We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent base for exploring the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
InCity Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
London
Level Contributor
183 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“An excellent base for exploring the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2007

We enjoyed a two-night stay at the Incity, right in the heart of Bergen on an attractive, largely traffic-free square. We were a little worried by the tone of some of the previous postings. True, it doesn't have full hotel services, but even the studio flat was spacious, with a good view over the square. A most enjoyable breakfast - you can avoid the night-club atmosphere by taking it out on to the terrace (fortunately heated - necessary even in August!).

NB easy parking is abvailable at the Tinghuset multistorey 2 minutes walk away - and no problems getting out of there in time for the early ferry back to Newcastle.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    41
    45
    24
    21
See reviews for
45
61
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2007

We had a two room apartment on the 8th floor, facing the street. It was very spacious and clean but spartan. As other reviewers mentioned, there are no hotel amenities and no maid service but this didn't bother us since we were out all of our days. The breakfasts were good - typical Scandinavian - plenty of food and they definitely refilled the buffet until close to the ending time.

We found the staff to be very nice and we were able to get extra towels the next day. A grocery store is just a few blocks away.

The location is excellent for walking all over the city of Bergen. We would recommend these apartments to anyone...just know that these are simple apartments and not hotel rooms.

  • Liked — Location, space
  • Disliked — Small, slow elevator
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2007

First of all, they should not call themselves a hotel because they do not offer hotel ammenities. No lobby, no 24 hr reception, front desk closes when the clerk is out to lunch, bathroom, dinner..ect.., no phones in the rooms, if you need to receive a phone call you must go down to the lobby and do so publicly and shortly. Breakfast was a huge disappointment, basically bread, cheese and ham, no fruit, one type of milk and one type of juice.
The location is really good and the apartments are clean and spacius. The beds are small but that seems to be a scandinavia thing, since we had similar beds at a five star hotel in Oslo. Service was bad. If you are planning on staying in Bergen long term and plan on cooking and not needing a phone this is the place for you! I personally was looking for a Hotel not an apartment building.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank trespequitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2007

If you're looking for pretty cheap with a good location, this is alright; otherwise I would not recommend this place. The rooms are extremely spartan - no soap, bath mat, shower cap.... The beds were the smallest I have ever experienced - about two thirds the width of a twin bed. I had to keep trying not to roll out (I am extremely thin), and don't know what a larger person would do. The main reason I picked an apartment hotel was so that I could make coffee in the morning and the kitchen didn't even have a coffee pot. Breakfast was sparse and peculiar, though eating on the terrace was nice. Next time I'll spend a bit more.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fulen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2007

We booked our stay here through the fjord pass and received it for about the same price as the cheapest hotel we could find in the city. The rooms were great including a range, fridge, microwave, separate, curtained off bedroom.

The location is fantastic with close access to all of the city's main attractions and many restaurants and bars. Having a kitchen facility was a nice respite from the high prices of everything in Oslo, we still spent almost 50 dollars on a taco dinner, but it lasted us two meals.

The hotel is clean and very stylish in the rooms, but the breakfast is given in a nightclub that still smells of the night before.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2007

Bergen is a very expensive city.
We decided to live in INCITY simply becasue it was cheap but hey, you get cheap quality at cheap prices!

We experienced this on the first day at INCITY. We were given an apartment with disappointing views on the fifth floor. It is the only floor where smoking is allowed, this meant that the room smelt of smoke even though it looked very clean.

Here is the best part: We complained about this and the girl at the reception upgraded us to a double room apartment for the next 4 days!!!
That smashing apartment was on the 7th floor. It had views to die for. It had a window where you could see the Church and the hills and the road below. It was a magical room. The best part is, she did not charge us for the upgrade!
It is a lovely apartment. You get all the pots and pans. The pillows are good as well. You wont get a double bed, you will have to settle for twin beds!
Again it was very clean.

INCITY is based in the city. Everything is walkable. I recommend Pepe's Pizza.
The breakfast in the morning is not that great (They ran out of boiled eggs one day! but then again it is free!

I will definately recommend the apartment on the 7th floor but not otherwise!

  • Liked — Location, Price
  • Disliked — 5th floor, breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Coupleoftravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2007

They didn't have my reservation when I arrived. Good thing I had the email confirmation with me. It turned out the guy behind the desk telling me I didn't have the reservation was the same person who wrote the email. We had a 2 room apartment with 2 extra beds. The 2 extra beds turned out to be a single pull out couch. Not too comfy. Poor ventilation so we kept the windows open. There was a street party all night. At 3:30am they started banging garbage cans. Breakfast was good but get there early, they don't restock. Rough part of town, I think families should stay on the other side of the harbor.

  • Liked — close to dock to pick up Fjord tour
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable, noisy, dark and depressing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen
Scandic Strand
#28 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Basic Hotel Bergen
#22 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#7 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InCity Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InCity Hotel and Apartments

Property: InCity Hotel and Apartments
Address: Oevre Ole Bulls Plass 3, Bergen 5012, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Incity Hotel. Incity Hotel and Apartments is situated in the heart of Bergen. You’ll find us in the cultural main street of town with theatres and concert venues right outside your door. Our apartments are of high standard, modern and fashionable. Our rooms are fully equipped and include everything you need to make your stay as comfortable as possible. You can choose between Studio, 1 or 2 bedroom apartments. You’ll find something to suit all needs for business travellers, couples, families and so on. Stay for a day, a week or as long as you want! Please contact us for information and prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your InCity Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Incity Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing