We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant, convenient hotel with style”
Review of Scandic Alesund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Alesund
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Our first experience with the Scandic chain - I wish basic US chain hotels were like this, with rooms in a modern Scandinavian style (think more IKEA than high-end, but a welcome relief from the beige blandness of typical US hotel rooms). All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful (the airport bus is a bit tricky since it's timed for flights rather than a constant, regular schedule - ask them for help, cause you really don't want to pay for a taxi here). Breakfast, as usual in Scandinavia, was very good, although fairly crowded. We had one of the upper floor rooms with the sloped ceiling and dormer windows that looked out over the bay - very nice.

The hotel is quite centrally located, and Ålesund is a very compact, walkable little city. We had a couple days of just beautiful weather, perfect for exploring this gorgeous but sleepy town.

Would happily return!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom-and-Irina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2011

Excellent location. Clean rooms, just perfect size for a business trip. Good gym!
Very good breakfast and acceptable quality on the dinners and lunches!
Very friendly personel.
Probably one of the best Scandic hotels, totaly comparable with a Radisson hotel, but much cheaper!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiefen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Spent one night at Scandic Alesund in the fall, when the town was practically deserted. The Scandic was fine for one night. Nothing fancy--decent size room and bathroom, reasonably comfortable bed, free wireless, etc. The location is good, but there were plenty of other options around the harbor, and if I ever went back to Alesund (unlikely), I'd probably pick another place. Our room did not have a sea view, but a clever bay window and mirror arrangement allowed us to glimpse the harbor anyway. We found the breakfast buffet to be on the lower end of the quality scale, with tired-looking fruit and undrinkably bitter coffee, but the restaurant offered beautiful views of the water. Our big complaint was that the kids' playroom Scandic advertises was closed for the season--a policy that struck us as bizarre. Why would you close the playroom during the cold/rainy season?

In summary: I wouldn't rush to stay there again, but I wouldn't avoid it, either. It's fine as mid-range hotels go.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDN_abroad_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We arrived late, and found no vacant cheap parking nearby, so had to go use the NOK 120 garage under the hotel .

Efficient check in very friendly staff. Rooms were of adequate size and were clean.

We had a late breakfast, and then found the buffet a bit empty - and not looking very nice any longer, either . The restaurant where breakfast is also served, has very nice sea views - so go early to have a nice "seaside" breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abcnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed at the Scandic Alesund for 3 nights in July. We had hoped to use Alesund as the stepping off point for a lot of terrific fjord sightseeing. Unfortunately it rained for the 2 days we had for allocated for this. Oh well, the rest of the 4 week trip was mostly terrific weather, and we got to see fjords when we were down in Bergen.
We chose our room because of the pictures of a superior room on the Scandic web-sight. My pictures should offer a more accurate description of the room. Also missing were black out curtains, and a safe. Our room was on the top floor facing the water, but it had mostly wasted space, and lifting the cushions on the chair revealed a sea of old crackers crumbs. The balcony was tiny, and the bath location was bizarre.
Good things about the hotel were the staff, location, free computers, and the buffet breakfast. In summer the hotel only offers a buffet dinner meant for the tour members that descend on every hotel in town. The breakfast was very good but absolutely packed because of the tours every morning. We had excellent dinners at the XL Diner and Maki, but both are well over $200 if you have wine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EurotravelerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Had a two night stay at this very well located hotel.
Upgraded our room from standard to ensure good sea / harbour views which we enjoyed. The bay window area literally over the harbour waters enabled us to look out towards outer islands and watch the ferries and ships come and go.
Breakfast is ample and of a good quality - certainly a good start to the day.
Gym plus sauna with harbour views very nice.
Disappointed that the hotel parking had to be paid for at 120NKOR per day.
The bathroom was in need of a refurbishment, the sink was cracked and chipped and what looked like an old hairdryer was still fixed to the wall.
Cleaning was of a poor standard in our room (number 404) particularly the bathroom where unit surfaces were left unwiped, areas where the shower water pools not cleaned out for a long time, a dead moth stayed by the bath for the duration of our stay and elsewhere one lift had dropped crisps in it for well over a day.
Feel hotel needs a little bit of investment in the room specification and ceratinly cleaning standards ensured for all guests - I note some reviewers were very happy with the cleaning. This will result in a winning combination I'd very happily recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estravellerBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

The hotel is located next to the water, and some of the rooms have a view of the fjord. The city center is a 5 minutes walk away.

We got room number 300 which was very special (see pictures).

There is a playroom next to the reception, and some toys in the dining room. There are some childrens specialities on the menu as well, we didn't try these.

There is no minibar, and the downstairs hotel bar was unimpressive. The hotel has a shop next the the reception offering a good range of necessities.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etagseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#8 of 12 in Alesund
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Alesund

Address: Moloveien 6, Alesund 6001, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Alesund
Price Range: £73 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Alesund 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Ålesund! Stay at the Scandic Ålesund hotel overlooking the harbour in central Alesund.Unwind in the sauna and enjoy the waterside views from our bar and restaurant. Close to the commercial district, the hotel has 8 meeting rooms. The Alesund Museum is just 5 minutes' walk away and the Fjellstua view point 2,4 kilometers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Alesund Hotel Alesund
Scandic Alesund Ålesund
Scandic Alesund Hotel Ålesund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing