We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK business hotel getting a bit long in the tooth...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Scandinavie
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK business hotel getting a bit long in the tooth...”
Reviewed 15 June 2009

This is a reasonably priced hotel right in the centre of Alesund. My room was a bit basic, lacking good finishing touches. It overlooked an office block/apartments on the other side of the road. I couldn't sleep with the window open because of road noise. The road wasn't busy but it was cobbled so every passing car was noisy!
The bathroom was OK, nothing spectacular. Watch out for the shower doors as they leak all over the floor!
Do not expect a full English breakfast: it's very continental.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Summary - if you are a budget traveller, this hotel gives all you need at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    86
    35
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
81
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I booked a superior room and got an attic room which was quite big, but with uninspired decor and NO view. Unless standing on the tip of your toe trying to look out.

Based on the room I was assigned I would not recommend this hotel to a friend. Other rooms might be better.

Otherwise, I agree with the other reviewers that service was friendly and helpful and the public areas was quite charming.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castricum
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Having already 4 stamps from previous stays in RICA hotels on our RICA Feriepass, we were entitled to get a free night in the next hotel, being Scandinavie in Alesund. We would stay there 3 nights. To our bewilderment we were booked in a very small attic room without any view, which clearly shows the risk of getting a room partly for free or with discount. The hotel regards you as a second-rate guest and puts you in the smallest room. I refused to accept this room, however, and I suppose the hotel was not fully booked since we got a superior room instead, a big difference with the first room. The hotel has high ceilings and a wooden floor which means that there can be some interior noise. However, the worst is the noise from the street since the windows are badly insulated. Being there on Saturday we could "enjoy" the singing and screaming of the Alesund pleasure seekers till early in the morning.

  • Liked — Central situation
  • Disliked — Noise from outside
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tureluur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. I booked through the Rica website and got a more favourable rate than booking through one of the hotel booking websites. My room was comfortable and pleasant, and the hotel is fairly well located, but without a view. The breakfast was very nice. Hotels in Norway are very expensive (as is everything) so this was reasonably priced for the quality of the hotel and room, which was a good size with nice bathroom. Everything was very clean. One thing that really made this hotel stand out for me is how nice the reception staff were. In particular, several days after leaving, I realised I had left a rather battered but much loved family photograph in my room. I emailed the hotel and they had kept it - they sent it to me and it arrived in the mail a few days later. A lot of hotels throw away whatever is left in the room, so I felt this was particularly thoughtful, and in line with the kind of service that the Reception gave when asking questions about restaurants, interesting things to see. To sum up, while not a remarkable hotel, it was clean, well-located, good value for money and had excellent staff.

Helpful?
Thank srjlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
292 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2007

While it's a couple of minutes away from the picturesque harbour, the Scandinavie is still in a central location in this small charming town. This grand hotel is one of the art nouveau buildings that rose from the ashes of Ålesund's great fire of 1905 and still has most of the original features in the public areas. One of the highlights is the splendid dining room where a good buffet is served at breakfast. There's free coffee available all day and free waffles from 5-9pm.

Our room (#316) at the front of the building was spotlessly clean, very spacious with a good-sized and extremely comfortable "Austrian double"-style bed, sofa, two chairs, TV and a well designed shower room.

The hotel has its own busy public bar (but no noise problem) and there's a reasonably priced Egon restaurant in the basement. The multi-level shopping centre is right next door. The Scandinavie is also very close to the town park from which you can make the 15-minute climb up to the Aksla lookout and marvel at the view over Ålesund and the surrounding islands.

  • Liked — Full of character, spacious and clean
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2006

This hotel is located very centrally in this small enough town - just a few minutes walk from the harbour where we landed. It's walking distance from everything!

The staff were friendly & helpful, and the hotel itself was lovely. Our room was a really good size and very comfortable - we had a sitting area (sofa, coffee table, a few chairs) as well as the bedroom part.

Breakfast was good - plenty of choice and tasty food.

We got a good value deal by booking direct with the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank IrishGirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2005

This is just a lovely art nouveau hotel built in 1905 after a fire raced through this small city built on Atlantic Coast islands. We were upgraded to an attractive junior suite .which was huge after lots of smallish Norwegian hotel rooms. The public rooms - especially the gorgeous art nouveau dining room- are very nice - and the hotel is well located next to a shopping complex. Breakfast is excellent- and the bus from the airport stops a half block away. The tourist office offers a terrific walking tour of the town at noon daily, which should not be missed.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joelmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#5 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#4 of 12 in Alesund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Scandinavie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Scandinavie

Property: Scandic Scandinavie
Address: Lovenvoldgata 8, Alesund 6002, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Scandinavie)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
#8 Business Hotel in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Scandinavie 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Scandinavie has the perfect location in the city centre of Ålesund. The hotel is a true piece of art, built in Ålesund's characteristic art noveau style in 1905. All our rooms were refurbished in 2015, and both you and your family will feel at home with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Scandinavie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Ålesund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing