We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice apartments, drab views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InCity Hotel and Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
InCity Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good location, nice apartments, drab views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This apartment hotel is just a short walk down to the Harbor and all the museums in town - good location. The apartments are clean and comfortably furnished with modern Scandinavian style furnishings. The kitchen has a good supply of dishes, pots, etc. and includes a dishwasher. It is fine for preparing light meals. Be aware that there are no toiletries at all in the bathroom except liquid soap, no little shampoo bottles, so bring your own.

There is a small, but adequate grocery store (Kiwi) a block away. It has beer, but if you want wine or other liquor, there is a liquor store about 10 minute walk away.

The rooms on the front of the hotel have nice views of the mountains, but the rooms on the back have grim views of trash strewn courtyards and look directly into other apartment buildings. Someone was throwing glass into the trash very noisily each night we were there.

We had a significant problem with our room. It took repeated requests to the front desk over the course of a couple of hours to try to get it fixed. When they couldn't fix it, they finally did the right thing and moved us to a different room and even gave us a free upgrade. I would have given them a D for the first couple of hours of service, but they redeemed themselves at the end.

The room rate also includes a modest breakfast buffet in the adjoining restaurant - nothing special, but enough choice.

Room Tip: If a grim view bothers you, make sure you book a room on the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7continents2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    41
    45
    24
    21
See reviews for
45
61
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warrenton ,va
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Located in the city square, this hotel is a five minute walk from the fisherman's wharf and a convenient bus ride to the airport. The rooms are clean, large, and set up as fully-equipped apartments. This factor is extremely important as eating in Bergen is very expensive and this gives the option of cooking in the room after buying from the (also expensive ) local supermarkets.
The free internet is easy to use and the breakfast is between continental and full; not really enough to get through the day but served in an adjoining restaurant. A toaster would have been a great addition.
The stove in the room could benefit from some directions for use as the buttons are a little confusing with strange symbols It took me while to both turn it on and than turn it off. But it is well equipped with all the eating and cooking utensils and even a dishwasher.
The room set up was quite ample with a separate sitting and TV area and the bed in a small alcove. The bathroom was quite large with the traditional European open shower that so many complain about and never seem to realize that it is the norm.
All in all , this is a great bargain for the money and uis close to all the sights and transportation.The much more expensive Raddison Blu didn't appear to have anything more than this one .Yes, the area can get a little loud, but that is the price one must pay for being central. I always bring a sound machine and never have an issue.

Room Tip: upper floor. Rooms facing "courtyard" are not very glamorous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perWarrenton_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have traveled to over 15 countries and 27 US States. Never have I stayed in a hotel this awful. Ever. The staff that checked us in was totally unfriendly. The hotel does not have a proper lobby, you check in in a lobby that looks like a college dorm. The room was cheap and large, apartment style with a bedroom, living room, and kitchenette. Perhaps the only good thing was the location - central part of Bergen. The breakfast they offered was sub-par and tasted badly. The hotel bar tries to be a nightclub and doesn't allow guests that are not dressed formally enough. The big problem came up when it was time to shower in the morning. There was no hot water in the room. We went downstairs and were told there is nothing they would do about it. The person at the desk was totally rude about the situation. We checked out early and went to stay at the Raddison Blu across the street. The hotel staff person told us we would get a refund when the manager returned on Monday. To this day (6 months later), we haven't received this refund. I wish I could give this hotel 0 stars, but that's not an option so I give it 1. I am generally quite generous and forgiving hotels for their flaws, but this place is just so bad. I would recommend that nobody stay here. Also, the wifi doesn't work in any part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonMike2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

South East
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed here on business and booked this hotel based on a previous stay where the bed was acceptable. In this case the bed was terrible. The room had 2 1 metre singles. Both were in really poor condition and terribly uncomfortable. I took the mattress topper from the unused bed and put it on the one I selected to double the thickness. With this the bed was just about usable. This was £160 a night too!

Also be careful about staying in hot weather, if you have a street facing room it is very noisy outside - all night even mid week, so opening the window to get some air could be an issue.

Otherwise the staff are friendly and the breakfast is acceptable, just try the bed before you unpack.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Getaway_Js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

This hotel is not worth the money or the disappointment.

The loud music from the club downstairs and screaming people outside will keep you awake until 0330, housekeeping is mediocre to average, the beds are simply boxsprings (no mattress) with thin foam toppers that will leave you with a bad back, and the included buffet breakfast is awful.

The restaurant was abandoned by staff and everything was run out an hour after the breakfast started. Cold tinned cocktail sausages of a doubtful nature, no eggs, and everything else including coffee run out, and not a single staff member to be seen.

There is no sign of any kind of staffing or customer service attitude in this place. And poor security. They open the lobby security door in the daytime and allow anyone at all to enter the building and go upstairs to the rooms, the reception desk is often abandoned because the person there needs to leave to do everything that a complement of house staff should be doing (such as fetching toilet roll because they don't bother to leave you some in your room).

No landlines, no clocks, door ringer disconnected, and 2 bar wifi.

Surprising that this place survives, but obviously the great location is what keeps them going.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Same as one of the reviewers before, we would not have chosen this hotel should we not book through Norway in a Nutshell. The location of this hotel is good, around 5-10 mins walk from the airport bus station and 10-15mins walk to the train station.
There is a disco downstairs, people were queuing to enter at 11pm. We stayed on the top floor, i.e. 8/F, but it is in fact the roof-top. A series of rooms were built on the roof-top as if temporary accommodations. We didn't expect paying NOK1100 for this temporary setting. The room is spacious though, but it was very deem. The light in the bedroom blink at mid-night. We were scared!
The kitchen was very interestingly equipped. The electrical kettle was leaking seriously. We cannot boil water by this. We looked for a saucepan to boil water but there was no lid available.
Since there was a disco downstairs, it is very noisy throughout the whole night considering that we were already on the top floor.

I would not recommend this hotel. If you can accept this quality, I would suggest you to go for a hostel instead.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tungtung1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Excellent location in the heart of Bergen and walking distance to all major attractions including the wharf area, restaurants (can be sooo expensive) and art galleries(get a combined three-venue ticket from tourist information .. near wharf..as well as a travel card much cheaper) and the main shopping stores as well as a number of smallish supermarkets.
The hotel has a major drawback, it is above a disco and Bergonians love to party, however the music does stop at 3.00am (thankfully, it is only fridays and saturdays) and though the noise is discernible in the rooms it is not too bad as there is good insulation, but then the guests coming in make a racket as does the small crowd hanging about the taxi rank over the road (square). The rooms are spacious and warm, and reasonably furnished, there is also a fully equipped kitchen, the beds are comfortable and set back from the front of the building, while the free-to-air TV is as bad as elsewhere and there is also a guest laundry. To sum up, there are better places to stay and they would probably be a lot more expensive and no doubt quieter; we were there for two weeks and I suggest that would be the maximum, comfortable stay, although there are long-term guests who spend up to four months! Eating out can get very costly, so an extended stay or even three days, makes an apartment more cost effective. For example, a 330m beer with a 10 per cent alcohol content in Dickens Bar cost nearly $A20, an uncooked 300-350gm piece of rump in a supermarket about $A25, a glass of wine can cost $A30. Norway is expensive so it pays to plan your trip and do a bit of research i.e. pack the right clothes, there are great places to see in and around Bergen as it is very scenic, with great walks; take the funicular cable car to the summit of Floyen Mountain and revel in the numerous, uncrowded wooded trails and breathe in that crisp, mountain air.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sixth and seventh floors are quieter, breakfast is a worthwhile extra and is served nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Scandic Strand
#25 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#9 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#24 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InCity Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InCity Hotel and Apartments

Property: InCity Hotel and Apartments
Address: Oevre Ole Bulls Plass 3, Bergen 5012, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Incity Hotel. Incity Hotel and Apartments is situated in the heart of Bergen. You’ll find us in the cultural main street of town with theatres and concert venues right outside your door. Our apartments are of high standard, modern and fashionable. Our rooms are fully equipped and include everything you need to make your stay as comfortable as possible. You can choose between Studio, 1 or 2 bedroom apartments. You’ll find something to suit all needs for business travellers, couples, families and so on. Stay for a day, a week or as long as you want! Please contact us for information and prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Incity Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing