We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet With à Nice view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunde Fjord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunde Fjord Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet With à Nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

The negative point are that thé hôtel is far away from thé ( Nice ) city center and thé breakfast is not so Nice.

But you Will be very Well receive. Thé owner Will indicate you with care all thé place to see.
My room was on the third floor With à Nice view on thé lack it is very quiet and peacefull
You CAN Enjoy thé big terasse (shared)
I really feel gréât in that place

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Audiditrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    21
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
23
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

In August 2012, my boyfriend and I (in our late twenties) went on a 2-weeks-round trip in Norway. Sunde Fjord Hotel was our first stop and we stayed there for four nights.

We were very pleased with our stay:

Sunde Fjord Hotel is located 50 m from the ferry stop Solavågen-Festøya and 18 km from Ålesund. It is easily accessible by car and there are plenty of parking spaces right in front of the hotel.

Our room (205) was very spacious (it was actually a triple room) and bright - with great views on the surrounding fjords. The room was nicely decorated and the pictures painted by the owner, Inga, gave it a personal touch. We had a terrace, too. However, as it wasn’t totally private (other guests would walk past once in a while), we didn’t really use it. The bathroom was very clean. The only thing which we thought was a little negative was the shower, as we had to be careful, in order to avoid flooding the bathroom.

The hotel being located next to the ferry stop wasn’t a problem for us at all; we didn’t think it was noisy – or at least we got used to the sounds of the ferry and cars relatively quick.

Breakfast at Sunde Fjord Hotel was simple but decent. There weren’t many things to choose from but it was enough for us. Sunde Fjord Hotel offers free coffee, tea and biscuits during the receptions opening hours. However, there isn’t any restaurant at the hotel and neither in the immediate surroundings. There is a small fast food vendor next to the ferry stop though; however, we would recommend that as an “emergency solution” only.

The owner, Inga, was very kind and helpful. We had a problem with our car and she helped us with finding a mechanic.

In conclusion, we would recommend this hotel and if we ever return to that part of Norway, we would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Just_us_worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

As others have said, right on the ferry dock so a little disappointing from the outside and the reception area but the rooms are superb, clean, bright and with comfortable furnishing (see comment on the beds later) large window that can be opened to give excellent views (weather permitting).
No tea or coffee in the room but freely available downstairs, although I would have thought it was an expected touch. TV in room is new and high quality, however, only 2 channels ( both Norwegian) so not much use if you're not native.
OK now the bad side, beds poor quality and if ( like me) you're over 5' 10" and weigh over 15 stones then the bed springs can be felt, this coupled with the ferry noises (all night) the lack of a complete set of curtains - there's a window above the main opening window that has no curtain or a way of blocking out the light. I got no sleep whatsoever.
A hotel? Not really, a B&B? Nope missed that too as the bed was poor and breakfast was pretty basic.
The owner was pleasant but missing most of the time and the service levels were non-existent.
Sorry for the poor review but we booked the hotel for its views and to get a quiet nights sleep.....we got neither.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed here for one night on a week long trip around Norway. Be aware that you cannot check in until at least 3pm as the place is closed until then, we arrived at just before 2pm and had to go away again and come back later as the hotel was locked.

On arrival we had a very warm welcome from the owner who was very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely, spacious, well decorated and with a lovely seating/living area and furnished balcony overlooking the fjord. Bathroom was large and in the form of a wet room - the shower was one of the best I've used!

Downsides are: the hotel does not have a restaurant so you need to make your own arrangements for dinner.

One of the many ferry terminals in Norway is located right outside this hotel!! Other reviews have mentioned this but they haven't said just how close it is, literally on the doorstep within a few metres of the place. The noise of the ferries themselves isn't bad, just a background drone, but what did disturb us was the clattering of vehicles as they drive on and off the ferries. During the evening and daylight hours this wasn't really an issue, but we were woken at 5am by the clattering and then it was pretty relentless.... This ferry route seems to be used by a lot of HGV's and the loud clatter they made driving on and off followed by the engine noise as they drove away was the most significant feature. The ferry crossing is short and as one ferry leaves another arrives so the background drone is constant, we didn't find this disturbing, just the clattering!

The level of soundproofing in this hotel is not great, as well as the ferry noise you could hear other guests opening and closing doors, walking past etc.

Breakfast is basic and there is no hospitality tray in the rooms, but you can go downstairs and help yourself to tea and coffee free of charge whenever you want it, which is a nice touch.

I slept ok on the bed, which is two very small singles pushed together, but my husband didn't fare as well, being larger than me he found it cramped and didn't sleep well at all. We went to bed at our usual time of around midnight but being woken at 5am by the vehicles clattering onto the ferries wasn't ideal!

On the whole a nice hotel, room was lovely but the lack of sleep because of the clattering from the ferries spoilt an otherwise enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Rooms are lovely, but bear in mind you probably won't sleep after 5am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShetlandPonyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This review is long overdue. We visited Ålesund as part of a road trip through the fjords in July 2011 and stayed in Sunde Fjord Hotel for two nights. I initially chose the hotel for its location: out of the town centre, right on the edge of the water, with a ferry port on the E39 on your doorstep (the trip from here to Geiranger, crossing first the Hjørundfjord and then the Geirangerfjord is absolutely breathtaking).

The rooms were wonderful: bright, spacious and well equipped. Unfortunately I don't remember the room numbers, but we had the two rooms at the far end of the corridor on the second floor. Both had sliding doors opening up on the wooden deck, with wonderful views of the fjords from your own private lounging chairs. Excellent value for money (we booked with a Fjord Pass).

In the end it was the service though, and not the beautiful surroundings, stunning rooms or convenient location that made Sunde Fjord memorable. Earlier during the trip my father hurt his knee, and by the time we arrived in Ålesund he could barely stand on his leg. We could avoid it no further: we had to find a doctor. Inga was incredibly helpful in arranging for a doctor in nearby Langevag to see us at very short notice. Even though just about everybody in Norway speaks perfect English, it remains a second language for both myself and the Norwegians. She called ahead, translated our predicament and begged them to remain open for us. She really went out of her way to help us and it was very clear that this was genuine kindness, not merely some concierge doing a job.

There really wasn't anything I can fault the hotel on.

Do keep in mind that you should preferably have your own transport when you stay here:
1. The hotel is about 15 / 20 km from the centre of Ålesund
2. The hotel serves the standard breakfast fare, but does not have a full restaurant. As far as I can remember there were no restaurants within walking distance. We drove to Ålesund for dinner, and there is a shopping mall en route to Ålesund where you can get take-aways or other light lunches.

Inge (I hope have the name right), we will always remember your kindness. We dream about the day when we will be able to return to beautiful Norway, and Sunde Fjord in particular.

Will I recommend? Absolutely!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bolander_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

This I imagine would have been the place to stay before the modern ferries. We chose it as we wanted to be out of town for a change - it was very clean and the rooms are large and bright, beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is simple but ok. The lady who owns it make the trip worthwhile - so kind and interested in what you need to know . If you do stay there take the ferry (which is at the door) over on the 10 min trip - turn left and take the road along the Fjord - it was just perfect and no tourists at all...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stay 2 nights in Sunde Fjord Hotel in July. It's location just near the ferry Solavagen-Festoya on E39 road, is preferable for people, who want to be close to Alesund, but not in the town. We got very comfortable large room for 3, designed in elegant scandinavian style with large balcony, looking on fjord and mountains. Breakfast was good, if you want to eat something in the evening, there is small cafe near the ferry, opposite the hotel. Very comfortable beds, armchairs on the balcony, were you can relax in the evening, enjoing the view and seen ferries coming and leaving.
Only 18 km and your are in Alesund - one of the niciest norwegian towns.
We enjoy our stay so much, and will strongly recommend this hotel for our friends and other tourists.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grenadir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
6.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen
6.9 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
6.8 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
6.8 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
7.0 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#4 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunde Fjord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunde Fjord Hotel

Property: Sunde Fjord Hotel
Address: Sundevegen 164, Alesund 6037, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunde Fjord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunde Fjord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing