We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient in Bergen”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skuteviken Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 20 Bergen B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Convenient in Bergen”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Solveig Rongved's guesthouse. I stayed in the single room downstairs with a well-equipped little kitchenette (though I only used it for coffee brewing). The dcoration is somewaht quirky with lots of local Norwegian items. The location is fantastic, near the Bergenhus park (Bergenhus festning) with a convenient shortcut to the old Bryggen wharf. The bust stop is a few metres away and the main station within 5 minutes bus drive.
It is not the most convenient for the Hurtigruten pier, you'll have to take a taxi unless you are willing to do 30-45 minutes walk with heavy luggage.
The room had a bathroom with shower.
Solveig was on hand with trip advice and a map.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alta_Jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    36
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
36
103
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here for one night before our trip on the hurtigruten. The taxi from the airport had a little trouble finding it, so have directions ready. It cost 500kr. The owner is friendly and welcoming. The house itself is in a delightful area full of little wooden houses..beautiful..the rooms are decorated with art from around the world and you can see the owners care and love their house and business. It is easy to walk from the guesthouse to the fish market, funnicular, and the timber alleyways of Bryggen(initially we took the harbour road until we found our bearings). We would recommend the funnicular railway -40kr single and the walks at top especially if you are early..we had the top of the hill to ourselves! There is a supermarket up the hill near the guesthouse, not far away. There are buses that stop metres from the house. Sadly there isn't' t one that goes to the hurtigruten quay..even tourist information said we would have to take a taxi. We booked one online using the WiFi at the guesthouse..bergen taxis 77000 I think , and although the site was in Norwegian it worked!this taxi was 200kr. The guesthouse is not best placed for the southern side of town, so if you want a quick stopover then see what is close to the hurtigruten quay. This guesthouse would be lovely to stay in for a few days..it is cosy, but comfortable. The kitchenette was great as we didn't want to spend money eating out as Norway is so expensive. Please be aware of the stairs. A certain level of mobility and strength for lifting suitcases will be required!! Highly recommend...

Room Tip: Ask for the one on the first floor if you have heavy suitcases!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaildevonshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Wonderful waking up in an old wooden house surrounded by other wooden houses so felt like experiencing the heart of the Bergen. Very warm and cosy, reasonable size good sitting area and modern bathroom. The kitchenette invaluable given the cost of eating out, 2 modern electric rings and kettle with all the equipment we needed, the cost of the apartment pn less than having just one simple meal out! Wi-fi strong throughout. Located less than 10 minutes walk from the main centre, 5 min from the airport bus stop and nearest supermarket.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FFC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at the Skuteviken Guesthouse on the second floor. Our unit had a kitchenette with a sitting area, a small bedroom and a good size bathroom. It was very homey and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The guesthouse is close enough for walking to all of the sights of Bergen and located in a wonderful neighborhood of narrow cobblestone streets. We did the Norway in a nut shell tour leaving from the Bergen train station which was very easy to walk to from the guesthouse if you do not have to deal with luggage. When we were leaving Bergen we took a taxi to the train station. It is a short and inexpensive ride.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LMNMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I stayed at Skuteviken Guesthouse for 4 weeks in October, and enjoyed the whole period. Solveig and Eivind, who runs the place, are serious, helpful and available. They have given this lovely place a cozy and personal atmosphere, not only with their sense of aesthetics and details in the interior, but also with their personal presence and handeling of guests.

I stayed in the loft apartment which has windows in all directions in the pitched roofs, overlooking the island Askøy to the West and Sverresborg (old fortress) to the South. To the North you can see the top of the Stoltzekleiven and the valley; Skredderdalen. These are both very nice afternoon hikes. The apartment has an open kitchen-livingroom, is well equipped and has a good size for two persons (or a small family). The sofa in the livingroom can also be made to be a very good sleeping sofa. The bedroom is good and the bathroom is fresh.

The guesthouse is easy accessed with a bus stop right below, and within walking distance to the Bryggen and the city centre.

I recommend this place with all my heart!

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank TonjeAnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed here for 4 days during September 2012. Unfortunately I had requested the top floor room in the hope of a good view. Nothing prepared us for the steep winding staircase to the top floor. Fortunately the owner helped us with one suitcase while I managed the second one. (getting them down is another story!). The stairway opens into a small livingroom with an uneven floor, to the left is a modern bathrrom. Turn right coming from the bathroom will plummet you down the stairwell, there is no guard or handrail at this point. People who enjoy a drink or are unsteady on their feet should not consider this property. There is a tiny bedroom, and a small kitchen in the livingroom, 2 of the hotplates have been diconnected as they may cause a fire with the low roof. There are various packets of food obviously left by previous guests.
We had a quick look at a room on the lower level which was more accessible. I would not recommend the top floor apartment to anyone, how it meets safety standards beats me.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WARRENDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Wa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Great cozy apartment to stay in with attention paid to the details. The artwork in the rooms really added to the character of the place. The couch was comfy and there was a nice tv but we didn't use it.

There is a bus stop just across the street that several buses stop at. Unfortunately, we did not take one of the ones that stopped right there and the owner was nonchalant when I asked before coming about taking the bus - he drives. Find out somehow the exact buses that stop there or take a taxi. An unnecessary 10 minute walk with your bags is not fun. There are a lot of buses and it can be confusing on arrival. On the way out we took a bus then transfered to a tram to the train station it was a breeze.

Once we got there it was all easy. We cooked and enjoyed our stay and the bed was large enough for two and very comfortable.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Heungboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 49 in Bergen
542 reviews
The Hanseatic Hotel
#9 of 49 in Bergen
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skuteviken Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skuteviken Guesthouse

Property: Skuteviken Guesthouse
Address: Skutevikens Smalgang 11, Bergen 5032, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skuteviken Guesthouse is located in a residential area of Bergen which dates back to the 1600s and is known for its traditional wooden buildings. The buildings in the area have evolved through several centuries with small wooden houses who adapt to the terrain and the narrow cobbled streets. The neighborhood will take you back to old times and old Bergen. All apartments have a living room, kitchenette, bedroom and a bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skuteviken Guesthouse Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing