We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience a Piece of History”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hanseatic Hotel
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Experience a Piece of History”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Det Hanseatiske which was a merchants house while we were in Bergen. If you want to understand this property, take the complementary tour at the museum on the corner, and then walk through the other part of the "Bryggen". Each room in this place is different. We were fortunate enough to get an attic room with the original 300 year old crane and rope in the bath. The room had been remodeled and everything was very up to date complete with light dimmers!

The staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet is a lovely and a great way to start the day. The location is just a few steps away from the old wharf, the train/bus station is about a 10 min walk, and the tram to the "stave" church is just across the main square. If you want to eat with the "locals", there are several good restaurants just of that square (near the art museums).

We would highly recommend this if you are looking for a great place to stay in Bergen while you are working your way along the east coast, or are doing the "Norway in a Nutshell".

Room Tip: We stayed in room 447 which had the old crane and was an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    229
    70
    33
    6
See reviews for
80
341
30
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Outstanding. The hotel is in the old wharf area of town. It may be a reconstruction but if it is it's faithful to the original wharf structures - wooden construction, all angles and weird staircases and very quirky. A nice room though no view - I suspect not something they thought of in 1170. Good bathroom and facilities, great breakfast and good service. The location is the best feature, next to the fish wharf on one side with bars & restaurants, and right in the historic part of town. To be honest, it's difficult to imagine a better tourist hotel in Bergen.
And if you think it's expensive, welcome to Norway. Comparatively speaking, it's good value.

Room Tip: We had a 'luxury' room which was good, can't comment on their standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dxbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A very cozy hotel in the middle of Bergen center. Although unconventional, it was a breath of fresh air for a guy who travels a lot for business. Stayed here one night and was really impressed by the unique hotel room. Its great living in a cozy hotel like this when traveling for business instead those standard "cold" hotel rooms!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank henrh06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotels rooms and restaurants have been put into an historic building at the center of activity in Bergen. Summer nights can be very noisy.

We had a room on the inner fourth floor, with skylight windows and low beams. The area was spacious, but I had to be extremely careful not to bash my head on the beams, But it was quiet, and had both a shower and bath.

The breakfast buffet was excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid outside rooms if noise bothers you. Avoid attic rooms if you are very tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Njal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoast of Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

What a nice, old, pretty, old style designer hotel right near "Bryggen" in Bergen.The old atmosphere is in the walls and you see the logs on the walls. Curtains and other fabric of very nice quality and style and furniture are very chic. Bathroom top modern and fully equipped.The restaurant is as pretty and chic and food is absolutely perfect as is the service. Breakfast is delicious. All staff in the hotel is so very very helpful and serviceminded, it felt like staying in a family home. A nice bar right next to both the lounge and the restaurant.
Situated near "Bryggen", the fish market, the funicular to Flöjen, the big sailing ship Stadsraad Lehmkuhl too.
Recommended, very much so!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AggieOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this wonderful hotel in Bergen. I would give a better rating if I had a different room. I would advise staying here as long as you didn't have a room facing the street. We stayed over constitution day (their fourth of July). I'm sure that contributed to the noise in the street but i'm told Fri and Sat nights are loud all year round. The Hotel is in a wonderful location within walking distance to every major attraction. The staff is very good and very helpful. The location on the promenade is nice and access to some great restaurants. Again I would stay again with a different room. There are two things you need when you visit Norway, rain gear and MONEY.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful just stay away from Street Side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and found it very charming. The location is great, right on the habour front and the interior of the hotel is quirky and comfortable. Breakfast was great with a lot of selection.

One tip - we stayed on the top floor, in a standard room, over what was a very hot weekend. Without aircon and only small windows, the room became unbearably hot and stuffy. We spoke to reception and were moved to a bigger room on a lower floor, for no extra cost. This room was lovely. I would probably avoid the standard rooms during the height of summer!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lej7986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
633 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#8 of 49 in Bergen
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hanseatic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hanseatic Hotel

Property: The Hanseatic Hotel
Address: Finnegaarden 2A, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#4 Business Hotel in Bergen
#4 Family Hotel in Bergen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hanseatic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Hanseatic Hotel is a very special experience. We have invested all our expertise and passion into creating this high quality hotel, situated at Bryggen in Bergen. With its location at the very heart of historic Bergen, the hotel is ideally placed, whether you are travelling on business or pleasure. The Hanseatic Hotel is not your 'standard' hotel. The hotel has been built on historic ground within the Finnegaarden Trading House at Bryggen, which is inscribed on Unesco's list of World Heritage Sites. We have retained the wharf style and architecture, and the old timber walls have been preserved in several places.Every room is uniqe!We can offer 37 characterful double rooms featuring exclusive furniture and unique bathrooms, creating an interior that is redolent of the time when Bryggen was a Hanseatic port. The Hanseatic Hotel will appeal to those looking for more than a standard A4 hotel, and who wish to spoil themselves in attractive and charming surroundings. As the city's most outstanding hotel and restaurant complex, we want our guests' stay to be memorable and can offer delicious culinary treats that will appeal to every taste. We have several restaurants serving exquisite traditional and international cuisine, a cosy lobby bar, in addition to excellent conference facilities and free WiFi.Our hotel and restaurants, as well as our conference facilities, with their unique character and central location, make for an out-of-the-ordinary experience. We can organise every type of privatefunction, from weddings to confirmations and Christmas buffets. A short distance from the hotel is the famous Fish Market (Fisketorget), where seafood connoisseurs mingle. Another popular tourist attraction is the Fløibanen Funicular. The airport bus and the railway station are just a short distance away.Welcome to a memorable hotel and culinary experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hanseatic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanseatic Hotel Bergen
Hanseatic Hotel Det Hanseatiske

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing