We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in historic district”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hanseatic Hotel
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel makes a wonderful base for exploration of the historic Hanseatic area and fishmarket. The historic nature of the hotel has been kept while at the same time providing modern creature comforts. Our room had the nicest and largest bathroom we encountered during our recent visit to Norway, The included breakfast was ample and the young lady in the bar the night of our late arrival was able to provide us with a beverage even as they were closing service for the night.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are probably quieter while outside rooms will provide nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chr_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

I was in Room 425, it's small but I loved it. Had no view from the room as the window was on the sloped ceiling. Travelled solo, stayed in a charmingly quirky room. Bed was 2 singles put together but was so comfortable, shower was great, location was great, all the action is right infront of the hotel. Breakfast was fantastic. Staff were so warm, friendly and helpful. Hotel is blend of an old style with modern amenities I had fun checking the whole building out. Expensive through, but worth the great experience and I will stay again!

Room Tip: 4th floor is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandchick4193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Bergen and have only positive things to say about this lovely hotel.

First off, the location simply cannot be beat. It is smack in the middle and within walking distance of all the tourist sights in Bergen. All of the staff members who we encountered were friendly, helpful, and efficient.

Our room, located at the back of the hotel (so, facing one of Bergen's pedestrian only back "streets") was quite spacious, as was the bathroom. The furnishings were all quite modern and I never felt that the hotel was suffering from the age of the building itself, everything appeared to be quite well kept up.

I did notice that the hotel provided earplugs on the bedside stands and, while we did not need them during our stay, I can well believe that it could be noisy some nights given the location and the number of restaurants and bars in the area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Det Hanseatiske Hotell is charmingly quirky and there is not much of a view from most of the rooms, but it oozes history and warmth. We actually had no view as we were on the top floor and our little windows were part of the sloped ceiling. However, they let in sunshine and we could easily tell if it was raining (which it does a lot here). As well as the sloped ceiling, thick, dark, sturdy, rustic, wooden beams added lots of character. There was plenty of room for three of us, a double bed, a single bed, a desk with chair, a large TV and a wardrobe in our deluxe room. The bathroom was very clean with a modern shower in one corner and a pretty claw foot tub in the other. Unfortunately, the hotel has trouble supplying the proper sized drain stoppers for the tub as, we were informed by reception, guests actually steal the proper heavy brass ones (that they have to keep special ordering at quite an expense). Surprising AND disturbing. Who would do that?? The quality toiletries and the thick white towels (and face cloths) were a treat. Our room, even way up top, was noisy at night. We could hear people walk by late at night and deliveries to the market across the street early in the morning, Fortunately, the hotel kindly supplies earplugs!

The reception and staff were friendly and helpful. The ample, delicious and well presented buffet breakfasts were excellent. We really enjoyed sampling local specialties as well as the perfect (temperature and texture) croissants. We ate dinner in the atmospheric restaurant twice. Both times, it was excellent and the service was perfect.

The location of the hotel is very convenient. We explored everything very conveniently on foot. The fish market is minutes away and worth a visit. Do take the museum tour which will explain the fascinating history of the city. Shopping is great here as well with many Norwegian specialty items (including Dale sweaters). We really liked Amanda, the boutique ladies' store. If you walk to the other, larger harbor, you will enjoy the pretty neighborhoods with the old fashioned homes. Everything is tidy and clean. When you are tired, sit at one of the many terraces for a beer (even though it is really expensive). Hope you enjoy Bergen and Det Hanseatiske Hotell as much as we did!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I was in Rm 451, it's small... Really small, but I still loved it. I'm a solo traveller and had plenty of room, bed was comfortable, shower was great, location was great, breakfast was fantastic. Fantastic blend of an old style building with modern amenities. Great experience!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank 0atm3al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Location for Bergen sights is superb, but when you book, and certainly before you arrive, check your room number, check you are not given a room in the attic, ours was , room number 450.

When you are told to go to third floor but then walk up some pine stairs be prepared for a room that is very small, the double bed is really just two singles and they face toward the sloping roof meaning if you are over 5 foot 6 then you simply cannot stretch out

Also room 450 is overlooked by apartments looking down onto your room that is really just a garret, and for our room it was worse that one bathroom( which may be bigger than your room) blind was missing, so when you step out of shower or are on the toilet you are overlooked without being able to close of the people in the apartments view.

We did ask to be moved, remember this was a 1900 kroner room booked in April, and was advised that this wasn't possible but they were aware room 450 is cosy.

Cosy I can live with, but a room whose only use is really only to stage the Norwegian cat swinging championships, cannot be cozy!!
Again
Shame because location was great, staff friendly, and breakfast

So when booking ring hotel and get a room that is not number 450 or 451 etc


  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Different style of hotel. That is my first thought when I came to the hotel.
Very easy check-in. Which is brilliant! No hassles of ID, credit card, all those paperworks! So, they trust their guest and they treat you as family! Welcome to Det Hanseatiske Hotell :)
Stayed at Junior Suite, the one at the corner, so can see a bit of town which is nice. Well... The facilities of the suite a bit 'different' from chain-hotel-management-suite but you can compromise this when you realise that you stay at 1700-ish building - then I feel like I am part of the history.
The hotel is well located. You can walk around everywhere you want to see most of the city easily. The hotel is part of Hanseatiske Museum and also there are two integrated restaurants. Make sure you try the Norwegian restaurant downstairs - try the Asian Steam Fish! Very friendly staff at the restaurant too.
When we checked-out, we asked about Post Office to send a postcard, but the staff just offer to send it for us instead. How very kind. And yes, the postcard arrived!
So, if you would like to experience something different in Bergen, Det Hansetiske Hotell is recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xylasweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 50 in Bergen
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#5 of 50 in Bergen
338 reviews
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#12 of 50 in Bergen
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hanseatic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hanseatic Hotel

Address: Finnegaarden 2A, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#4 Business Hotel in Bergen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £70 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hanseatic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Hanseatic Hotel is a very special experience. We have invested all our expertise and passion into creating this high quality hotel, situated at Bryggen in Bergen. With its location at the very heart of historic Bergen, the hotel is ideally placed, whether you are travelling on business or pleasure. The Hanseatic Hotel is not your 'standard' hotel. The hotel has been built on historic ground within the Finnegaarden Trading House at Bryggen, which is inscribed on Unesco's list of World Heritage Sites. We have retained the wharf style and architecture, and the old timber walls have been preserved in several places.Every room is uniqe!We can offer 37 characterful double rooms featuring exclusive furniture and unique bathrooms, creating an interior that is redolent of the time when Bryggen was a Hanseatic port. The Hanseatic Hotel will appeal to those looking for more than a standard A4 hotel, and who wish to spoil themselves in attractive and charming surroundings. As the city's most outstanding hotel and restaurant complex, we want our guests' stay to be memorable and can offer delicious culinary treats that will appeal to every taste. We have several restaurants serving exquisite traditional and international cuisine, a cosy lobby bar, in addition to excellent conference facilities and free WiFi.Our hotel and restaurants, as well as our conference facilities, with their unique character and central location, make for an out-of-the-ordinary experience. We can organise every type of privatefunction, from weddings to confirmations and Christmas buffets. A short distance from the hotel is the famous Fish Market (Fisketorget), where seafood connoisseurs mingle. Another popular tourist attraction is the Fløibanen Funicular. The airport bus and the railway station are just a short distance away.Welcome to a memorable hotel and culinary experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hanseatic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanseatic Hotel Bergen
Hanseatic Hotel Det Hanseatiske

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing