We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Bergen”
Review of Steens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steens Hotel
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Steen's is a little out of the city center but offers great value and a nice breakfast. The hotel is located is a nice neighbourhood and staff were quite pleasant. Rooms were a little tired but the breakfast room was amazing with wood paneling and a large stained glass window. The breakfast selection wasn't huge but all was freash and included in the room price. I would recommend to anyone looking for a unique hotel with great value. I travelled in the fall of 2009.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

Lovely location in quiet residential area near the university, but not very central. Rather difficult to find and 10 minute walk into town. Walk downhill into town, but of course uphill on return. Many other hotels in centre. Hotel charming and very peaceful. Breakfast quite meagre.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Moved here because my original hotel had no rooms, and pleased I did. Beautiful old place in a beautiful neigborhood full of similar mansions. friendly though not always manned reception. I was taken to a huge room on the top floor with rather dated furniture and bathroom compensated by a magnificent old stained glass skylight covering a good portion of the ceiling. Another skylight brightened a small sitting area. It is moderate uphill hike from the historic center, but the area is basically the University with beautiful mansions rennovated into student accomodation. The facade is a rather garish green, but the interior is more subdued. The breakfast room is a late 19th century carved wood and stained glass masterpiece. The place could use a dollop of updating, but it is unique in a city where most of the high end accomodation is comprised of overpriced chains.

Room Tip: I loved my room with the stained glass ceiling...ask for it if you want true character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Recently spent two nights at this hotel. We were a little concerned about booking here considering some of the negative reviews but we encountered no problems. In fact, we enjoyed our stay here. Yes, the hotel is uphill from the train station but it isn't that bad. It is a solid ten minute walk from the station. We had a nice spacious room. It had a nice big flat screen TV but no fridge in the room. The bathroom including shower were clean and worked fine. The wi-fi worked Ok in our room but if you got in the corner it didn't work so sometimes my wife would sit in the 2nd floor breakfast room. The staff was nice and friendly. The breakfast was standard European meat & cheese with eggs. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tngl4ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This hotel has no shower screen, only a curtain, so no matter how you try, the bathroom floor will be wet after your first shower. The walls are paper thin. The room is tiny, the tv is facing the other wall. People say it is cozy. Well, if you like all of the above, go for it. as for the location, yes it is on the hill near university, and I really liked the location - and the exercise. But for the price I would have expected a less austere room.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Boris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Lovely hotel in a peaceful location fairly close to the bustling centre. Friendly and helpful staff on the reception desk. Bedroom was small but fine. Really lovely sitting room/breakfast room with stained glass window, comfortable elegant furniture and free tea/coffee/hot chocolate available all day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

There's a lot to love about this hotel. It is in a beautiful building full of antiques in a neighborhood of stunning houses, the dining room is like stepping into the 1800's, the curving stairs as you enter are lovely, and you are greeted by very nice people when you check in. We had a room facing a lovely park which filled up with college students drinking at night, you have to carry your luggage up those beautiful stairs, there is no a/c (common in Norway I'm finding), the bathroom is so small that you would have to sit sideways on the toilet in you are over 5'9" and it has one of those showers without a rim so the entire floor gets wet when the shower is used. I will give up a lot of things for a great location and while this hotel is in a lovely neighborhood it is a very long downhill walk to the harbor which is where everything you want to see is located and then you have to walk uphill to get back. So, lovely place, bad location and not worth the cost we paid.

Room Tip: If you have any difficulties walking, this is not the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lpennin104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#25 of 50 in Bergen
77 reviews
Citybox Bergen
#22 of 50 in Bergen
68 reviews
The Hanseatic Hotel
#11 of 50 in Bergen
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#17 of 50 in Bergen
753 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#19 of 50 in Bergen
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steens Hotel

Address: 5007 Parkveien 22, Bergen 5007, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £78 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Steens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Steens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steens Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing