We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of Quality and Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Pluses: Rooms, bathrooms, restaurant, lobby, and everywhere else in the hotel is kept to a standard of immaculate cleanliness worthy of the Mayo Clinic Open Heart Surgery Room. FIVE computers for guests to check email for free. Delicious, highly diverse breakfast buffet included in room price. Room (I stayed in 237) blissfully quiet -- I never heard a single noise from another room, nor from the hall, nor from the elevators, nor from the street. Superbly helpful and courteous staff, all fluent in English (and I daresay many other languages besides Norwegian). Room of only moderate size by US standards, but seems more spacious due to the Scandinavian genius for efficient use of space. Hot water in shower is hot almost instantly -- no wasting water. Comfortable bed with firm mattress. Hotel can accommodate moderate-size business meetings. Location convenient (easy walking distance) to museums, bus station, grocery, bank, a beautiful historic church, and post office.
Small improvements I suggest: Window curtains have gaps -- and this time of year, there is little night! Guests can bring a couple of clothespins. Thermostat light too bright at night (I draped a piece of paper over it). The four (of the five) computers in the window by the front door are hard to use on sunny mornings (a sunscreen for the window).

Room Tip: Views are lovely -- lovelier on higher floors (5th is highest). No swimming pool -- ignore that rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EJW8191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear EJW8191,
We sincerely thank you for the nice and detailed review from your stay at Quality Hotel Waterfront this summer; this is extremely helpful to us in improving our service and quality of deliverance. I am especially happy you mentioning the cleanliness and quietness in the building and describing the location close to everything you need as a visitor. The improvements suggested are useful to us and if possible, we will certainly do something about this.
Thank you again and welcome back to the Waterfront!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Friendly staff/ Nice size room (was a single traveler) with nice appointments (love the female mural over the bed- my mistress for the duration of the stay) amazing view in west-facing room:harbor views/ mountains. Ample selection in restaurant every morning. Nice appointments through out hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Earthling71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This hotel is very nice - and rooms is of a rather high standard. It is a nearly new hotel, with seaview. And it is in the very city center of Aalesund.
Staff is nice and service minded.
If one arrive with car,the challenge is the parking.
If one choose the hotel garage at the other end of the large building,one easily will get trapped into all kinds of technological advances. Buttons one are supposes to press are not working, and the ones that are working are to the private apartments.
So allow sufficient time to get in and out of the parking area.
Rain combined with strong winds is usual in Aalesund. One should not harbor any ambitions to leave or enter the garage area inside the hotel. Find a way out - one way or another - and go around the whole building.
Best solution might be - if arrive Aalesund by car - choose another hotel.
Breakfast in this hotel is very nice - plenty of choices.

Room Tip: Just ask - they usually are so smart that they will upgrade you to a best possible room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norberg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, General Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Norberg11,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. I hope that our modern facilities, delicious breakfast, location and seaview helped make your stay
in Ålesund a pleasant one!
I am sorry you found our parking arrangement a challenge, and we are aware that there are some issues concerning the lack of clear signs showing the way from the garage to the hotel. We are currently working on sorting this out.
The reason the door that leads you to the hotel closes in the evenings is that the parking garage is, as you correctly mention, connected to private apartments and office buildings as well as to the hotel. There is, however, a call button you can press to get in touch with the front desk, and someone will come to open the door for you.

Once again, thank you so much for your review - we hope to see you again here at the Waterfront!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Very friendly and helpful people at the reception, very nice design for the hotel and the common rooms (breakfast etc...), a comfortable day during a snow storm!
We have especially appreciated - during the snow storm - the friendly possibility to keep our room for a few extra hours before embarking on hurtigruta. A minor negative comment on the overimposing picture occupying a full wall of the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EuropeeriOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This hotel is excellent value for money. The room was really quiet, you can't hear noise from the hallway etc. And the bed was comfortable, so I slept like a baby.

The hotel has free wifi, and the rooms have the necessary amenities like a large tv, minibar (expensive), iron and ironing board, hair dryer etc. Only thing missing was a kettle/water boiler, which I really like to have in a hotel room.

Breakfast buffet was included in the price and was actually quite nice.

One word of advice: when you leave your room, you have to lock your door with your key-card. It was written in small print on the card, but I didn't notice the first day, so I guess my door was open while I was away.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Travelinclination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Went to a training day in the hotels conference centre and have no grumbles whatsoever. We were facing the river and mountain back drop, during breaks there was a selection of teas, coffee etc and also popcorn and ice cream! Lunch was part of the deal and was a buffet where there was a large choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osullivanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This is a beautiful small hotel modern hotel on the waterfront close to the city centre. The reception staff were both corteous and helpful, the rooms were good and the fish soup in the restaurant very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanG1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#7 of 12 in Alesund
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#8 of 12 in Alesund
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund

Address: Nedre Strandgate 25-27, Alesund 6004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price Range: £91 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing