We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite there yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Rochester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not quite there yet”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed for three nights.Our room had no storage ,cupboards.drawers or wardrobe.We asked at the desk for hangers as there was an empty rail.The receptionist said "It is good to know that,some rooms need these things."Bizarrely there was an iron and ironing board! In the restaurant we were served with a dessert described as Italian fruit soup with currant marmalade and vanilla ice.When it arrived it was the remains of the melon from breakfast with lemon sorbet.Very fresh but not as described and not worth the 119 Kr The waiter did reduce the price to 75Kr when we complained.This hotel is excellent for disabled travellers

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Dear Jill!
We have indeed had quite a few challenges opening our brand new hotel during summer season. We were not able to complete all rooms with the necessary equipment in time, and the wardrobes were actually missing until last week due to late deliviery from abroad. I could not read from your review in which room you stayed, but surely this was one of them. However there is no excuse for the receptionist`most uncomitted answer to your need of hangers. We do have a lot of spare hangers and the personell should have supplied you with such. When it comes to the dessert,
we are happy to hear that you got a reduction as this obviously did not keep what was promised.
I am also happy to read your remark about this hotel being excellent for disabled travellers, since this is one of our primary focuses in this opening phase. 20% of our rooms are socalled multifunctional rooms and the response has been very positive. Thank you very much for the review, this helps us to be even better.

Yours sincerely
Aina Bakke Aalen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    241
    98
    34
    9
See reviews for
75
205
18
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Checkin was fast and friendly. As usual asked for a quiete room which supposedly was given me.

Got upgrade to rather large room which was very nice. However, heater made a terrible noice for two minute every 20-30 minutes ! Tried to shut down heater, but this was not possible.

Went down to the reception and explained the problem. Apperantly I was not the first guest complaining about this. Solution was to give me another room and hoping that this room was noice free. And it indeed was, but only until 05.30 a.m. Then the heater started to make a terrible noice keeping me awake rest to the morning.

This hotel open about one month ago and it is clear that they still have a lot of start up problems.

WIFI was free and working well.

Breakfast was standard norwegian suiting my needs. However, I did not like at all that there was no selection of fresh fruit except of watermelon.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustaPekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Dear Guest!
We are the first ones to admit having had some challenges in this opening phase, especially when it comes to technical matters. Visiting a brand new hotel as a guest, one expects the room to be in a perfect state, and the disapointment gets even bigger when problems occur. The noice from the heaters was indeed such a problem, that nobody new of in advance and obviously occured in different rooms all over the hotel. We can assure everyone intending to visit our splendid hotel, that this has now been taken care of. Thank you very much for your review, and we hope to see you agian some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

the hotel have lots og different rooms since it is situated partly in a old building. I would recomend to ask for oceanview room. In our room there were no hangers or anything to hang your coat on, except the chairs. They startet drilling in the room next door at 0730 in the morning, a bit too early in our summer holiday.
We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant, the food was great, and also the childrens menu was great, the service was a bit slow but very friendly.

This will be a great hotel once all the bits and pieces are in order.

Room Tip: reguest a oceanview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenabergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This brand new hotel is recommended.
They start out as all hotels do when they open - no towels in the room,problems with door locks, a kind request to the reception for a set of towels are just not adhered to and one staff member in the restaurant with a slightly arrogant attitude. (Making the choice easy to dine outside of the hotel.)
All in all just as expected when newly open and I am sure all this will be corrected in due course.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Norberg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.3 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#4 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#5 of 12 in Alesund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund

Property: Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Address: Nedre Strandgate 25-27, Alesund 6004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing