We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant & Modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A very pleasant & Modern hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel sits on the waterfront , and one can hear and see cruise ships coming and going. The hotel has an Alesund art nouveau main building with a newer section which was added. There is covered parking for which we were luck not to pay since something did not work and it was free. Alesund is a beatiful city and the hotel is 5 minutes from the center.
The various parts of the city are connected via underwater tunnels (free) in which you can drive to very nice Islands and coasts. d

Room Tip: Waterfront room is nice but costs more. All rooms have view to the waterfron (though limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shloime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Shloime,

Thanks for taking the time to reviewing our hotel!

I am very happy to read that you had a nice stay.
Welcome back next time you're in Ålesund!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    237
    97
    32
    9
See reviews for
74
201
17
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Comfortable place at the waterfront (as the name suggests), modern furnishings and all the ammenties you would expect from a quality hotel nowedays. Rooms are spacious enough and follow the modern scandinavian design trends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verotajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Verotajs,
Thank you for the nice and positive review from your stay at Quality Hotel Waterfront in august. As a Quality Hotel, we follow strictly the standards as correctly noticed. And as a lot of Nordic Choice Hotels, the building is decorated with modern Scandinavian materials and some Italian style furniture. The mix is excellent and stylish but could have been more practical of course when it comes to colors and material. Thank you again and we hope to see you sometime soon at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This seems to be one of the newer hotels in the town and is well located close to the centre. Whilst it is perched on the coast, the sea view of my room was restricted to a narrow slice between the adjoining buildings.

Check-in was painless but not overly welcoming; the greeting couldn't be described as warm. The room was good but had 2 issues:

1) No wardrobe. There's a small rail sticking out of the wall with around 5 hangers but that was it.
2) Baffling air condition. You could only select up or down; no numerical temperature setting.

The restaurant is very good but extremely expensive and the included breakfast was excellent. All in all, the hotel was fine but I might have expected a slightly warmer reception from the staff at over £100 per night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Mike P.
First of all, thank you for posting a review from your stay at our hotel in may. You are absolutely correct about this hotel being the newest in town, opening the doors summer 2011. The hotel is situated practically on the quayside, but unfortunately not every room has the kind of sea view that you might expect. We are sincerely sorry that the check-in was not as warm and welcoming as expected, and this will of course be brought to knowledge. The atmosphere is of overall importance and the staff is usually well aware of this. When it comes to the room, you must have been allocated to a multifunctional/handicap room, where there is no wardrobe with doors, but a kind of rail that does not impede movements in the room with a potential wheelchair. Since the hotel is brand new, there is a law deciding that 10 % of the total number of rooms has to be constructed as multifunctional. So that means quite a few rooms are installed this way. There is no air-condition in the traditional sense, all rooms are predefined with a set temperature and this starts when checking in. From this temperature, normally 18-20 degrees, you can adjust up/down 2-3 degrees. This is normally sufficient, but it is of outmost importance that all doors and windows are closed; otherwise the system will not work.
We are happy to read that the food was excellent though expensive. This is quite normal for hotels in Norway; the prices are a bit higher than most other restaurants outside. It seems that you had a pleasant stay, except for the reception, that could have been warmer. Thank you again, and we hope to see you sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

very helpful front desk staff. helpful with recommendations. Room was minimalist, but stylish. facilities were clean and well kept. wonderful breakfast, great view. location is perfect if you are renting a car locally. walking distance to all sites.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank samtalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Samtalya,
Thank you very much for posting a review from your stay at our hotel; we sincerely appreciate the positive feedback regarding the location, facilities and our staff. Car rental is located only 10 minutes walk from the hotel and is easy to find. The hotel is actually a mix of old art nouveau buildings and new architecture and the design is quite correctly minimalistic. The rooms and restaurant offers view to the fjord and surrounding mountains. Thank you again and welcome back to the Waterfront sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed 7 nights as a base for exploring Sunnmore Alps, fjords and nearby isles. Good location at the edge of the anyway compact city centre. Very good breakfast buffet and evening meal buffet also worth trying as the choice of restaurants downtown is very limited. Management economizes on cleaning, and it shows (check dust on the bedframe above pillows to see If you were lucky). Rooms and bathrooms, even if small, are nicely designed and decorated.

Room Tip: Avoid parking side (normally 3-7 buses park overnight) ask for rooms x20s, with views to courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waldemar188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Waldemar,
First of all, thank you very much for posting a review from your stay at Quality Hotel Waterfront recently. This summer, we have actually had several guests staying long-term using the hotel as a base for roundtrips, hiking and other activities. We appreciate you enjoying the buffets and would recommend trying the a la carte menu in the evenings as well. The impression that management are economizing on cleaning, is not accurate, but we are sincerely sorry that you were allocated in a room with dust on the bedframe. I can assure you that this is not acceptable, and not according to our standard. I wish that you had told the reception, and we would have given you a clean room instead.
We do hope the overall impression from our hotel was positive, and that we will be able to welcoming you back sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a new and nice hotel,with a good location close to the sea.
But one have to be very careful when selecting this hotel.
They have a sad habit of double charging the room and the spendings at
the hotel.
This they solve after a while when one contact them and beg them to return your money.
This error happends if one book via Nordic Choice hotels web pages.
And even if one beg in the reception upon check-in that they should not double charge they do.
It also may happend if you as a quest go an pro-long the stay. They they will double charge you.
So the best advise is to keep the spending at the hotel at a very minimum,as the rooms,minibar,dinners and other expences may be charged twice.
Hotel is nice,and as mentioned location is good,staff is nice but the experience often ends up to be very costly. The fault may be at a higher level,but in spite of several attempts to get them to change their ways they only appear with a very sleezy smile and seems not to bother at all.

Room Tip: Consider another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norberg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Norberg11,
First of all we appreciate you taking the time writing a review from your stay at Quality Hotel Waterfront in Ålesund. From reading your review, it seems like you were satisfied with the location in the city center and that the product itself was satisfactory. You mention the staff as good as well and for this we are sincerely grateful. The hotel opened in July 2011, and is situated on the seaside with a nice view to the fjord and mountains. Waterfront is a suitable name.
Nordic Choice Hotels, together with most other hotel chains, have the policy to authorize an amount from the card corresponding to the room charge at check-in. When the receptionists ask for a credit card to guarantee for the room, this is to prevent loosing money in case someone “forgets” to pay the bill after staying the night. If the total amount to pay is larger than authorized, the receptionist should charge the card twice, one transaction covering the room and the other covering the exceeding expenses. This means that guests have to swipe their cards twice. What probably happened in your case is that only one transaction was performed and the authorized amount was “frozen” in the bank for a good few days. Normally, the authorized money will be released from the bank after a couple of days. In the weekends, this might even take a few days longer due to opening hours. As a consequence, this may be experienced as though we are double charging the room and spending’s, but I promise this is not our intention. We are sincerely sorry about the misunderstanding, and of course this was all in all our fault. We should have done a prepayment instead and charged all the extras when checking out.
The procedure around authorizing on credit cards has changed recently, and this might explain the misunderstanding. We will of course investigate and improve the routines in this area to prevent similar cases. Thank you again for the review and we hope our response will clarify things. Our intention is to make our guests happy and satisfied and I do hope we will get a second chance in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardermoen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Location is excellent..It's by the water where cruise ships docks..yet it's quiet .Perfect for a nice start of a city walk ( very cozy city center)..which is just a few minutes from the hotel. Shuttle to airport is also available..just inform the reception about your flt. sched. so they can arrange the rt. time of pick up for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Annaliza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Annaliza,
Thank you very much for taking the time writing a review from your stay at Quality Hotel Waterfront. This means a lot to us in our work improving and meeting our guest’s needs. The hotel is situated on the Aspøya - one of the “islands” that forms the city of Ålesund. It’s only a three minutes walk from the Hellebroa – the little bridge that connects the two parts and is crossing the famous “Brosundet”.
Shuttle bus is available at every flight, and pick-up can easily be arranged for by the reception staff. It’s more or less the same price as the bus and more reasonable than the taxis.
Thank you again Annaliza and welcome back to the Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen
0.3 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#4 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#5 of 12 in Alesund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund

Property: Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Address: Nedre Strandgate 25-27, Alesund 6004, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing