We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Our stay coincided with the Alesund food festival which meant we went round the food marquees trying out Norwegian food and not having to buy lunch !.

We had 2 nights here either side of the weekend,our first room was no.403 which was on harbour side of the hotel,it had a full length patio window with lovely views of the area.However the room is on an angle to the hotel and the shower is tiny,all the rooms ending in 03 are like this.Compare photos in other reviews

Our 2nd night was in room 301 which does not have the full length window but still has the lovely harbour views,as the room is at the end of the corridor you get much more space the room being L shaped,a very nice room with a full size shower.

A big disappointment was no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms,we Brits like a cup of tea when we wake up though hot drinks are available 24/7 in the dining room.

The staff were very helpful nothing being to much trouble.

This converted warehouse is very attractive inside and with a good buffet breakfast, free DIY waffles in the afternoon and free evening cold buffet with hot soup available as well.

Also the hotel has a free internet computer in the lobby and is also wi-fi enabled.There is also a comfortable TV lounge on the ground floor.Although there is not a bar alcoholic drinks are available from reception

Overall I would say this place has to be the best value in Alesund,we paid £246.00 for 2 nights.The clincher has to be the included food.

One final thing,if you intend to visit Norway bring plenty of money with you it is very very expensive ie.wine at £8.00 per glass and beer at roughly £9.00 per pint and room delivered pizza start at £17.00. up to £26.00.

  • Liked — location and value
  • Disliked — no tea or coffee making in the room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gollane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    169
    30
    11
    2
See reviews for
105
205
18
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We stayed here after a hot few days in a cramped apartment in Paris, and what bliss it was! We flew to Alesund from Paris and this was a great start to our week long trip around the western fjords on our first trip to Norway.
The room on our first night was on the first floor and looked over the street (not the harbour). It was spacious, clean and quiet.
We arived fairly late (getting the skybus from the 8pm plane into Alesund) but were able to get a bite to eat at their buffet (free for guests).
The heavy curtains kept the room dark for sleeping.
Breakfast comprised a pretty good buffet spread of cheese, meats, cereals, bread, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, baked beans, fruit, fruit juice, tea and coffee.
We stayed there again on our last night in Norway, but the room was downstairs a fair bit smaller than the the room on our first night. It looked over the harbour but as the window was only small it wasn't really a 'picture window'.
I booked on line for both nights at the same time but got very different rooms. The only difference in booking was that for the second night I chose the 'discounted if you pay now'. In hindsight it seems that the standard of the room was also discounted (that was my only issue with the hotel and it was a pretty small matter).

  • Liked — clean and quiet
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pc_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Am a bit surprised that The Bryggen is rated so highly on Trip Advisor. We had stayed in another Clarion hotel earlier in our Norway holiday: The Havnekontoret in Bergen and really liked it so we were anticipating something similar here. The Bryggen was ok. but so laid back it lost something in terms of atmosphere and service. We had come to appreciate the big plus of the Clarion hotels - the free light buffet each evening. On the first evening, the only warm food was tomato soup...but more disappointing than that, there seemed to be no staff clearing tables, so many were littered with used stuff. Whilst we were there all the tables ended up like this or in use, so one lady cleared away crockery and cutlery herself and went to find a cloth to wipe the table. This seemed to prompt some clearing up from a member of staff eventually. This was never the case in Bergen. The next two days were an improvement on this, it has to be said, but still the milk ran out ,as did coffee and some items of cutlery.
We were comfortable enough in our room and the laid back atmosphere does have its attraction but of the 5 hotels we stayed in during this trip, this was the one that disappointed a bit stemming from a casual approach that has tipped over into carelessness.
More positively, as with the others, I had e-mailed well ahead of time to ask for a room with a view, as this was our silver wedding trip and here they obliged with a harbour view. As we looked at the hotel from across the water, we could see that they had done very well for us; there aren't that many rooms with really good views, so we appreciated that.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JE-PE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

We only stayed one night hotel but we had a great experience. It has a great location. Staff are very friendly and helpful. After driving most of the day we were tired when we arrived, but were greeted with pleasant staff who told us where to park the car overnight ( a parking garage round the corner from the hotel, very handy) and then took ourselves down to the free light evening buffet, which had a vast selection. The hotel always have a special that day, and that night it was soup, on top of all the other food you could select from. I think they also offer free waffles in the afternoon however we were too late arriving to sample these. The room we had was very clean and very big, with two sinks in the bathroom, and although we didn't have a view at the front of the hotel onto the waterfront, our view was still very nice. Breakfast was wonderful too and the staff always keep everything well stocked up, so it doesn't matter if you arrive 5 minutes before breakfast ends, there is still the same amount of food available at all times. There is also free internet access in the large lobby area. All in all a great, central place to stay in Alesund, would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AJM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2008

What a lovely hotel. We stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed every moment. The food is gorgeous, the rooms fantastic, and i loved sitting in the airy lobby. Very central so easy to get to all the attractions.

  • Liked — The food!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JenniesCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

Worth staying for inclusive meal options alone as Norway is so expensive. Loved the old building and our room overlooked the harbour- fishermen came in to moor right outside our window. Bathroom is a bit dated and tired but overall an excellent visit. Staff friendly and free internet acess is a boon. You can walk everywhere and plenty of trips to go on too.

  • Liked — the harbour views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

Very nice stay, beautiful hotel with magic view over harbour. Fantastic central location with helpful staff. Nothing I could complain about and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank amacaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#5 of 12 in Alesund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#4 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.1 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: Apotekergata 1-3, Alesund 6004, Norway (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
#1 Business Hotel in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Ålesund
Clarion Alesund
ålesund Clarion
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing