We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price, great service”
Review of Citybox Bergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citybox Bergen
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good price, great service”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We needed somewhere to stay in Bergen that was cheap and convenient. Citybox was around 400kr cheaper than the next hotel, and so I reluctantly decided to book, after all we weren't going to spend much time in the room anyway.

We decided to spend a little more to have an en suite room. The room was small but clean and nice and warm. The bathroom was clean and modern looking, with a heated floor.

The most pleasant surprise was the service. We arrived at 10am and wanted to drop our bags off before check in opened at 3pm. The kind, English speaking receptionist found us a room that was ready and gave us keys to our room early...very much appreciated!

I would certainly recommend to others who want somewhere cheap and cheerful within walking distance to the centre of Bergen.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A1228CTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear A1229CTL,

thank you for taking the time to write a review!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our low prices as well as our ensuite rooms :)

Also, we are very happy to hear that one of our lovely ladies in reception was able to give you a room when you arrived early! We always try to do what we can so that guests that are arriving early may check in before actuall check in time, which is at 3pm.

We wish you a nice day and we hope to see you again!


Best regards
Citybox Bergen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    127
    97
    27
    16
See reviews for
43
142
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
142 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Love this place because of non-carpet floor. Facilities in room are good : desk, lamp, small table, couch. Bed is a bit small but acceptable. Bathroom is good and clean.
Free wifi strength is good. Just around 5 mins walk to train and bus station.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear JIBP,

thank you for that great review of our hotel!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities as well as the general decor of the rooms :)

Have a nice day and we hope to see you again!


Best regards
Citybox Bergen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and myself and our adult daughter shared a family room in October. Room was comfortable, clean and large enough for the 3 of us and large amount of luggage. Location was great...short walk from train station and shorter walk to bus station. Close to restaurants which were open late so we were able to have dinner after a late arrival. Also comfortable walk to the harbour and Bryggen area....which is a must see. Fabulous view up the mountain from our room. Staff pleasant and obliging. We were able to leave our luggage the next day so we could explore before a late outgoing flight. The cafe in the foyer serves a great breakfast. The communal kitchen is available with jug and microwave...although the fridge wasn't going...it was being used to store tourist pamphlets. While we only stayed one night we would have been happy to spend more time at Citybox Bergen.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paulyne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Paulyne D,

thank you for that wonderful, and very describing, review of our hotel!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and our family room, I'm guessing that you stayed in room 503, which has a great view over the mountains :)

We wish you a nice day and we hope to see you again in the future!


Best regards
Citybox Bergen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offaly, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We booked a double room/shared bathroom but unfortunately we didnt like sharing bathroom so we asked for a upgrade to own bathroom which was done immediately and were given a fab room newly decorated very modern with lovely views. Citybox is very close the main station and a short walk to Bergen centre. Staff were very friendly and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 342Tre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear 342Tre,

thank you for your review!

We are happy to hear that our staff where able to acommodate your whish and that you enjoyed our newly decorated rooms with private bathroom (they where refurbished in May this year).

You are correct when you say that we are only a short walk from the city centre, it takes approx. 5min to walk there from the hotel and it's only a 3min walk to reach the bus- and train station :)

We wish you a nice day and we hope to see you again in the future!


Best regards
Citybox Bergen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We had just been in Citybox Oslo so we saw a clear difference between the two.
Citybox Bergen is older and not so welcoming.
The room and the bathroom were clean.
The location is alright, very close to the train station.
The entrance didn't seem very safe: from the outside it only opens with a card but inside the door is often accidentally opened because it's automatic and the elevator is very close.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ana Filipa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Ana Filipa N,

thank you for your review.

You are correct that there are differences between Citybox Oslo and Citybox Bergen. We are the oldest hotel of the two, and we have been up and running for almost 7 years, while Citybox Oslo just opened in June this year. However, the design om the rooms are the same in both hotels as we had a major renovation done this year, where we refurbished 35 out of 55 rooms.

Regarding your concern for the safety of the entrance area I would like to say that you are correct that the door is only opened from the outside with a key card, but that it opens automatically from the inside if anyone walks past the sensores. However, we do have surveillance cameras in the entrance area so that our hotel staff is fully aware of who walks in and out of the hotel. So there's no need for concern :)


Best regards
Citybox Bergen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Although it's a sharedbathroom but it's no problem cuz seperately used from ur neighbor. Very good location and walk from central train station and easy to get the express stop to airport. Cozy room makes me comfortable and good view out of window. but it's a little bit noisy near the street.

Room Tip: 4th floor got a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charlene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Charlene Z,

thank you for that great review of Citybox!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our budget friendly option of choosing a room with shared bathroom. As you pointed out, the bathroom is only shared with one other room, the neighbour room, which is very convenient :)

As all hotels that are located in the centre of a city, some street noise is to be expected. However, our guests can always ask for a quite room and we will give them a room that's facing away from the streets.

Again, thank you for your review!

Best regards
Citybox Bergen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Staying at Citybox was a good value for us. It is 2 blocks from the train/bus station and a do able walk distance from the cruising port. The attached coffee cafe was great for morning breakfast (great oatmeal & espresso). The rooms were european small but very clean. Receptionist was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 209 was larger that some and also on the side which was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Janis,

Thank you for your great review of our hotel! We offer nice and simple rooms with location in the centre of Bergen. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our little cafe' and that our receptionist was able to help you with all your queries.

We hope you had a lovely time on Hurtigrutten as well as in Bergen!

Best regards
Citybox Bergen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 46 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#9 of 46 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Basic Hotel Bergen
#22 of 46 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citybox Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citybox Bergen

Property: Citybox Bergen
Address: Nygaardsgaten 31, Bergen 5015, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Citybox Bergen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices.Our rooms are cheap because we keep our overheads down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place to hang your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel.Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Bergen.If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Bergen is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Citybox Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citybox Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing