen on foot.

Bergen is not cheap & this was no excepton but it was good value as prices in the city go.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badgerpatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a quick winter weekend break (30/11 - 2/12) and have to say our stay was wonderful but slightly tainted by noise coming from the next-door hotel who thought it was ok to play very loud bass-heavy music until the very early hours.
The hotel was situated in possibly the most convenient location in Bergen, right by the historic Bryggen and with easy access to the centre of town it really was brilliant location-wise.

The staff at the hotel were warm and friendly and when on the 1st night I complained about the noise from the adjacent hotel they were quick to move us. I will say however that the room they moved us to was at the front of the hotel which a) still has noise from local revellers who don't seem to appreicate people sleep and b) was very cold indeed compared to the nice cosy room we had. Sufficed to say we only stayed in this room for a short period of time before moving back to our original room to try and sleep for the rest of the night. On check-out they were kind enough to offer a discount on the 2 nights' stay.

The hotel is clean however we did notice our sheets weren't changed from the 1st night, perhaps that't not the done thing over there but it's kind of a standard in most hotels I've stayed at.

The breakfast was very good indeed, providing some excellent salmon and a good choice of eggs, bacon, cheese, fruit, etc.

Would I stay at this hotel again? Yes, only if they promise to shut the local hotel up!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend and had a fantastic experience. The room is a good size, especially compared to other European Boutique hotels. The staff was very friendly and the location couldn’t be better. It is a short walk from the Bus to and from the airport, you can use either the Fish Market stop or the Radison stop. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in the area. The bed was comfortable and free wifi and breakfast were a great plus. The breakfast isn’t anything special, but with the prices in Bergen it is nice to get a scoop of eggs and bacon at no additional charge! The staff is very friendly. I would stay at this hotel again without question.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandiLynn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Exactly one year after my first stay there, I had the opportunity to come back, and that was again a real pleasure. The building itself is a wonder, and our room, not as big as it was during our first stay, was full of charm, right under the roof. The breakfast improved a lot, and was really good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneAdvisedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#3 of 47 in Bergen
609 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#8 of 47 in Bergen
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hanseatic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hanseatic Hotel

Property: The Hanseatic Hotel
Address: Finnegaarden 2A, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#4 Business Hotel in Bergen
#4 Family Hotel in Bergen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hanseatic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Hanseatic Hotel is a very special experience. We have invested all our expertise and passion into creating this high quality hotel, situated at Bryggen in Bergen. With its location at the very heart of historic Bergen, the hotel is ideally placed, whether you are travelling on business or pleasure. The Hanseatic Hotel is not your 'standard' hotel. The hotel has been built on historic ground within the Finnegaarden Trading House at Bryggen, which is inscribed on Unesco's list of World Heritage Sites. We have retained the wharf style and architecture, and the old timber walls have been preserved in several places.Every room is uniqe!We can offer 37 characterful double rooms featuring exclusive furniture and unique bathrooms, creating an interior that is redolent of the time when Bryggen was a Hanseatic port. The Hanseatic Hotel will appeal to those looking for more than a standard A4 hotel, and who wish to spoil themselves in attractive and charming surroundings. As the city's most outstanding hotel and restaurant complex, we want our guests' stay to be memorable and can offer delicious culinary treats that will appeal to every taste. We have several restaurants serving exquisite traditional and international cuisine, a cosy lobby bar, in addition to excellent conference facilities and free WiFi.Our hotel and restaurants, as well as our conference facilities, with their unique character and central location, make for an out-of-the-ordinary experience. We can organise every type of privatefunction, from weddings to confirmations and Christmas buffets. A short distance from the hotel is the famous Fish Market (Fisketorget), where seafood connoisseurs mingle. Another popular tourist attraction is the Fløibanen Funicular. The airport bus and the railway station are just a short distance away.Welcome to a memorable hotel and culinary experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hanseatic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanseatic Hotel Bergen
Hanseatic Hotel Det Hanseatiske

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing