We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
InCity Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have traveled to over 15 countries and 27 US States. Never have I stayed in a hotel this awful. Ever. The staff that checked us in was totally unfriendly. The hotel does not have a proper lobby, you check in in a lobby that looks like a college dorm. The room was cheap and large, apartment style with a bedroom, living room, and kitchenette. Perhaps the only good thing was the location - central part of Bergen. The breakfast they offered was sub-par and tasted badly. The hotel bar tries to be a nightclub and doesn't allow guests that are not dressed formally enough. The big problem came up when it was time to shower in the morning. There was no hot water in the room. We went downstairs and were told there is nothing they would do about it. The person at the desk was totally rude about the situation. We checked out early and went to stay at the Raddison Blu across the street. The hotel staff person told us we would get a refund when the manager returned on Monday. To this day (6 months later), we haven't received this refund. I wish I could give this hotel 0 stars, but that's not an option so I give it 1. I am generally quite generous and forgiving hotels for their flaws, but this place is just so bad. I would recommend that nobody stay here. Also, the wifi doesn't work in any part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonMike2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed here on business and booked this hotel based on a previous stay where the bed was acceptable. In this case the bed was terrible. The room had 2 1 metre singles. Both were in really poor condition and terribly uncomfortable. I took the mattress topper from the unused bed and put it on the one I selected to double the thickness. With this the bed was just about usable. This was £160 a night too!

Also be careful about staying in hot weather, if you have a street facing room it is very noisy outside - all night even mid week, so opening the window to get some air could be an issue.

Otherwise the staff are friendly and the breakfast is acceptable, just try the bed before you unpack.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Getaway_Js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This hotel is not worth the money or the disappointment.

The loud music from the club downstairs and screaming people outside will keep you awake until 0330, housekeeping is mediocre to average, the beds are simply boxsprings (no mattress) with thin foam toppers that will leave you with a bad back, and the included buffet breakfast is awful.

The restaurant was abandoned by staff and everything was run out an hour after the breakfast started. Cold tinned cocktail sausages of a doubtful nature, no eggs, and everything else including coffee run out, and not a single staff member to be seen.

There is no sign of any kind of staffing or customer service attitude in this place. And poor security. They open the lobby security door in the daytime and allow anyone at all to enter the building and go upstairs to the rooms, the reception desk is often abandoned because the person there needs to leave to do everything that a complement of house staff should be doing (such as fetching toilet roll because they don't bother to leave you some in your room).

No landlines, no clocks, door ringer disconnected, and 2 bar wifi.

Surprising that this place survives, but obviously the great location is what keeps them going.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simone22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Same as one of the reviewers before, we would not have chosen this hotel should we not book through Norway in a Nutshell. The location of this hotel is good, around 5-10 mins walk from the airport bus station and 10-15mins walk to the train station.
There is a disco downstairs, people were queuing to enter at 11pm. We stayed on the top floor, i.e. 8/F, but it is in fact the roof-top. A series of rooms were built on the roof-top as if temporary accommodations. We didn't expect paying NOK1100 for this temporary setting. The room is spacious though, but it was very deem. The light in the bedroom blink at mid-night. We were scared!
The kitchen was very interestingly equipped. The electrical kettle was leaking seriously. We cannot boil water by this. We looked for a saucepan to boil water but there was no lid available.
Since there was a disco downstairs, it is very noisy throughout the whole night considering that we were already on the top floor.

I would not recommend this hotel. If you can accept this quality, I would suggest you to go for a hostel instead.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tungtung1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Excellent location in the heart of Bergen and walking distance to all major attractions including the wharf area, restaurants (can be sooo expensive) and art galleries(get a combined three-venue ticket from tourist information .. near wharf..as well as a travel card much cheaper) and the main shopping stores as well as a number of smallish supermarkets.
The hotel has a major drawback, it is above a disco and Bergonians love to party, however the music does stop at 3.00am (thankfully, it is only fridays and saturdays) and though the noise is discernible in the rooms it is not too bad as there is good insulation, but then the guests coming in make a racket as does the small crowd hanging about the taxi rank over the road (square). The rooms are spacious and warm, and reasonably furnished, there is also a fully equipped kitchen, the beds are comfortable and set back from the front of the building, while the free-to-air TV is as bad as elsewhere and there is also a guest laundry. To sum up, there are better places to stay and they would probably be a lot more expensive and no doubt quieter; we were there for two weeks and I suggest that would be the maximum, comfortable stay, although there are long-term guests who spend up to four months! Eating out can get very costly, so an extended stay or even three days, makes an apartment more cost effective. For example, a 330m beer with a 10 per cent alcohol content in Dickens Bar cost nearly $A20, an uncooked 300-350gm piece of rump in a supermarket about $A25, a glass of wine can cost $A30. Norway is expensive so it pays to plan your trip and do a bit of research i.e. pack the right clothes, there are great places to see in and around Bergen as it is very scenic, with great walks; take the funicular cable car to the summit of Floyen Mountain and revel in the numerous, uncrowded wooded trails and breathe in that crisp, mountain air.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sixth and seventh floors are quieter, breakfast is a worthwhile extra and is served nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The hotel located right at the city center close to all the important attractions. It is well equipped with a small kitchen. Good size room and bathroom. Free laundry facility. Good breakfast in the restaurant next door. Close to parking. Excellent choice for a good price.

Room Tip: Do not get a room that is located above the restaurant - horrible smells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoshravid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Dirty, run down, beds ready to fall apart that fit 5 ft people and worst of all totally misleading pictures, travel advisor should do something about this. Only good thing is it's location but it should be categorized under youth hostel as opposed to hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Zander K Hotel
Zander K Hotel
#19 of 49 in Bergen
170 reviews
First Hotel Marin
#18 of 49 in Bergen
1,327 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#17 of 49 in Bergen
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InCity Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InCity Hotel and Apartments

Address: Oevre Ole Bulls Plass 3, Bergen 5012, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £93 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Incity Hotel. Incity Hotel and Apartments is situated in the heart of Bergen. You’ll find us in the cultural main street of town with theatres and concert venues right outside your door. Our apartments are of high standard, modern and fashionable. Our rooms are fully equipped and include everything you need to make your stay as comfortable as possible. You can choose between Studio, 1 or 2 bedroom apartments. You’ll find something to suit all needs for business travellers, couples, families and so on. Stay for a day, a week or as long as you want! Please contact us for information and prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your InCity Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Incity Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing