We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a good hotel in the centre of Ålesund.

This is a great find for any trip to Ålesund, the staff are fantastic, I was warmly welcomed by Yvonne, who was very helpful throughout my 2 night stay.

Rooms are good, I had booked a superior room, with King Bed. The room was clean & had everything needed, unforunately this room had seen the affects of water damage, I can only assume from windows not being closed by guests. This had caused the floor close to the window to lift & pieces where missing. Not a big problem & does not effect the function of the room.

The only other negative here was that we had a blocked drain, which we did bring to the attention of staff, however after jumping in the shower late at night it had not been fixed, by this time I couldn't be bothered to call again as I was ready for bed.

He restaurant was fantastic, enjoyed the Al a carte menu, and the food was to die for & presentation top notch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aus_Trav_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest!
This is so exciting for us to read! I have already told Yvonne about your comment on the staff and her especially, she is delighted. When it comes to the room, you are absolutely right about there having been a water leakage quite recently and we are still waiting for the case to be settled. We will of course try to solve this as soon as possible, as this room is wonderful with the view and space. We are awfully sorry about the blocked drain, this should have been mended right away. Thank you again for the positive and nice review and we hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    243
    99
    35
    10
See reviews for
77
206
18
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Great hotel, really enjoyed my stay. It's newly renovationed and a short distance to the town centre. Good breakfast and resturant. Good views, right beside the landing place for Hurtiruter. Clean, tidy with a modern interior and lovely conference facillities.
Ideal base for exploring Ålesund.

Room Tip: There is one wing of rooms which dont have windows directly to the outside but onto a glass korridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_MAC_Fraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear J_MAC_Fraser,

Thank you so much for giving us feedback regarding your stay with us. We highly appreciate it!
We are very glad to hear that you are satisfied with our facilities, and that you enjoyed our restaurant. The view from the rooms is spectacular, both in good and bad weather!
Regarding the room tips you left, the hotel was originally planned to be a Comfort Hotel, without a conference department. So the hallway you are talking about was built after the rooms with windows facing the hallway were. These rooms are seldom in use, but are highly appreciated by guests who would like a quiet room when the conference department is shut down for the summer.

Once again, thanks so much for your review, and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The highlight of this property is the staff! The reception staff were incredibly welcoming (not a given in Norway), and went out of their way to assist during our stay. Other staff were voluntarily engaging and happily assisted at any opportunity.

Rooms are modern and clean, wifi great, and the restaurant was fantastic. Hotel is located centrally and within walking of all town facilities and sites.

Parking is connected to hotel, but an extra charge (150NK / day). In- room information is excellent.

Some minor maintenance issues with our room .... Overcome by helpful staff and prompt attention. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zenmanHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear ZenmanHB,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback!
We are very glad to hear that you are satisfied with the service provided by the staff and that we could help you when you needed assistance. This is however, something we think our guests can expect when staying at Quality Hotel Waterfront!

Even though you had some minor maintenance issues with your room, I am happy that this was resolved quickly, and that you were otherwise happy with the facilities provided.

Thanks so much for your recommendation, and welcome back the next time you’re in Ålesund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Nice hotell in central Ålesund. Norwegian prices (incl. parking), but Nice room and friendly staff. Roomservice (cleaning and refill of the minibar could be better).

Food was good, nice breakfast. Good place to stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank TElg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear TElg78,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review.
I am very happy to see that you like our hotel, and that you liked your room. I am also grateful for the comment about the minibar and cleaning, as this gives us the chance to improve regarding those issues.

Thank you, and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessheim, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Have been in this Hotel before, and choose it again because of simplicity.
Simple booking and check in. Quite clean, Everything you need in the room for a good night sleep, but nothing fancy. And of course good service by staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Daniel A.,

thanks so much for taking the time to give us your opinion!
I am very happy that you returned to us, and we're looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansund
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Ordered superior room, but because we brought a dog, we had to switch rooms when we got there. Uncertain if the room we got was actually superior sized, as it got at bit cramped when they brought the extra bed we had requested. Dogs allowed is a large plus. Average hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Rune A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Rune,
Thank you for the positive review from your stay at our hotel in may. We are in fact one of few hotels in Ålesund that accept pets in the room. This of course only applies to certain rooms, and normally not in the category of upgraded rooms. That is the reason why you got a rather small superior room with a view as selling point and not the size. We are sorry about the inconvenience this might have caused with the extra bed. We do have rooms that would suit you perfectly, space and view at the same time, and even with a pet, but I know for sure that these were already taken this weekend, due to the big Dogs Exhibition at Sparebanken Møre Arena. If you call the hotel in advance, we will do our best to meet your expectations next time. Thank you again and welcome back to The Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My stay was very nice, the room's were lovely and the restaurant was very good..! food was served in a timely manor, but the bar staff were fantastic, Jelena was always there when ever she was needed and always smiling :) ... great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Chris,
Thank you for the nice and positive respond to the stay at our hotel. I am especially happy about the nice comments on Jelena, and I will forward the message. Thank you again and welcome back to The Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#4 of 12 in Alesund
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#5 of 12 in Alesund
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund

Property: Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Address: Nedre Strandgate 25-27, Alesund 6004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing