We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$130
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/11/21
Booking.com
US$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Hotels.com
US$130
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/11/21
FindHotelUS$130
eDreamsUS$125
TravelocityUS$130
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveller rating
328
281
93
42
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
328
281
93
42
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lots of character charming hotel perfect location bryggen fg bath waterfront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 756 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2019

We had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights. Now I must say I'm a bit of a stickler for street noise so we moved to another room (which was *no* problem at all). The room itself was comfortable and cozy and had all if not more amenities than you usually would find at the bigger chains. Add to that a quality breakfast and very friendly staff and when we're back in Bergen we'll certain try to book a room here again.

Room tip: If you like a quiet room like I do ask for one that doesn't overlook the street in front of the hotel.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank superplek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 February 2019

I would only stay at this hotel again if it was the only hotel with rooms in Bergen. The WiFi was good but difficult to log on, the breakfast was great, but the hotel was old (listed) and quirky. There was nothing special about and old hotel it was functional but not for me.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mustang645
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 February 2019 via mobile

We were so happy that we chose to stay at a historic hotel...this place had so much character! We thought the rooms were just beautiful and the man at the front desk told us the building was built in 1704! The beds were comfy and the huge tub in our room made for a relaxing soak after a long day of exploring Bergen. The breakfast that was included the next morning was delicious and the coffee was grand! The location of this hotel couldn’t have been better, you are right in the town centre with the harbor right in front and plenty of shops and restaurants only a stones throw away. Would definitely recommend this charming, character-filled hotel!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LaurCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

The Hanseatic was comfortable, the rooms were clean and well appointed. Extremely convenient location, about 50 feet from the world heritage site, one block from the station to go up Mt. Floyen, and within a couple blocks from the Torget Fish Market. The breakfast was very good and the location can’t be beat. If you want to feel like you are staying in one of the historic buildings similar to the Bryggens but want to do so in comfort, look no further.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

This hotel is situated close to the harbour and is part of the UNESCO world heritage site! Close to the shops, fish market, bars and restaurants this hotel is perfect!
Inside the hotel offers quirky decor that is sumptuous and comfortable! The bar area is cosy, the restaurants are really lovely, check in was quick and easy! The rooms are all uniquely decorated with a different themes, all maintaining the quirky decor and fixtures and fittings! The underfloor heating was a godsend in the bathroom. We had a roll top bath, walk in shower and twin sinks. Our room was in the 4th floor and had its own staircase, a seating area, really comfortable king size bed and tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was really good quality and the selection of hot and cold food was really good too. Overall a really pleasant stay. Thank you.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank woods1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews