We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Nearby Hotels
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scandic Parken(Alesund)(Great Value!)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
First Hotel Atlantica(Alesund)(Great Value!)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Alesund(Alesund)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
405
186
37
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
186
37
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflesfishlight dinnereach eveningsuperior roombeautiful hotelold buildingold styleincluded in the room priceparking garagewooden beamspleasant staysoupreception deskmodern designthe staff were friendly and helpfulcold meats
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We arrived in Alesund from the overnight ferry from Bergen at 9AM, and were able to immediately check in and were offered breakfast. The hotel is very charming, the first floor is as comfortable as a livingroom, with a large eating area, sofas, a TV and games. You can eat all three meals at the hotel for no cost, we enjoyed their breakfast and dinner (dinner in this case was meat patties, potatoes, soup, salad, bread, meats (including the usual cured fish selections), and cheeses). Beer and wine are available for purchase. Coffee and tea service are avaialble all day. Our room faced the eel canal, with floor to ceiling windows that opened fully for fresh air. The rooms could use updating, they are just a little worn, however that hardly detracted from the experience. Staff is also fantastic, front desk reception was super helpful and kind. Great choice.

Room Tip: request a room facing the canal. you'll pay a bit more, but its more than worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biztravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear guest,

It is very important for us to get feedback and we really appreciate you writing about us.
We always do our best for our guest and I am so glad you mention the early check in, evening food, coffee all day long and of course our staff at the front desk.

Thank you very much and you are very welcome back to all of us working at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.

Best regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed here twice in a week and we had two excellent stays! The hotel has an excellent location in the nice city and the food that is included (evening meal) is very good!

We can recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArveAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time writhing about us on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Remember that you are always welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.
Best regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This is a solid four star hotel that is very well located. I would recommend this hotel due to the excellent staff, clean rooms, and decent breakfast. The taxi from the train station was 150NKR but if you are in fairly decent shape, just walk the .75 miles through some wonderful shopping streets and along the historical quay. The most quiet rooms face the back service area but your room will lack the views and activities.

The train ride from Oslo to Bergen was exceptional and very relaxing after the 7 hour flight from the US. The SAS airport bus drops you off or picks you up right in front of the hotel drop off circle. Taxi (35 minutes) from the airport is 500NKR and the bus (45 minutes) is 100NKR per person.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel have no view but are quiet but the rooms with a view have street and quay boating noise. Take your choice but overall the place is worth visiting. There is a second elevator next to the stairway, so don't get stuck waiting for the main elevator next to the front desk.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much. Wish you a good day and welcome back.

Best regards
Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The hotel is 5 mins walk from the bus station or the Hurtigruten terminal and is right on the Eel canal. A warm welcome from reception. Room is basic but excellent value in expensive Norway. Good sized bathroom. The ground floor has two large lobby areas with excellent couches, games, TV etc and if you are catching a late ferry and have checked out you are welcomed to stay in this area. Luggage is also minded for you post check out. Waffles available - you make your own = from 4pm to 6pm and from 6pm to 9pm a light evening supper is available which is included in room rate. Breakfast is European with meats and cheeses and breads but there are boiled eggs available and some hot foods. We did not check out the relaxation areas. There is a good sized lift to rooms. An excellent dinner is available at Anno restaurant which is 1 min from hotel by the bridge.

Room Tip: Try to get a waterfront view
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Virginia3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear guest,
Warm thank you for taking time writing these good words about; our staff at the reception, value for money, lobby, waffles, breakfast and evening meal. It is also nice to see that you appreciate our location, which is close to everything.

Thank you again and welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.
Best regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed two nights, took hubby and ten yr old son on their first trip to Norway. Hotel great location, definitely the older part of town has the atmosphere, loads of history, did the golden triangle tour from here, what a great day out, magnificent. Know your itinerary though as you change buses, ferries etc. over the course of the day touring. The scenic lookout walk opposite hotel so well worth it, being summer I hiked it with a fellow traveller and new found Aussie friend at ten p.m. Photographers love it, the rich colors over the scenery at that time are spectacular. The hotel offers a great waffle happy hour, make your own and dig in! Most clarion chain hotels in Norway offer this (Trondheim and Bergen do). Not much more Norwegian than that! Tussen takk!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Mish113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your visit to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen. I am thrilled to read that you like the waffles and “waffle happy hour” was a really god word for it :-).
It is also satisfying to hear that you liked the atmosphere, history and the location.

Thank you again and you are very welcome back to us and our beautiful city, Ålesund.

Best regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews