We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Scandinavie
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Central location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We were given a "junior suite" which was large, modern and spotlessly clean, but unfortunately situated next to an extractor fan which ran all night. The room was hot and had no air conditioning, so we had to have the window open despite the noise. There is a lift, but to access the building there is a flight of steps from the street. No parking outside hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iandcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    85
    35
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
81
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garden of England
Level Contributor
115 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Alesund stands out from many other Norwegian towns as it seems to have a lot of buildings of character and interest rather than just being built for purpose.
And the same can be said for this hotel – it is in a lovely old building right in the middle of the small town centre and about 3 minutes walk from the quaint harbourside.

As you walk towards the hotel it looks impressive and this continues as you walk up the plush red carpet of the entrance hall.
The staff were all helpful, friendly, wore a smile on their face as well as speaking fantastic English.
I should say that we were lucky and got upgraded without asking and FOC to a suite, so my description of the room is based on this fact. But still the room has lovely parquet flooring and had a large dining style table as well as a sofa area with table, seats and TV. Then it was around the corner to the bedroom and there were about 6 different windows in the room – sadly none of them had a view and this was from the 4th floor which is the top as well. Plus in Norway this means it lets lots of light in even at night time, so if you need pure dark to sleep then bring something to cover your eyes as there are no black out curtains here.
But anyway the room to us was very spacious and felt of a good quality too, with furniture items with some style in there.

Breakfast is served down in the main restaurant is a nice affair with a good choice of food, both hot and cold – though remember the Norwegian do like fish even at breakfast! But this isn’t the only thing you can eat though so don’t worry.

There is free use of the computers there if you need too, so pretty much everything you could want from a hotel is there. I guess the only thing other hotels will have in Alesund that this doesn’t is a view out over the coastline, so make your choice as to what you want from your hotel but I would definitely come back to this one.
It isn’t that expensive either – in fact it was cheaper than many others which were of a much lower standard.

Room Tip: Book individually rather than via a package so you might get an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fell-O_TravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 85 days. I was on a business trip. 85 days are long enough to find all the flaws in a place, but I couldnt find a single one. Perfect location. right in the city center. Perfectly furnished rooms. The rooms were cleaned daily.

The breakfast was a grand affair with all types of cereals, fruits, cheese, breads, yogurts & cold cuts. In the evenings they also had a pancake corner. I surely put on a few pounds after such treatment.

The people at the reception were friendly & I felt very much at home.

High speed internet was available.

I just find it as one of the most perfect experience in my life. Happy to spend such a time with Rica. Would always look forward to see them again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RHD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We were here for 3 nights at the start of a trip, and had a good quiet room overlooking the road. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, functioning TV but what we really enjoyed was the Art Nouveau design and sensitively restored decor. Good breakfast buffet and free coffee/tea easily available at any time. Though some other hotels are on the harbourside, we found the location central to all that Alesund has to offer. Friendly and helpful staff added to a good feel about this place.
And if you want something to eat, we much enjoyed the delicious good-value salads at Lyst cafe on Kongensgate.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

This Art Nouveau hotel has been renovated. I had a good-sized room with a view of the street. It was comfortable. The breakfast buffet was pretty good. The front desk staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

We had a spacious junior suite at this lovely Art Nouveau hotel, conveniently located for all the attractions in Alesund. However, the reception staff were not the friendliest in the world, in particular a woman who scowled instinctively whenever a guest requested anything! The breakfasts were good, and there were plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewbury UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

We seem to have been lucky to have got the junior suite for just under £100 a night in August. We had a nice big room with a decent sized table, a chaise longue and two armachairs, as well as a desk with chair. The windows looked out over the cobbled street which was fine in the day but a touch noisy on the Friday night when the locals could be heard talking in the street until the early hours. However, the other rooms at the back looked liked they'd have no view other than the back of another building's air conditioning units, so we stuck with it and I had three night's unbroken sleep after that. The breakfast spread was good, and tea/coffee was available free at all times downstairs. The desk staff were very helpful with directions and using the internet.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#4 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#5 of 12 in Alesund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Scandinavie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Scandinavie

Property: Scandic Scandinavie
Address: Loevenvoldgata 8, Alesund 6002, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Scandinavie)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
#8 Business Hotel in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Scandinavie 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Scandinavie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Ålesund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing