We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hanseatic Hotel
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Spent a couple of very comfortable nights here. It's a charming hotel in a historic building really well situated for exploring Bergen. Particularly Bryggen, the UNESCO protected historical district. The room was clean and well presented, staff friendly. Decent food and local beer available in the hotel bar but there are also lots of other options for food and drink in the nearby streets. They put on a good buffet breakfast too.
For Norway (which is an expensive place) it was really well priced
Only minor downside was parking. There is no parking at the hotel, but there is a public car park on Rosenkrantzgaten a few mins walk away.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    226
    70
    31
    6
See reviews for
77
334
30
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of the historical area. The staff were all helpful and welcoming, it is beautifully furnished, and the breakfast was excellent. It has plenty of character and there is really nothing to say to its detriment, other than the bed being two singles pushed together, which was not very comfortable. That is the only reason this otherwise excellent hotel doesn't get the full five stars. As and when we return to Bergen, we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moratin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

After a fabulous stay in Oslo, we traveled by train to Bergen. We had booked our hotel 3 months in advance for 5 nights. Check-in was very easy, took less than 5 minutes.

Now, I've stayed at several 5 star US hotels and quite a few 3-5 star hotels in Germany, Czech Republic, Spain, France, etc....and was trying to keep my expectations reasonable as there aren't too many "ritzy/nice" hotels in Bergen that I could find...

Anyways, we were given room 440 (attic). It was literally the size of Harry Potter's room under the attic. Tiny! All that fit was a "full" bed (aka two twins pushed together), a desk, and a very tiny bathroom. You could barely stand in half the room because the roof sloped down so low. The furnishings were very old looking. The bathroom was very tiny. When using the toilet, you have to slouch a little so you don't bang your head on the roof. There is a new/nice size Samsung TV on the desk...but you can't watch it since there is a wooden beam in the middle of the room that blocks your view. You can't watch it from any other place in the room because there literally isn't any space. Basically, you're either banging your head on the sloped roof or stubbing your toe on the wooden beam that is in the middle of the room. There is no window view outside, since the only windows you have are skylights and all you can see is the sky. They really need to re-paint the room as a lot of the paint was peeling, and as you're adjusting the blinds on the skylights, you have to be careful to not contract a splinter on the pain that is peeling off the window sill. You also get little to no wifi since you're so high up. There is a hotel brochere that request you call the front desk if you need anything...but there is not a phone in the room?!

Considering we were staying there for 5 nights, reserved 3 months ahead of time, and were paying almost $250 USD/night we were very disappointed. I wanted to check-out immediately and check-in to the Raddison down the street or Clarion Collection Havnekontoret, but since we reserved ahead of time, we would be losing a lot of money. After 1 night, we asked the front desk if we could change rooms, he asked what room we were in, and he automatically nodded and understood our situation. Actually, there is a floorplan on the fire emergecy plan behind the door, and you can see that room 440 is literally the smallest room on the floor (all the rooms are tiny on the 4th floor, but this is the smallest). The man at the front desk (friendly) went ahead and arranged for our luggage to be moved to a new room located on the 3rd floor.

Our new 3rd floor room (332) was an enormous improvement. Not joking, the room was literally 2-3x bigger. There were no random wooden beams or sloping roof, you can stand upright with ease! The bathroom was 3x larger, with a tub and shower. The "full" bed was still two twins pushed together, but we didn't care at that point. There was a phone, large Samsung TV, and 3 large windows that has a lovely view of the fish market and other nearby stores. Wifi was also significantly better on this floor.

A couple other things...

- After having breakfast in Oslo, we didn't care for this hotel, we found the food a bit bland. Coffee was good. They serve scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, bacon, sausage, deli meats/cheeses/smoked salmon, yogurt, orange juice, teas, peanut butter, toast, and cereal.

- Staff is VERY friendly. Always greeting you as you enter or exit.

-I was going to leave 2 stars after switching rooms, because of the hassle, but I decided to award one more star since as we were checking-out the man at the front desk gave us two brand new umbrellas since it was raining outside. Great service and we were appreciative!

-Location is fantastic, you can't get any better than this hotel.

-We didn't have any issues with the noise.

-Go to Egon (next door) for a cheaper/but good food/good atmosphere. They have the menus in a lot of different languages and service is great.

I've attached our second room photos below.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th floor (attic) at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie91030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lb,il
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel makes a wonderful base for exploration of the historic Hanseatic area and fishmarket. The historic nature of the hotel has been kept while at the same time providing modern creature comforts. Our room had the nicest and largest bathroom we encountered during our recent visit to Norway, The included breakfast was ample and the young lady in the bar the night of our late arrival was able to provide us with a beverage even as they were closing service for the night.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are probably quieter while outside rooms will provide nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chr_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I was in Room 425, it's small but I loved it. Had no view from the room as the window was on the sloped ceiling. Travelled solo, stayed in a charmingly quirky room. Bed was 2 singles put together but was so comfortable, shower was great, location was great, all the action is right infront of the hotel. Breakfast was fantastic. Staff were so warm, friendly and helpful. Hotel is blend of an old style with modern amenities I had fun checking the whole building out. Expensive through, but worth the great experience and I will stay again!

Room Tip: 4th floor is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandchick4193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Bergen and have only positive things to say about this lovely hotel.

First off, the location simply cannot be beat. It is smack in the middle and within walking distance of all the tourist sights in Bergen. All of the staff members who we encountered were friendly, helpful, and efficient.

Our room, located at the back of the hotel (so, facing one of Bergen's pedestrian only back "streets") was quite spacious, as was the bathroom. The furnishings were all quite modern and I never felt that the hotel was suffering from the age of the building itself, everything appeared to be quite well kept up.

I did notice that the hotel provided earplugs on the bedside stands and, while we did not need them during our stay, I can well believe that it could be noisy some nights given the location and the number of restaurants and bars in the area.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Det Hanseatiske Hotell is charmingly quirky and there is not much of a view from most of the rooms, but it oozes history and warmth. We actually had no view as we were on the top floor and our little windows were part of the sloped ceiling. However, they let in sunshine and we could easily tell if it was raining (which it does a lot here). As well as the sloped ceiling, thick, dark, sturdy, rustic, wooden beams added lots of character. There was plenty of room for three of us, a double bed, a single bed, a desk with chair, a large TV and a wardrobe in our deluxe room. The bathroom was very clean with a modern shower in one corner and a pretty claw foot tub in the other. Unfortunately, the hotel has trouble supplying the proper sized drain stoppers for the tub as, we were informed by reception, guests actually steal the proper heavy brass ones (that they have to keep special ordering at quite an expense). Surprising AND disturbing. Who would do that?? The quality toiletries and the thick white towels (and face cloths) were a treat. Our room, even way up top, was noisy at night. We could hear people walk by late at night and deliveries to the market across the street early in the morning, Fortunately, the hotel kindly supplies earplugs!

The reception and staff were friendly and helpful. The ample, delicious and well presented buffet breakfasts were excellent. We really enjoyed sampling local specialties as well as the perfect (temperature and texture) croissants. We ate dinner in the atmospheric restaurant twice. Both times, it was excellent and the service was perfect.

The location of the hotel is very convenient. We explored everything very conveniently on foot. The fish market is minutes away and worth a visit. Do take the museum tour which will explain the fascinating history of the city. Shopping is great here as well with many Norwegian specialty items (including Dale sweaters). We really liked Amanda, the boutique ladies' store. If you walk to the other, larger harbor, you will enjoy the pretty neighborhoods with the old fashioned homes. Everything is tidy and clean. When you are tired, sit at one of the many terraces for a beer (even though it is really expensive). Hope you enjoy Bergen and Det Hanseatiske Hotell as much as we did!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#3 of 47 in Bergen
605 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#8 of 47 in Bergen
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hanseatic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hanseatic Hotel

Property: The Hanseatic Hotel
Address: Finnegaarden 2A, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#4 Business Hotel in Bergen
#4 Family Hotel in Bergen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hanseatic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Hanseatic Hotel is a very special experience. We have invested all our expertise and passion into creating this high quality hotel, situated at Bryggen in Bergen. With its location at the very heart of historic Bergen, the hotel is ideally placed, whether you are travelling on business or pleasure. The Hanseatic Hotel is not your 'standard' hotel. The hotel has been built on historic ground within the Finnegaarden Trading House at Bryggen, which is inscribed on Unesco's list of World Heritage Sites. We have retained the wharf style and architecture, and the old timber walls have been preserved in several places.Every room is uniqe!We can offer 37 characterful double rooms featuring exclusive furniture and unique bathrooms, creating an interior that is redolent of the time when Bryggen was a Hanseatic port. The Hanseatic Hotel will appeal to those looking for more than a standard A4 hotel, and who wish to spoil themselves in attractive and charming surroundings. As the city's most outstanding hotel and restaurant complex, we want our guests' stay to be memorable and can offer delicious culinary treats that will appeal to every taste. We have several restaurants serving exquisite traditional and international cuisine, a cosy lobby bar, in addition to excellent conference facilities and free WiFi.Our hotel and restaurants, as well as our conference facilities, with their unique character and central location, make for an out-of-the-ordinary experience. We can organise every type of privatefunction, from weddings to confirmations and Christmas buffets. A short distance from the hotel is the famous Fish Market (Fisketorget), where seafood connoisseurs mingle. Another popular tourist attraction is the Fløibanen Funicular. The airport bus and the railway station are just a short distance away.Welcome to a memorable hotel and culinary experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Hanseatic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanseatic Hotel Bergen
Hanseatic Hotel Det Hanseatiske

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing