We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is better to be had.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hummer & Kanari - CLOSED

Hummer & Kanari
Cuisines: Norwegian, Italian, American, Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Description: Hummer og Kanari lies in alesund's pedestrian street, and is a charming restaurant with a relaxing atmosphere. Try a variety of international courses, and a nice drink at the bar while listening to soft background music.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“There is better to be had.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This restaurant is easily accessible to the city center and has loads of outdoor seating. They were out of my first 2 choices of food which I thought was odd. The waitress suggested a pasta that left a lot to be desired. The alfredo sauce was runny and didnt stick to the noodles that were a tad overcooked. The seafood mixed in was good and cooked well though. The atmosphere and waitress/bartender were quaint though, and it seems to be a popular enough spot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    38
    16
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My daughters and I had the Bacalao (in various forms). Mine initially came out cold in the middle (it happens occasionally), but it was taken back without question and a new dish prepared quickly (definitely was not reheated and redelivered) and it was very good. Reasonable prices (by Norway standards) and a great atmosphere - staff very friendly and helpful. Really liked it

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BillericayBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant hang out bar / eatery. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely fish soup and seafood salad to share. Good portions for reasonable money. Good vibe. Friendly staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, Hampshire
Level Contributor
190 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A fun place with affordable food and great people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

A ood choice to meet a few locals and eat food that won't completely break the back. Pasta dishes are tasty...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Farehamvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love this place.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

A bit on the rustic side regarding the decor, but it was very relaxed atmosphere. Very busy when we droped in the door. but a seat we got..... We was walking around in the streets of Ålesund and had more or less desided to go back to the hotel when we saw this place and desided to try it out. It's nice when you are greeted as you enter by the staff ( witch don't speak much Norwegian, but English is fine too). Fast service all over from ordering the drinks to food. And always with a big warm smile..... Food, ooooh yeah, super.... My wife had lasagna and it has a good flavour, but my grilled baccalao fish with a white creamy sauce with smokey fried bacon oieces.. mmmmm my mouth is watering here as I think about it..... loved it... Never tried the fish this way before, but what a bomb of flavours..... The prices was was not expencive either. We will be back here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hummer & Kanari also viewed

Alesund, More og Romsdal
Alesund, More og Romsdal
 
Alesund, More og Romsdal
Alesund, More og Romsdal
 
Alesund, More og Romsdal
Alesund, More og Romsdal
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing