We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a lovely superior room on the ground floor, despite being next to the main hub of the hotel it was very very;quiet with really nice views over the water. Stylish chairs in the room and a very clean and modern bathroom. It felt more like an apartment to be honest, but this was one of larger rooms you can get.

Reception were very helpful and friendly, even when we arrived very early for check in they had time to welcome us and offer us a coffee.

The free coffee and tea was much appreciated and the dinning room was a nice place to chill out during the day (hiding from the rain).

Breakfast was great and nice touch letting you fry your own eggs, good stuff.

Had a lovely time staying here, the building is lovely and in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichUK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Rich,

Thank you sir for the good words you are writing about us. I am happy because you appreciate the small things like for example the “fry your own eggs”. For us it is important to provide good service and to find the nice things that make the hotel stay a little different. Thank you again. Wish you a nice weekend and you are very welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.

Best Regards Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The location and the room was ok. However the breakfast was a turn off. Nobody cleaned the tables. After half an hour still most tables were covered with dirty plates. The selection and the quality of the breakfast was poor too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmirS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Amirs2
Thank you for taking time writing about us on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that the breakfast did not work out as expected. The tables are supposed to be cleaned more often. I am glad you liked the room and location. Wish you a nice day and welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.
Best Regards Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We loved this place. Our room was large, light, and comfortable, and the front desk staff was extraordinarily helpful. We wanted to rent a car for the next day, but the agency had already closed. We were quite anxious about this, and Christian at the front desk went out of his way to help us with phone calls, etc. Irene was also a gem, as were the others whose names I can't remember. The dinner buffet is billed as "light." It consists of one hot dish, which for two of our four nights was chicken and rice, and for the other two was some kind of sausage and potato dish. Then there was a generous spread of cold meat, cheese, and fish, and simple salad ingredients. Desert was always a fruit compote. It's not gourmet ( no arugula or mesclun greens), but every night we felt completely satisfied and we enjoyed its simplicity as an alternative to a normal (and expensive) dining out experience. It made the place feel like home. The breakfast buffet was abundant and tasty and one day included the best scrambled eggs I ever had. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: i think the rooms ending in 7, due to the configuration of the building, are bigger. Maybe more exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Leb123,
It is so amazing that you use your time writing these nice words about us on Tripadvisor. I appreciate it a lot and it is very good that you enjoyed yourself at our hotel. This is how it is suppose to be. Thank you very much. Wish you a nice day and you are very welcome back at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.

Best Regards Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Beauriful decoration, like museum.best location. personal service. food served breakfast and dinner coffe and tea is free 24/7. waffels are free afternoon . all together make this hotel the best we had during 14 nights all over Scandinavia

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yankorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Jankorina,

Thanks a lot for these good comments. I am so happy to read that we where the best hotel during 14 nights in Scandinavia. That is really good :-). Wish you all happiness and you are always welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen in Ålesund.

Best regards Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Very nice hotel with perfect location in Ålesund. The room was really nice; comfortable beds, big bathroom, nice interior design, clean and fresh. Breakfast was fresh and tasty and the evening meal (included in the price) was good, with a buffe and a warm dish.

The only thing that could be improved was the gym. It had old machines and it was messy, not so much space because of everything that they put in there.

But otherwise a good hotel, worth visiting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna_KIviniemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Hanna,

Thank you very much for taking time writing about us on Tripadvisor. It means a lot. It is good to read that you where happy with the service, bathroom, interior, breakfast and so on. Regarding the Gym I just went down and I will try to move things around a little. Thank you for telling.

Wish you a nice end of August and you are welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.

Best regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Unfortunately our first impression on the Clarion Bryygen was not a positive one. Being greeted with a 2-hour wait to check in after a long morning of travelling is not what you expect on arriving at a hotel.

After waiting 1hr, with no update, I asked reception if there was any indication of how much longer the wait would be, I was told “it’s a big room to clean” and would be another 30 minutes. It wasn’t until a further 1 hour (5pm) that we were given the key! The size of a room is irrelevant; if check in is stated as 3pm then you shouldn’t have to wait until 5pm to get into your room.

The hotel offers complimentary waffles in the afternoon. The problem is that you have to make the waffles yourself and there is only 1 waffle maker, which only makes one waffle at a time. Sitting in the lounge for 2 hours waiting for our room to be ready we saw that this resulted in queues at time. Guests were put off by having to wait 10-15 minutes and simply chose to leave.

We stayed in a large suite on the 5th floor, which had many windows showing many lovely views of Alesund. The room was spacious and light but in dire need of refurbishment. The wooden flooring in the living area is wearing away and the carpets in the bedroom and on the stairs look extremely grubby. The bedding and towels are of a 3 star quality and not what you’d expect in a 4 star hotel. The room is in need of an upgrade including the very old style television and minibar fridge. The sofa did look relatively new and clean. Other small things included; there were only 4 coat hangers in the wardrobe and although there was a kettle there were no cups in the room. I did pick some up from the dining area. Other 4 star hotels we’ve stayed in normally have an in room safe however this room did not.

The bathroom fittings looked fresher than the rest of the room although there were absolutely no extras that you expect from a 4 star hotel. I realise they are trying to be environmentally conscious by not providing individual bottles of shampoo and conditioner however I think they are just cutting costs by not providing such things as cotton pads/buds and moisturiser. The timer on the bathroom light needs adjusted as it switches off very quickly.

The gym was small but most of the equipment did look relatively modern and was of good quality.

The internet connection was fast and reliable but it was slightly annoying that the password is reset on a daily basis at 8am. Perhaps it would be better to reset it mid afternoon to give people a chance to be up and about. If like us you don’t always go down for breakfast and like to check business emails in the morning then it is slighty inconvenient. You have no choice but to get ready and go down for the new password or else phone reception every morning.

We found the breakfast to compare well with other Clarions we’ve stayed in, an ok choice. The breakfast room was very busy and so we only ate there once, another morning we simply took it back to our room as there was no seating available. We prefer to eat out and so we did not try the evening meal, however it did look very popular with guests.

Our first 2 nights were very peaceful and quiet however on our third night we could hear some noise from the room below us, talking and running around.

Compared to the warm welcome and friendly service we received from the staff at the Clarion Collection Folketeateret in Oslo, we were not impressed with the reception staff in Alesund. They were much less enthusiastic and nowhere near as professional and friendly. The girl in the breakfast room was much friendlier as were the cleaners I spoke with.

The hotel is in a very pretty and central location within Alesund.

Overall the hotel served a purpose and we had a pleasant enough stay. It is not a terrible hotel however if we returned to Alesund we would be inclined to try a different hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor for lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wooforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time writhing about us on Tripadvisor. I can see that you are happy with some things and not with others. We will of course work on the issues you mention. The most important thing is to give our guests a good hotel experience. I wish you the very best and you are always welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.
Best regards, Camilla Espesth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

An old fishing factory turned into a hotel by the waterfront, a cosy room at the basement with a small window and beautiful view, modern amenities inside, free serving of breakfast, snacks and dinner...all right at the heart of the city...it surprised us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skr410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear guest,
So nice to read that we surprised you and that you liked your stay with us. Enjoy the rest of the summer and you are always welcome back at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.
Best regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#7 of 12 in Alesund
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: Apotekergata 1-3, Alesund 6004, Norway (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen)
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alesund
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alesund
Price Range: £101 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Ålesund
Clarion Alesund
ålesund Clarion
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing