We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
Alicante, Spain
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very good value for money. The hotel is a converted salting and curing warehouse whose character has been retained making it a charming hotel. It is located in the centre of the town amidst beautiful Art Deco style buildings which were built in 3 years following the destruction of Aalesund in 1904.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Valthu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time giving us feedback. Lovely to read your description about us. Thank you again and welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.
Best regards, Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    176
    36
    14
    4
See reviews for
116
227
22
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel is one the best we experienced while staying in Norway. It is very well located, the rooms are quiet and very comfortable - our had a nice view on the marina - and the service is very good. The hotel includes a fitness room and sauna. For the price you have breakfast included, but also waffles in the afternoon and a light meal in the evening. The only problem is parking which is not included : there is a public park area near the hotel, but is is quite small and crowdy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caramia00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Caramia,
Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. Glad to se that CC Hotel Bryggen was one of the best Experience. That is amazing and we are very happy that you had such a good time here. Wish you a nice weekend and welcome back to Ålesund.
Best regards Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We got rooms with a view towards the water which was totally worth it. If you can upgrade I would recommend it.

Like most clarion hotels the lobby and restaurant is pretty nice but the rooms are impersonal and rather dull. In this particular hotel it was compensated by the architecture, it was actually pretty cool how they kept some details from the old building while renovating.

Overall the hotel was pretty standard, typical chain but of decent quality.

What made this a four rather than a three was the location and the architecture. While walking around in alesund we saw the other hotels we were thinking of and we are very happy with choosing this, I would recommend it for anyone going to alesund.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank globe109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,
I am glad for your recommendation, even though you did not like the interior so much.
It is great that you liked the architecture. This was an originally a ware house where the main production was clipfish, but I guess you have control:-).
Wish you a nice August and welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen in Ålesund.
Best regards, Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Location is the best. Staff is smiling and helpful.
Possibility to have food almost all day for free! First time I see this, great idea.
On the downside, some of the room furniture is old (couch, stained curtains)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank DeVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for giving us feedback. Some of our furniture are getting old. Hopefully it will be changes soon. I am glad you appreciated the staff, food and location. Wish you all good and welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.
Best regards, Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had a lovely stay at this hotel, which has a unique location by the seaside in Ålesund. Wonderful, smiling and helpful staff really made this stay a great one!
Both bedrooms and lobby/lounge are very nicely decorated and are kept very tidy and clean.
The hotel also serves a lovely breakfast, waffles during mid-day and a hot afternoon/evening meal which is very tasty.
Will definitely stay here again when in Ålesund next time and will recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Haakon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Haakon,
Thank you for your recommendation. It is a pleasure to have guests like you. Thank you again and see you next time you are in Ålesund.
Best regards, Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This Nice hotel is over all my expectations. Great location, friendly service, very good food.
It made our trip very successfull. Surrounded by nice setting. Several activities, choose the sea safari, and go sea fishing. Dont forget to rent à car and visit the storfjord.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faris010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you of all my heart. It is wounderful to read that it went over your expectations.
Wish you a wounderful August month and you are welcome back to CC Hotel Bryggen any time.
Best regards, Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel combines historic character, with brilliant displays of shipping and fishing objects from when it was a warehouse, with a clever conversion into a modern hotel e.g. the bathroom was excellent. Staff were very helpful throughout, the mid-afternoon waffles and coffee much-appreciated; and the location is great beside the harbour and so close to museums and shops etc. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Norway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 470PaulT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for recommending us on Tripadvisor. It is very important that the hotel experience is good and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here.
Best regards, Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.1 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#8 of 12 in Alesund
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: Apotekergata 1-3, Alesund 6004, Norway (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
#1 Business Hotel in Alesund
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Ålesund
Clarion Alesund
ålesund Clarion
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing