We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with an amasing wiew!”
Review of Scandic Alesund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Alesund
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel with an amasing wiew!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Nice and clean rooms, my room had two beds, and a nice wiew. Breakfast was great, served in the restaurant with large windows facing the fjords. Amaxinc.
Good and central location in beautiful Ålesund.

I stayed for 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norskjente71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review.
We (of course) totally agree with you about the view, and feel very lucky to get to experince this every day. :-)

I wish you an amazing summer, and hope to see you here again soon.

Best regards Silje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    258
    136
    45
    18
See reviews for
149
235
28
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed in this hotel, booking a room with a harbour view. The room was very comfortable and clean with a good ensuite. The breakfast included in our booking was very good with lots of choices.
The hotel also has a limited number of bicycles ( I saw 3 or 4) which could be used by guests free of charge.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and cooperative.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room with a harbour view
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wacoo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest!

Thank you so much for your review, and your recommandation! :-)

I am so happy and proud to hear that you had a good stay with us, and that you got to use the bicycles.

I wish you a fantastic summer, and hope to see you here again soon.

Best regards Silje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the Scandic for 3 nights. The views accross the harbour are great, ask for a harbour view room. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and the breakfasts good. The Scandic is a good location near town and the harbour.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest!

Thank you so much for your nice review. And of course we totally agree with you abour our beautiful hotel. (and we are not bias at all... ;-)

Hope you find your way back to us soon, and wishing you a wonderful summer.

Best regards Silje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The staff at this hotel were great- very helpful! Breakfast had so much variety - hotel very close to the centre right on the main waterfront area. There was free soup available in the foyer- very nice and great to warm you up! Nice touch!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rh0nda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest!

We were soooo happy to read your 5 star review - it made us really proud.
Thank you so much, it pleases us to hear that you had a good stay here with us.

Wishing you a wonderful summer - and hope to see you here again soon.

Best regards Silje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Scandic is in a central location with lovely views across the water. I found the room, especially the bed, really comfortable. The stress less chair was wonderful although not all rooms have one. It was a good breakfast and there was free tea and coffee in reception. The staff were really cheerful and very helpful. Great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a stressless chair. So comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for your review.
Can you imagine being so lucky to have this view every day? :-)

I have have shown our staff your feedback - and they were very proud.

Wishing you a wonderful summer, and hope to see you here again soon!

Best regards Silje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Nice hotel in a beautiful city. Rooms a bit dated, but comfortable. Unfortunately the rooms they have for families (3 of us) do not have a view. I am not sure why this room would be any different than a regular room as the 3rd bed was just the couch with the cushion off!! I would assume all the rooms have a couch! No matter, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was very nice. American hotels could take a lesson from Europeans on the breakfasts served! Nice view of the harbor from the restaurant and lounge area. Quiet and within walking distance to the bus station, and central town. A spectacular part of Norway that is worth a visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you so much for your review.
It pleases me to see that you had a good stay at our hotel.

I really hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to Scandic Ålesund.

Wishing you a wonderful summer.

Best regards Silje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is in a great location. The breakfast room had a really nice view. The hotel in general is very updated. After seeing the reception I did not expect to see a room so outdated. The brown furniture in the room looked pretty old and smelled like mold. The bathroom had 1970s feel to it. It is a tub with only half a glass door and no bath mats (seems to be common in Norway). I liked Face Stockholm shower product provided in pumps.

The hair dryer was one of those wall mounted hairdryers. I was glad I had my own.
The bed was comfortable but the pillows were not in good shape. The curtains need some care as well.
The room had only hardwood floors so it looks nice but at 2am somebody checked in to the room above us. You can hear every step and bathroom activity.

I suggest if you plan to stay at this hotel ask/insist for an updated room. Breakfast was included and they provide free wifi.

The staff is excellent. All of them are extremely helpful and genuinely nice.

The breakfast is also great. A lot of options are offered.

So I would definitely consider staying at this hotel but ask for one of the renovated rooms!!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musti_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest.

I am happy to hear that you had a good stay at our hotel, and that you thought the staff was helpful and service-minded.

I am sorry about the hair-dryer, we will check it.

I really hope that you will have a wonderful summer/fall - and that we get the pleasure of seeing you here again soon. :-)

Best regards Silje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#8 of 12 in Alesund
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Alesund

Property: Scandic Alesund
Address: Moloveien 6, Alesund 6001, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Alesund 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Ålesund! Stay at the Scandic Ålesund hotel overlooking the harbour in central Alesund.Unwind in the sauna and enjoy the waterside views from our bar and restaurant. Close to the commercial district, the hotel has 8 meeting rooms. The Alesund Museum is just 5 minutes' walk away and the Fjellstua view point 2,4 kilometers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Alesund Hotel Alesund
Scandic Alesund Ålesund
Scandic Alesund Hotel Ålesund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing