We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hanseatic Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$184
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
US$178
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$193
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Terminus(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$212
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$155
US$146
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Augustin Hotel(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$140
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$189
US$179
Hotel No 13
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Klosterhagen Hotel(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
289
240
76
33
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
240
76
33
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdet hanseatiskehanseatic museumroll top bathfish marketseparate showerclaw foothistoric buildingstayed in a junior suitemodern amenitieslots of characterfourth floorinteresting hotelperfect locationsmall hotelgreat roomour room was spaciouscoffee machine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We stayed in Det Hanseatiske Hotel for one night on Thursday and loved it. Great location, in the middle of the historic city centre, the staff is extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms are really authentic and funky (in an old kind of way).

We came back three days later and it was no problem to leave our luggage in the hotel for a couple of hours while we strolled along the harbour and went for lunch before our flight back home, even though we were no longer staying in the hotel. The staff were just extremely friendly and even made us a cup of coffee while we were hanging out in the reception area.

The hotel has only 16 rooms and has a very nice trendy feel about it. The rooms are a combination of authentic Norwegian style and Scandinavian design. We will definitely come back and stay in this hotel again, we loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJ-EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We stayed in room 45 on the top floor.

Positives

Hotel gets one star for it's location and one star for the novelty of the building's historical features.

Negatives

The room was small with sloping ceilings and restricted headroom due to the sloping roof with two tiny windows in the sloping ceiling. We could not shut the blinds in the upper window.

Worryingly, every time upon entering the room both myself and my partner experienced nausea. We are not sure what caused this. It may have been the geometric pattern in the carpets, the lack of windows, or the sloping floor on the walk up to the room or it may have been something in the air. The nausea lasted for 5-10 minutes then seemed to go away.

Hotel claimed to offer wireless internet in all rooms yet I was unable to get reception in either the room or the communal areas on the 4th floor. Staff claimed this was due to the thick walls.

The double bed was two single beds pushed together. The beds were lightweight and slid apart all over the sloping wooden floor at the slightest push. The beds were covered in masses of pointless and thick bedding and cushions. The room was too small to accomodate all this bedding once it was removed from the bed.

Breakfast was average and the buffet was not regularly replenished. Staff were rarely seen during breakfast. Spoons were rationed.

The previous reviewer who described the staff as nice enough college student types but not particular professional was spot on.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nickwaffleiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I loved the style and set up of this little hotel. The staff was very helpful in suggesting a wonderful restaurant (To Kokker) and helping us to make a reservation. We had no trouble with noise, and slept soundly ion the very comfortable beds. The Inn is centrally located in the Bryggen district and within walking distance of most of Bergen's main sights and attractions.

Our only complaint was the breakfast. Breakfast was to be served from 7-10 am. We came down at 9 am and the food was almost completely gone but a few pieces of bread, one piece of cheese, coffee, tea, and dried cereal (no milk). The tables were a mess, it looked as though a Viking horde had been through the dining room. After waiting for twenty minutes and not finding any staff to help or even a clean spot to sit down for coffee, we finally grabbed a piece of bread and left.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

This is a small hotel, that forms part of complex of buildings that also host small restaurants. It has been very converted with a good eye for detail, and retaining some of its historical interest. It does not offer all of the amenities of the larger hotels, and surprisingly didn't offer those personal touches you might expect in a boutique hotel. Our room faced a fairly busy street corner, with the pizza restaurant below. So although the hotel is quiet (and other rooms might overlook other aspects), some of the street noise could be heard in our room. Although the conversion was completed to a very high standard, the current management need to keep up a good level of tender loving care to make sure that high standard does not slip. Breakfast was OK - fun by candlelight! And the staff were around and ready to help if required.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keitharrowsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Let me first say, I REALLY enjoyed Bergen and Det Hanseatiske Hotel. The hotel is funky and charming and very comfortable with great internet access and a super location.

1. For those people complaining about the noise, don't stay in the center of town if you want peace and quiet. I was never really bothered by the noise and had my windows open every night due to the heat.

2. Regarding the rooms being sauna-like, the weather in Bergen in the summer does not justify the cost of AC. I asked to use a fan and they supplied me with one. I slept like a baby in their fine linens.

3. The buffet breakfast was acceptable but not special.

4. I would say the staff tried to be helpful, but it seemed more student-run than professionally staffed. At a small hotel like this, I was not expecting a concierge to help me with recommendations. Could they have been more helpful? Yes. Was it a problem? No.

5. Price -- everything is expensive in Bergen. $10 for a beer, $15 for a bowl of soup, etc.. I was able to get a room via hotels.com for less than $150 a night, which I think was a very good deal in Bergen.

If you want the comforts and services of a big hotel, try the SAS down the road. If you want to feel like you are part of the history of Bergen, go nowhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sirtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews