We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience once again”
Review of Bolgen & Moi - CLOSED

Bolgen & Moi
Price range: US$0 - US$1,441
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Vågen
Description: Since 1995, Bølgen & Moi has been a popular name renowned for quality cuisine. The restaurant is situated in Bergen Art Museum, which houses one of Norway's most important collections of art. The restaurant chefs showcase the unique ingredients which each season brings - always leaving room for spontaneity. The menu features both modern, international à la carte and hamburgers, light lunch dishes and desserts. The outdoors seating provides wonderful views of the town of Bergen and Lille Lungegårdsvann lake with its fountain.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad Experience once again”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I have visited 6 of the different Bølgen & Moi restaurants and have been disappointed several times. This time was also a disappointment. When we arrived the tables were missing cutlery and napkins. We asked several times and still they did not manage this "complicated " task before dinner was served. We asked several times for bread and butter which they either did not mange before dinner. When dinner was served the béarnaise was missing for the entrecote. By the time my daughter received the sauce the entrecote was cold! And it was served with pommes frites which should have had other choices. Some of us had Halibut which was overcooked and also served almost cold! The only thing they managed quite quick was the bill!
The environment is lovely but it does not help much if the service and food does not match the image they want to have. My daughter noticed that some of the waitresses were trainees, but still they should have some supervisor who is in charge and help the trainees.
Many other good choices in Bergen I would look into before dinning here again. My guests/family totally agree.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    37
    21
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have been visiting this restaurant for a business dinner with three people. Two of us had the seasonal menu with wine pairing and one A la Carte. First course was cured trout with greens - it had some very crunchy items in it, which reminds one on broken teeth in the mouth - not very pleasant. Although the greens were fresh the dish was lacking flavour. The second course was cod - the fish was fresh and on the point, but the side dishes not so interesting and again were lacking flavour. The lam dish was the best, however, the different pieces of meat were varying. One piece had very rubbery fat on it. Again, not so pleasant. The dessert was also not a highlight. The worst of all was the wine selection which did not fit the dishes at all. The first was far too sweet for the trout, the second was OK and the red wine for the lamb was lacking flavour and harmony. The service was OK, the large hall of the restaurant was noisy and was not producing a good atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Our family of four were treated very well, the service was excellent. The food was tasty, and good value. Recommended!!

Helpful?
Thank Happytorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Vinsmaking med mye god mat”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

The condition for my visit was somewhat unusual as it was a winetasting with matching food in collaboration with Aperitif, the Norwegian gourmet magasine. The wine was excellent, the food, information and atmosphere likewise. It was pricy but worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“From better to worse”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

When this restaurant was situated at its original place in Bergen, we all felt a certain good
atmosphere and intimity. After moving to a greater location, it has become a food factory with no charm, only loud noice from guests and irritating music from the loudspeakers.
The service is mediocre, the food without individual influence and the wine list is not one you would like to bring home.
We have lost a cosy place and have got a modern place for the young ones.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NilsMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bolgen & Moi also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing