We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomodation!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Basic accomodation!!”
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Stayed here for one night. This hotel is basic norwegian hotel. Small bed, small TV, small towels etc. If I was staying here for Busniess alone I would be quite dissapointed to spend the evening in the room. Old bathrooms but it looks like they are in the process of updating them. unfortunately there are not many alternatives that are any better in this city, supposedly with one exeption rated #1 here, but I have never tried it. Its a place to sleep nothing more

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    176
    36
    14
    4
See reviews for
116
226
21
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Busan, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

An attractive looking hotel from the exterior with a prime position accross from the harbour, this hotel did not deliver according to my expecatations. The price paid of over 1200 kr per night lead me to think that this would be a better experience than it actually was. Bathrooms are tatty (renovation work ongoing in 2009) and the room had a stale slightly smoky smell even though it was a non-smoking room. The single bed was quite soft and very narrow. Biggest disappointment was the breakfast buffet which was very scaled down compared to the other Ålesund hotels and if you wanted fried eggs, you had to cook it yourself.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We stayed at the Clarion Collection Bryggen one night. We had a "family room" on the river side so it was relatively quite (none of that terrible bar noise). The bathroom was dirty. The staff at the reception desk was not very understanding with respect to the cleanliness issue -- very disappointing. Also, we arrived by car and there was no parking by the hotel when we got there (there are perhaps 5-6 parking spots for the whole hotel!!). There was no street parking due to this being Friday late at night. The reception staff was not very helpful in finding us a spot somewhere. Definitely not the kind of service you expect for 1500 NOK (when a better hotel in Trondheim cost 1100 NOK). You probably mostly pay for the great location -- right in the middle of old Alesund.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianEh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend. Unfortunately we were given a room facing the street in front of the hotel and that is also why the rating is only average. Because the room was facing the cobbled street it was very noisy when cars/busses were passing. However, the worst was the live bar on the other side of small cobbled street. The music seemed to never end at night and even with our windows closed it felt like there was a rock concert in our room.

Also be aware that the hotel does not have reserved parking for the guests. There is limited parking around and it is also very expensive. There is a small parking house that the hotel recommends when checking in. The rate pr hour is 12 NOK or 120 NOK for 24 hours.

So what is good with this hotel?

1. The location: the hotel is located in a nice area of town
2. The comfortable beds
3. The size of the rooms and the bath rooms
4. The free waffles you can make yourself in the afternoon
5. The free cold selection of food at night
6. The heating of the bathroom floor that you can adjust yourself

My parents were also staying in the hotel the same weekend and they made a complaint about the noise outside their room so they were offered to move to a riverside room the second night. Smart move.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pippi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Our stay coincided with the Alesund food festival which meant we went round the food marquees trying out Norwegian food and not having to buy lunch !.

We had 2 nights here either side of the weekend,our first room was no.403 which was on harbour side of the hotel,it had a full length patio window with lovely views of the area.However the room is on an angle to the hotel and the shower is tiny,all the rooms ending in 03 are like this.Compare photos in other reviews

Our 2nd night was in room 301 which does not have the full length window but still has the lovely harbour views,as the room is at the end of the corridor you get much more space the room being L shaped,a very nice room with a full size shower.

A big disappointment was no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms,we Brits like a cup of tea when we wake up though hot drinks are available 24/7 in the dining room.

The staff were very helpful nothing being to much trouble.

This converted warehouse is very attractive inside and with a good buffet breakfast, free DIY waffles in the afternoon and free evening cold buffet with hot soup available as well.

Also the hotel has a free internet computer in the lobby and is also wi-fi enabled.There is also a comfortable TV lounge on the ground floor.Although there is not a bar alcoholic drinks are available from reception

Overall I would say this place has to be the best value in Alesund,we paid £246.00 for 2 nights.The clincher has to be the included food.

One final thing,if you intend to visit Norway bring plenty of money with you it is very very expensive ie.wine at £8.00 per glass and beer at roughly £9.00 per pint and room delivered pizza start at £17.00. up to £26.00.

  • Liked — location and value
  • Disliked — no tea or coffee making in the room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gollane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We stayed here after a hot few days in a cramped apartment in Paris, and what bliss it was! We flew to Alesund from Paris and this was a great start to our week long trip around the western fjords on our first trip to Norway.
The room on our first night was on the first floor and looked over the street (not the harbour). It was spacious, clean and quiet.
We arived fairly late (getting the skybus from the 8pm plane into Alesund) but were able to get a bite to eat at their buffet (free for guests).
The heavy curtains kept the room dark for sleeping.
Breakfast comprised a pretty good buffet spread of cheese, meats, cereals, bread, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, baked beans, fruit, fruit juice, tea and coffee.
We stayed there again on our last night in Norway, but the room was downstairs a fair bit smaller than the the room on our first night. It looked over the harbour but as the window was only small it wasn't really a 'picture window'.
I booked on line for both nights at the same time but got very different rooms. The only difference in booking was that for the second night I chose the 'discounted if you pay now'. In hindsight it seems that the standard of the room was also discounted (that was my only issue with the hotel and it was a pretty small matter).

  • Liked — clean and quiet
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pc_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Am a bit surprised that The Bryggen is rated so highly on Trip Advisor. We had stayed in another Clarion hotel earlier in our Norway holiday: The Havnekontoret in Bergen and really liked it so we were anticipating something similar here. The Bryggen was ok. but so laid back it lost something in terms of atmosphere and service. We had come to appreciate the big plus of the Clarion hotels - the free light buffet each evening. On the first evening, the only warm food was tomato soup...but more disappointing than that, there seemed to be no staff clearing tables, so many were littered with used stuff. Whilst we were there all the tables ended up like this or in use, so one lady cleared away crockery and cutlery herself and went to find a cloth to wipe the table. This seemed to prompt some clearing up from a member of staff eventually. This was never the case in Bergen. The next two days were an improvement on this, it has to be said, but still the milk ran out ,as did coffee and some items of cutlery.
We were comfortable enough in our room and the laid back atmosphere does have its attraction but of the 5 hotels we stayed in during this trip, this was the one that disappointed a bit stemming from a casual approach that has tipped over into carelessness.
More positively, as with the others, I had e-mailed well ahead of time to ask for a room with a view, as this was our silver wedding trip and here they obliged with a harbour view. As we looked at the hotel from across the water, we could see that they had done very well for us; there aren't that many rooms with really good views, so we appreciated that.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JE-PE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.1 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#8 of 12 in Alesund
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: Apotekergata 1-3, Alesund 6004, Norway (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alesund
#1 Business Hotel in Alesund
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Ålesund
Clarion Alesund
ålesund Clarion
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing