We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
InCity Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 15 October 2007

The location of the Incity was great, quite central on a flowered street by the theater, around the corner from Torgalmenningen, a main pedestrian drag. Service too was great. It's not a huge place, so we dealt with only 3 or 4 front desk personnel over our stay, but they were all extremely pleasant, personable and effective.

The rooms were more long-term residence that short-term hotel. Plenty of room, full kitchen which we never touched. Our room was quite bright, facing the street - not noisy by our standards. Very clean. But it lacked personality, being quite utilitarian, with Pergo floors throughout.

There were some quality issues: electronic door lock didn't work initially for us or, coincidentally, our next door neighbor; neither bedside light worked; one of our beds lacked a bed pad, which the next morning I regretted not reporting since it made for a rougher sleep. Nothing too bad, but hardly top notch.

Breakfast selection was limited relative other hotels on our trip, and the buffet area a little cramped. Though really it was fine, and sitting outside on the veranda overlooking the street was pleasant.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank ckdalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2007

We totally enjoyed our stay and the amenties that were included, but this is not a full service hotel. We had a spacious newly-decorated, although sparse, apartment with a full kitchen, frig, etc. This is not a hotel, you are in an apartment bldg. that having been said, it is an excellent location, with convenient public parking garage and probably below-average breakfast.

Very clean and nice staff very willing to help with directions , restaurants, etc. AM guard walked to the parking deck to help us with a problem.....can't beat that.

Relax and enjoy what they offer and don't be concerned with what they don't have.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erfield5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2007

We enjoyed a two-night stay at the Incity, right in the heart of Bergen on an attractive, largely traffic-free square. We were a little worried by the tone of some of the previous postings. True, it doesn't have full hotel services, but even the studio flat was spacious, with a good view over the square. A most enjoyable breakfast - you can avoid the night-club atmosphere by taking it out on to the terrace (fortunately heated - necessary even in August!).

NB easy parking is abvailable at the Tinghuset multistorey 2 minutes walk away - and no problems getting out of there in time for the early ferry back to Newcastle.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

We had a two room apartment on the 8th floor, facing the street. It was very spacious and clean but spartan. As other reviewers mentioned, there are no hotel amenities and no maid service but this didn't bother us since we were out all of our days. The breakfasts were good - typical Scandinavian - plenty of food and they definitely refilled the buffet until close to the ending time.

We found the staff to be very nice and we were able to get extra towels the next day. A grocery store is just a few blocks away.

The location is excellent for walking all over the city of Bergen. We would recommend these apartments to anyone...just know that these are simple apartments and not hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LakeFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

First of all, they should not call themselves a hotel because they do not offer hotel ammenities. No lobby, no 24 hr reception, front desk closes when the clerk is out to lunch, bathroom, dinner..ect.., no phones in the rooms, if you need to receive a phone call you must go down to the lobby and do so publicly and shortly. Breakfast was a huge disappointment, basically bread, cheese and ham, no fruit, one type of milk and one type of juice.
The location is really good and the apartments are clean and spacius. The beds are small but that seems to be a scandinavia thing, since we had similar beds at a five star hotel in Oslo. Service was bad. If you are planning on staying in Bergen long term and plan on cooking and not needing a phone this is the place for you! I personally was looking for a Hotel not an apartment building.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank trespequitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2007

If you're looking for pretty cheap with a good location, this is alright; otherwise I would not recommend this place. The rooms are extremely spartan - no soap, bath mat, shower cap.... The beds were the smallest I have ever experienced - about two thirds the width of a twin bed. I had to keep trying not to roll out (I am extremely thin), and don't know what a larger person would do. The main reason I picked an apartment hotel was so that I could make coffee in the morning and the kitchen didn't even have a coffee pot. Breakfast was sparse and peculiar, though eating on the terrace was nice. Next time I'll spend a bit more.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fulen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2007

We booked our stay here through the fjord pass and received it for about the same price as the cheapest hotel we could find in the city. The rooms were great including a range, fridge, microwave, separate, curtained off bedroom.

The location is fantastic with close access to all of the city's main attractions and many restaurants and bars. Having a kitchen facility was a nice respite from the high prices of everything in Oslo, we still spent almost 50 dollars on a taco dinner, but it lasted us two meals.

The hotel is clean and very stylish in the rooms, but the breakfast is given in a nightclub that still smells of the night before.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Zander K Hotel
Zander K Hotel
#21 of 49 in Bergen
171 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#17 of 49 in Bergen
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Citybox Bergen
#22 of 49 in Bergen
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InCity Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InCity Hotel and Apartments

Address: Oevre Ole Bulls Plass 3, Bergen 5012, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £95 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Incity Hotel. Incity Hotel and Apartments is situated in the heart of Bergen. You’ll find us in the cultural main street of town with theatres and concert venues right outside your door. Our apartments are of high standard, modern and fashionable. Our rooms are fully equipped and include everything you need to make your stay as comfortable as possible. You can choose between Studio, 1 or 2 bedroom apartments. You’ll find something to suit all needs for business travellers, couples, families and so on. Stay for a day, a week or as long as you want! Please contact us for information and prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your InCity Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Incity Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing