We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly staff”
Review of T.G.I. Fridays

T.G.I. Fridays
Ranked #93 of 381 Restaurants in Bergen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: T.G.I. Friday’s is an informal American diner centrally located at Ole Bulls Plass, in the same building as Hotel Norge. Friday’s is the perfect place to meet for any occasion: a quick lunch with colleagues, a pleasant dinner with family and friends, and celebrations of any sort. Friday’s offers a wide selection of items, ranging from burgers, steaks and spare-ribs to pasta, sandwiches and salads. And as a true American diner our portions are rich. We offer a lunch menu before 15:00pm every weekday, a large variety of delicious desserts and a diverse kids menu with puzzles and prizes. Our well-known cocktail bar is the perfect way to both start and end the night. Our bartenders are know for their outgoing personality and high-quality cocktails, such as the famous Strawberry Daiquiri and Long Island Iced Tea. Welcome!
Bergen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I've visited this TGI Friday's countless times, and I've never been disappointed with the food. The staff is always helpful and friendly, and better at paying attention to customer needs than a lot of other places. It might be a good idea to book a table, but if you don't and it's full they'll just give you a balloon (waiting number) and you can wait in the bar. Even when full it usually doesn't take much longer than 30 minutes.

A lot of the staff here are English speakers (non Norwegian natives), and those who aren't also speak English!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    129
    100
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vaasa, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were in Bergen on a Monday evening which meant many restaurant were closed, therefore TGI Fridays, which was conveniently downstairs from our hotel, was a pretty convenient solution. An English speaking waier happily showed us to a table and she was happy to move us to another table a bit later when we requested this due to there being a draft. The place was very busy that night and during our dinner they performed at least 2 birthday songs so it was quite loud, not that this really bothered me. Staff was extremely friendly, food was average but it came out reasonably quickly considering it was so busy, so nothing to complain there. Loved the apple mojito.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very popular”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Busy restaurant ; can't fault food or service, free soft drink refills a bonus - with Norway prices. £20 for burger and fries is pricey for UK, but fine for Norway. No complaints, booking a good idea,

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I like Fajitas”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I’ve rated TGI’s before and generally I like them. Partially because I’m a fan of that kind of US style restaurants but also because the food always keep to a pretty high standard. No they’re not innovative, not on the menu, not on the order of conduct from the staff and not on service level, but they are good!
The Bergen franchise is in general no exception, and I’ve been there quite some times over the last business trips, but they have in my experience (limited that’s true) the friendliest TGI staff in Scandinavia. That is something I like. Going in you get the feeling they like to have you there and that taking your order is fun for them too. Way to go TGI Bergen!
So if you’re looking for a good US style meal in Scandinavia, Bergen is a good place to be.
So can I find something to complain about? If I must it’d be that the Fajitas are gone in the new menus. What can I say, I like Fajitas!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn_J73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Incredibly slow service, poor food.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Visited with a group of people i'd just met, we chose TGIs as it's normally a relatively 'safe' choice for Brits... we were ignored for the first 35 minutes, but as it had taken so long to chose a place to eat we didn't leave. Once our order (for mains only) it took another 40 minutes for the food to come out. The place didn't seem busy, the waitresses were unfriendly and rude, and the food was tasteless and bland.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spinelli101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed T.G.I. Fridays also viewed

 
Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to T.G.I. Fridays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing