We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Customer service was great, the hotel looks great, and nice location, with nice view from the room. It has big Mac's computers for guests to use for free - BIG plus!
On the down side, the room was not all that nice, dust in the corners, the mini bar was messy (not tidy), the soap in the bathroom did not hang on the wall as it was supposed to, and the 'make up' mirror was placed in the corner by the toilet and the shower, so it was difficult to use it. The window was built out of the room wall, which made it possible to see the sea, but it also made alot of noise when it was raining, not nice when you try to sleep. Also, the exercise room did not have 'all' the equipment the hotel says that it has, and the restaurant makes the lower level and 1st level smell of sea food...

But all in all, it was a good hotel - worth booking a stay here. =)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyCeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, General Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear LadyCeci,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your review.
I am very happy to hear that you found our customer service great, and that you could enjoy a nice view from your hotel room. I am also glad you like the hotel's look and location - right in the middle of Ålesund's art noveau part of town.

On the other hand, I am sorry to hear that your room wasn't cleaned properly. Cleanliness is definitely a top priority of ours, and the way you experienced your room is not how we aim to present it.

As you mention, the window in your room is built out of the wall, and this is to give the best possible sea view to as many rooms as possible. I must admit that this is the first time I've heard about the rain making so much noise against the materials these bay windows are made of, so I suspect that it was raining very heavily. If you ever come back to Ålesund, and we're expecting heavy rain - please give us a head's up so we can offer you another room.

I will definitely look into the status regarding the gym equipment. When it comes to the sea-food smell on the lower and 1st floor, this is something we know can occur from time to time - and we're working on finding a solution to this issue.

Thanks again for your detailed review, and welcome back to the Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    238
    97
    32
    9
See reviews for
75
201
17
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Pluses: Rooms, bathrooms, restaurant, lobby, and everywhere else in the hotel is kept to a standard of immaculate cleanliness worthy of the Mayo Clinic Open Heart Surgery Room. FIVE computers for guests to check email for free. Delicious, highly diverse breakfast buffet included in room price. Room (I stayed in 237) blissfully quiet -- I never heard a single noise from another room, nor from the hall, nor from the elevators, nor from the street. Superbly helpful and courteous staff, all fluent in English (and I daresay many other languages besides Norwegian). Room of only moderate size by US standards, but seems more spacious due to the Scandinavian genius for efficient use of space. Hot water in shower is hot almost instantly -- no wasting water. Comfortable bed with firm mattress. Hotel can accommodate moderate-size business meetings. Location convenient (easy walking distance) to museums, bus station, grocery, bank, a beautiful historic church, and post office.
Small improvements I suggest: Window curtains have gaps -- and this time of year, there is little night! Guests can bring a couple of clothespins. Thermostat light too bright at night (I draped a piece of paper over it). The four (of the five) computers in the window by the front door are hard to use on sunny mornings (a sunscreen for the window).

Room Tip: Views are lovely -- lovelier on higher floors (5th is highest). No swimming pool -- ignore that rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EJW8191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear EJW8191,
We sincerely thank you for the nice and detailed review from your stay at Quality Hotel Waterfront this summer; this is extremely helpful to us in improving our service and quality of deliverance. I am especially happy you mentioning the cleanliness and quietness in the building and describing the location close to everything you need as a visitor. The improvements suggested are useful to us and if possible, we will certainly do something about this.
Thank you again and welcome back to the Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Friendly staff/ Nice size room (was a single traveler) with nice appointments (love the female mural over the bed- my mistress for the duration of the stay) amazing view in west-facing room:harbor views/ mountains. Ample selection in restaurant every morning. Nice appointments through out hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Earthling71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

This hotel is very nice - and rooms is of a rather high standard. It is a nearly new hotel, with seaview. And it is in the very city center of Aalesund.
Staff is nice and service minded.
If one arrive with car,the challenge is the parking.
If one choose the hotel garage at the other end of the large building,one easily will get trapped into all kinds of technological advances. Buttons one are supposes to press are not working, and the ones that are working are to the private apartments.
So allow sufficient time to get in and out of the parking area.
Rain combined with strong winds is usual in Aalesund. One should not harbor any ambitions to leave or enter the garage area inside the hotel. Find a way out - one way or another - and go around the whole building.
Best solution might be - if arrive Aalesund by car - choose another hotel.
Breakfast in this hotel is very nice - plenty of choices.

Room Tip: Just ask - they usually are so smart that they will upgrade you to a best possible room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norberg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, General Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Norberg11,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. I hope that our modern facilities, delicious breakfast, location and seaview helped make your stay
in Ålesund a pleasant one!
I am sorry you found our parking arrangement a challenge, and we are aware that there are some issues concerning the lack of clear signs showing the way from the garage to the hotel. We are currently working on sorting this out.
The reason the door that leads you to the hotel closes in the evenings is that the parking garage is, as you correctly mention, connected to private apartments and office buildings as well as to the hotel. There is, however, a call button you can press to get in touch with the front desk, and someone will come to open the door for you.

Once again, thank you so much for your review - we hope to see you again here at the Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Very friendly and helpful people at the reception, very nice design for the hotel and the common rooms (breakfast etc...), a comfortable day during a snow storm!
We have especially appreciated - during the snow storm - the friendly possibility to keep our room for a few extra hours before embarking on hurtigruta. A minor negative comment on the overimposing picture occupying a full wall of the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EuropeeriOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torshavn, Faroe Islands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is excellent value for money. The room was really quiet, you can't hear noise from the hallway etc. And the bed was comfortable, so I slept like a baby.

The hotel has free wifi, and the rooms have the necessary amenities like a large tv, minibar (expensive), iron and ironing board, hair dryer etc. Only thing missing was a kettle/water boiler, which I really like to have in a hotel room.

Breakfast buffet was included in the price and was actually quite nice.

One word of advice: when you leave your room, you have to lock your door with your key-card. It was written in small print on the card, but I didn't notice the first day, so I guess my door was open while I was away.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinclination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Went to a training day in the hotels conference centre and have no grumbles whatsoever. We were facing the river and mountain back drop, during breaks there was a selection of teas, coffee etc and also popcorn and ice cream! Lunch was part of the deal and was a buffet where there was a large choice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osullivanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen
0.3 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#4 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#5 of 12 in Alesund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund

Property: Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Address: Nedre Strandgate 25-27, Alesund 6004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Nordic Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing