We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This Nice hotel is over all my expectations. Great location, friendly service, very good food.
It made our trip very successfull. Surrounded by nice setting. Several activities, choose the sea safari, and go sea fishing. Dont forget to rent à car and visit the storfjord.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Faris010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you of all my heart. It is wounderful to read that it went over your expectations.
Wish you a wounderful August month and you are welcome back to CC Hotel Bryggen any time.
Best regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel combines historic character, with brilliant displays of shipping and fishing objects from when it was a warehouse, with a clever conversion into a modern hotel e.g. the bathroom was excellent. Staff were very helpful throughout, the mid-afternoon waffles and coffee much-appreciated; and the location is great beside the harbour and so close to museums and shops etc. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Norway.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank 470PaulT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for recommending us on Tripadvisor. It is very important that the hotel experience is good and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here.
Best regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Exceeded expectations. We stayed in room 104, and it would be worthwhile to call the hotel and ask for this room or one similar to it: one with a sliding patio door facing the water with 2 relaxing chairs. The view was perfect and allowed us to watch the boats and people on the canal. After a day of hiking in the nearby hills, our room with this great view was the perfect place to relax and enjoy a beer, which we kept cold in the mini-fridge. The hotel staff were friendly and worked hard to make our stay pleasant. The hotel director personally served coffee during breakfast and chatted with guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear John,
I appreciate a lot your feedback. Thank you!!. When you just mention the thing like I served coffee and that the staff work hard to do the best for the guest. Also glad that you got a room like 104 so you could enjoy the view of the boats and relax at the same time. Best of 8 hotel in Scandinavia is amazing feedback for us. Thank you again and wish you all good! Remember that you are always welcome back to us.
Best regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I can truly recommend this hotel. Excellent service and friendly staff. Feeling as being home. Great that food is included. I forgot my hat and the staff managed to mail it back which was very appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Magnus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thanks Magnus. It feels good to read the feedback from you. Wish you a nice august and you are always welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen in Ålesund.
Best regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a great place to stay in Alesund. The hotel has a very central location with lovely views over the water and towards Mount Aksla from some of the rooms / the breakfast room. As soon as I walked in I felt comfortable immediately. The public areas of the hotel are attractive and well designed with nice lounge/seating areas and a bright and airy breakfast room. We had booked a superior twin which was very spacious with a lovely seating area overlooking the water (so we could watch the boats come and go) and a good bathroom with a big walk-in shower. We were on the 5th floor and the room was really quiet too. The breakfast buffet was good and the extra's that the hotel provide at no extra charge - tea & coffee and fresh fruit all day, fresh waffles in the afternoon and an evening buffet - were great and make the hotel good value for money - especially for Norway. If you had a room on the lower floors over the water you could even borrow a fishing rod and fish from your room! Apart from all of the above one of the things that make this hotel so good is the staff. Everyone is really helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel manager and all of her team really do make you feel welcome here. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I went back to Alesund and based on my experience here I would definitely book a Clarion hotel elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Queenie023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Queenie!
Thank you my dearest guest. It is such a pleasure to read your comments. It is very important for us that the hotel experience at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen is a little different compare to other hotels. My staff and me try to do the little extras just by being our self’s. I am glad you enjoyed it and you are always welcome back!
Best regards Camilla, the hotel manager :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel has a very nice interior design, great location and is very clean. In addition, it feels very hospitable: the staff is nice and helpful and the free meals since morning till night are a big advantage. I have never enjoyed my stay so much in any other hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Petra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Petra,
Thank you. Youre feedback means a lot to the staff, the hotel and me. I kind of do not have words when I read your last sentence. I am lucky to be the manager in this hotel and I am lucky to have guests like you. Thank you again and you are always welcome back.
Best regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I really can't think of anything they could improve on. The staff were all super helpful and friendly, the location is excellent, and the room was very good. The breakfast was great, and the best thing was the free supper. It wasn't really just a supper, we used it as our dinner. There was lovely fresh bread, lots of salad ingredients, and a hot dish. I would go out of my way to stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_plus_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking time giving us such a good review. It is great to read that you enjoyed us and the whole hotel. Thank you again. Wish you a very good summer and welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.

Best Regards Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#7 of 12 in Alesund
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: Apotekergata 1-3, Alesund 6004, Norway (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen)
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alesund
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alesund
Price Range: £101 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Ålesund
Clarion Alesund
ålesund Clarion
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing