We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant waterside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a pleasant centrally located hotel with plenty of character, overlooking the water. The staff are very helpful. Like all clarion collection hotels the B&B rate included a light buffet supper which was very useful. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We asked for a room on the water side of the hotel and the receptionist managed to find one which was good since there is plenty of nautical activity to watch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Joy070

Thanks a lot for taking time writhing about us. It is a pleasant to read that we took care of you, the food was good and that you could look at our beautiful water view. I myself get never tiered of watching boats sailing through “Brosundet”.

Wish you a beautiful summer in England and you are always welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotels in Norways, Sweeden, Danmark and the city Riga.

Best Regards, Camilla Espeseth, Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen in Ålesund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Friendly hotel in old harbour building. Perfect location in the middle of the city. Excellent service. Evening meal. Comfortable room, but the view from the room could have been better. Value for money

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Dag H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Dag,
Thank you. We appreciate a lot the good feedback from you. It is great to see that you enjoyed yourself with us. Wish you a happy summer time and you are always welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen in Ålesund.
Best Regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, the staff was very accommodating from the get go, allowing us to check in early, and also switching our room to a location furthest from the ongoing repairs in the street outside. When we couldn't find one of our keys during check out, the concierge made no fuzz over it and comforted us by saying that it is all a part of running a hotel.

The room was modern and practical, we had a slight problem with the faucet, being only able to get cold water, but this was going to be fixed when we told the concierge upon leaving, as well as a broken power chord we discovered while looking for the missing key. There is no minibar, but you can get wine (at an affordable price - 70 NOK pr glass) and other comforts at the reception desk.

The hotel uniquely offers both free waffels between 3 pm and 6 pm, and free supper between 6 pm and 9 pm. This is the first time we've experienced this and the hotel's book which we found in our room (and were welcome to take home if we wanted) explain that the hotel has a policy of redusing waste to a minimum, hence the supper, making the most out of leftovers. We tried it one night, and it was actually not bad, way better than the buffet we payed 445 NOK (pr. person!) for on hurtigruta the previous night!

It's close to town with a great view of city center across the cove. The hotel also has a small gym, free sunbeds and sauna.

The room was neat and clean (thank you chamber maid Venke), as are the common areas and the little garden facing the cove, complete with floating dock. You could also borrow a fishing pole if you wanted and try your luck out of the window, when getting a room facing the waterfront or out back.

Room Tip: If you get a waterfront room on the lower floors, you've hit the jackpot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorwegianChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear NorwegianChef,

Thanks a lot for saying so much good things about us and our hotel. I also really like that you noticed that we are trying to make a better world with doing as much as we can reducing waste to a minimum every day.
Wish you a beautiful summer and you are welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen

Best Regards Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here two nights. We had a beautiful room facing the marina/harbor. It was quite large with a queen bed, desk, sofa and bathroom with shower. The beds in Norway are very comfortable! They have a box spring with a small foam mattress and separate comforters. The shower had a lot of pressure and lots of hot water, very nice; you just have to get the hang of the shower enclosure and the shower head or you'll have water all over the floor. Also, as it was my first time in Europe, I had to get used to putting the room key in the place on the wall near the door to make the electricity work in the room. The location of the hotel is wonderful; you can walk everywhere downtown. There is a gym and sauna though we did not use them. There is an excellent restaurant with breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner included in your stay and the food is good! The typical Norwegian hotel breakfast has a cold buffet of cold cuts, pate, types of pickled fish, salmon, salads in addition to hot foods like little hot dog sausages, porridge, eggs, etc. Afternoon tea here is waffles you make yourself with sour cream, crushed fruit and brown cheese as optional add-ins.
The dinner buffet we had one night had excellent meatballs. Everyone here was very nice to us and the entire place was extremely clean. I'm really unsure as to the value as our room was paid for by a third party.

Room Tip: We stayed on the lower floor, one floor down from the lobby in a room looking out on the marina. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candy X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Candy,
Thank you very much for taking time to writhe all these details’ about our hotel on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed yourself and like our concept. Funny to read about the Norwegian “stuff”, which you are not used to. Wish you a nice summer and welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen in Ålesund.
Best Regards Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have stayed at bryggen on several occasions and it har always been a good experience. They offer a free evening buffet, you will find both gym and sauna in the basment. The rooms are not the most modern, but they are nice. The bathrooms have been refurbished during the last years. I will stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Tore,

Thank you very much for taking time recommending us on Tripadvisor. It means a lot to us that you have had a good time at hour hotel from doing exercise to eat a good Norwegian evening meal. Wish you a great Easter and you are very welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.

Med vennlig hilsen Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great people, excellent service with a smile thats real . Nice rooms with its own character. But some wear and tear sign so owner do not forget maintenance as your staff deserve it perfect

You really feel welcome

Bengt

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Bengt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Bengt,
Thank you very much! We love taking care of you and the rest of our guests because we have fun at work and we have the best guests in the world.

Best regards Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Amazing views of harbor and Aksla viewpoint. Room was so comfortable with great heating in February. Convenient location to museums and restaurants. Great breakfast, early evening waffles, and evening meal with lots of salad fixings and one hot dish. Easy going and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank SandyP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Sandy,

It is great to read your response, thank you very much. Wish you a beautiful day and welcome back to all of us working at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.

Best Regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#8 of 12 in Alesund
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: Apotekergata 1-3, Alesund 6004, Norway (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen)
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alesund
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
#1 Business Hotel in Alesund
Price Range: £101 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Ålesund
Clarion Alesund
ålesund Clarion
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing