We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant in Bergen”
Review of Pygmalion

Pygmalion
Ranked #25 of 388 Restaurants in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Organic restaurant situated in the heart of Bergen.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant in Bergen”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Great, Small, unpretentious family run cafe / restaurant. After being confined to chain pizza outlets over the new year period, by January 2nd we were desperate for something different and healthy. They seem to do a short but well done menu with some good vegetarian options. I had the Thai May vegatables and my wife had the chicken Thai May. Both prepared very quickly, very well made and delicious. The house wine was also very good. All in all definitely worth a visit - great food and (for Norway) good prices.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    137
    23
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice for a casual date/”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Service: ok- order in the bar and served at the table. Pay when you order. Asked for what kind of beers they had, not offered any options.. maybe lost in translation. Food came quickly

Atmosphere: chillout and friendly, amateur art exibithion on walls. Soho feeling. Nice music and perfect noise level, easy to have a conversation. Nice for a casual first date

Food: Had the chicken burger, a bit overcooked chicken. Great fresh and crispy bun, wholegrain.. The aioli is really good and so are the potatoes. Would order it again. Ok price 169 nok foe the burger

Helpful?
Thank SimenPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great, tasty food, not too expensive”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Went by to get some food at Godt Brød, but due to no indoor sitting places at the place we first tried we decided for this cafe we just passed instead. Did not regret at all. Much, much better & more tasty food than I've ever had at Godt Brød, and I do find them great. More cozier atmosphere & even have childrens menu (the children had pancakes, but do take two instead of just one - the portions are pretty small for children..obviously, I guess...only drawback was that we had to pay for two separate single pancakes instead of the double pancake menu).

Nevertheless...amazing bread & food in general. Definitely going to try the other stuff at the menu whenever I get a chance..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noamii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and unpretentious food”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Nice, crowded small restaurant - looks almost like a student place.
Food choice is limited but good. Had the chicken burger which was very nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maestro074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little place!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

As most people have already pointed out....eating out in Norway will never be a cheap affair for someone from the UK, but this place gets cost and quality balance pretty much spot on in my book. Cozy little unpretentious cafe/restaurant, which has a welcoming feel as soon as you walk in. Menus are at the bar, and what I liked most is that they aren't pages and pages of food you just know isn't freshly prepared. Simple sandwiches, salads and crepes for the lighter appetite, with burgers and curry on offer amongst the more substantial mains.

We only wanted a light bite, so opted for the Pygmalion Classic, which is an open faced sandwich of Brie, bacon and salad, topped with a delicious advocado dressing. Perfect size for a lighter meal and came on either rye bread (which I had, at 80kr) or ciabatta (mrs h had, 99kr). Both were polished off and left us impressed. Our 10 yr old had a crepe with strawberries, and was devoured with the same enthusiasm!

Drinks wise...we had herb teas, but will definitely return on an occasion we could have a beer or glass of wine. It's definitely the kind of place you want to kick back and relax in. I'm told they have acoustic acts etc on sometimes, which would be a cool way to spend an evening, so maybe that's a good excuse to go back sometime soon!

All in all, we thought it was great quality food, freshly prepared and a reasonable price.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank baggieboypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pygmalion also viewed

 

Been to Pygmalion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing