We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home feeling place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skuteviken Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 19 Bergen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This definitely the best place to stay in our entire journey. We got Apartment 2, which has a living room, a bedroom and a spacious and light perfume-smelling bathroom. The apartment is well decorated, with good taste and making you feel right at home. Actually, it was raining during our stay in Bergen so we spent most of our time in the apartment, because it's not only comfort but also pleasant to stay in. The host is very warm-hearted and very helpful.

Location: This guesthouse is located in a quiet living area near the Bryggen harbor. It take only two stops by bus or ten minutes walk to get there. The problem here is: there are many alleys there, they all good the same. The guesthouse is a small building and not so easy to find. But lucky enough, when we got off the bus, we were facing the right alley and the sign of Skuteviken Guesthouse is only ten meters off the main road:)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanqiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

Very friendly owners. Although they don't live there they were there to meet us when we arrived and were very helpful in telling us where to go and where to eat in Bergen as well as giving us some tips about the rest of our visit to Norway.
My wife's bag was delayed on the flight and the owner was very helpful in co-ordinating its return and reassuring us.
The Guesthouse is up a beautiful little alleyway and was only 5 mins walk through a quiet park into the main tourist part of Bergen itself (Bryggen).
The apartment was contemporary Scandinavian style, very clean and in a nice quiet area. Fridge and 2 ring hob meant we could cater for ourselves for breakfast and snacks which is great if you're on a budget in Bergen.
Will definitely be going back if we ever go back in Bergen.
(Free WIFI too!)

Room Tip: Very steep spiral stairs to 1st floor rooms. Steps down to enter front door too. Not sure about disa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cameronblack_exp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. Our train into Bergen was very delayed and after I called the owner to let him know we would be late, he offered to pick us up at the train station. The apartment was cozy and cute, grocery store and downtown area were easily within walking distance. We loved the Skuteviken Guesthouse and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank ATYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The guesthouse is located in the cobblestone streets of Skutevikens which is just past the park where the castle is. It was a short walk but a long way from the droves of cruise ship tourists (and related noise) on the waterfront. The rooms are more like little apartments - the bedroom was a little small but it also had a living room and a nice sized bathroom. There is also a kitchenette (hot plate and fridge) which was nice in such a spendy city/country!

The owners were very friendly and provided lots of information about the town, what to do, etc.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Skuteviken Gjestehus is a very charming and lovely guesthouse in a typical old wooden house in the historic area Skuteviken, hosted by Solveig and her husband Eivind.
If you ever go to Bergen, I recommend it with all my heart! Don't look anywhere else. Each room is delicately furnished, just like home (or better), very clean and fresh, with exquisite bathrooms, a well equipped kitchen area, flat screen TV and fresh wild flowers ! It doesn't matter if it rains then...which happens in Bergen :)
Absolutely adorable ♥ and very romantic !

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OsloNorwayKatrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

This couple rents a few bright small apartments. The apartment has everything you need, is tastefully decorated, has a modern bathroom and is a short walk from an excellent Safari supermarket. Solveig and her husband met us at the property and helped us get oriented. It's about a 10 minute walk to the heart of Bergen through the citadel park. This place is best suited for independent travelers. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We were really pleased with this guest house. The owners are friendly and it's clean and comfortable. This is great value for Norway. The only problem we had was the bus dropped us one stop too far from where we should have been. Then we had trouble finding the house. If you stay there and ride the bus make sure the hosts tell you which stop to get off. Bergen is so beautiful - you'll love it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LanaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 50 in Bergen
1,391 reviews
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#14 of 50 in Bergen
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 50 in Bergen
963 reviews
Vågen
To Sostre Guesthouse
To Sostre Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Bergen
238 reviews
Vågen
AnneHelene's B&B
AnneHelene's B&B
#8 of 19 in Bergen
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skuteviken Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skuteviken Guesthouse

Address: Skutevikens Smalgang 11, Bergen 5032, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bergen
Price Range: £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skuteviken Guesthouse is located in a residential area of Bergen which dates back to the 1600s and is known for its traditional wooden buildings. The buildings in the area have evolved through several centuries with small wooden houses who adapt to the terrain and the narrow cobbled streets. The neighborhood will take you back to old times and old Bergen. All apartments have a living room, kitchenette, bedroom and a bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skuteviken Guesthouse Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing