We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food in a modern, unpretentious setting.”
Review of Naboen

Naboen
Ranked #25 of 387 Restaurants in Bergen
Price range: US$12 - US$63
Cuisines: French, Swedish, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sentrum
Description: The name "Naboen" means neighbor, and this is just what the Naboen Pub & Restaurant is, a friendly and inviting place to eat and drink. Hospitality is job one here, and the Scandinavian kitchen, staff and culinary tradition are representative of Norway. The food is all made from scratch, as it would have been two hundred years ago - no processed ingredients allowed. Naboens' menu is a culinary delight, one heaped in Nordic tradition, and best of all moderately priced. Guests here partake of Norwegian food and spirits as they should be enjoyed, Bergen style.
Santa Cruz
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a modern, unpretentious setting.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We walked into this restaurant at 8:00 on a Sunday evening without a reservation, but were able to be seated immediately in the ground level dining room. Got crowded as the evening went on, but service was consistently prompt. Broad menu selections and nice wine list including many half-bottles. Lots of creative appetizers and the house salad was the best I've ever had. Both their fillet of pork and salmon dishes were excellent. Finished with a wonderful ganache with licorice sorbet. I want to go back to try other selections. Not cheap, but reasonable compared to more touristy places on the harbor.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    205
    45
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Awesome beer and best chips i ever had!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

If you're in Norway you know alcoholic beverages are not cheap. However, this place is fairly reasonably priced and has an amazing selection of Norwegian craft beer. We sat at the bar in the basement and had their "cannibal" sandwich with chips (fries). Best chips I have ever ever ever had! Seriously friendly bar staff and nice overall atmosphere. My favorite place we drank/ate at in Bergen!

Helpful?
Thank Heather_Budd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden basement restaurant ”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant and it was fully booked and so they suggested the basement bar. The food comes from the same kitchen, although is a different menu, quite a bit cheaper yet still delicious and good sized portions. Would definitely recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank ZoERo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We had been recommended this restaurant and were happy to see a 'T A' award on the window as we walked in.
We were shown to a table, a jug of water was plonked on our table and we waited. Given the menu we decided on our drinks and food options and we waited. On ordering our drink options we were told the wine of choice was not available so went to option two, that also was not available finally the third choice was available. I was given my wine my hubby had to wait 10 mins for his beer. We were not made to feel comfortable and there was minimum verbal contact from the waitress.
The hake that we both ordered was delicious. Fresh, cooked to perfection and well presented. A much better option than eating at the fish market in my opinion.
If I was only rating the food, I would give an 'excellent'.

Possible suggestion for the waiter that accidentally spilt a large full glass of beer and 1/4 of a bottle of Coke over the table and customer. It was good that you immediately collected napkins to soak up the liquid, then settled the couple at the next table. However, I am sure they would have appreciated getting their replacement drink (on the house) BEFORE you reset the table.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good One”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

During the week of July 21, we dined at Naboen on two occasions. The first time, as recommended by others, we had our meal downstairs in the pub area. The emphasis here is on their "Swedish Dinner" menu. Prices, at least for Norway were reasonable. Our second visit we ate upstairs. The same menu was available at the same prices but also had more expensive entrees. The salmon and the lamb stew are especially good. Our server was efficient and professional. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bobecus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Naboen also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Naboen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing