We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”
Review of Scandic Alesund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Alesund
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I personally like Scandic hotels and frequently travel them but this time I was let down by Scandic.
Stayed for 7 nights and during this time there happened many disappointments.
Most of the staff seemed to be new so when they could not handle something or did not know what to do some of them seemed even quite rude at times. Many of the staff were from eastern countries and did not seem to have idea of the surroundings, which is not good when you are trying to ask for advice on where to go / see / shop / something.
Poor housekeeping, one day even the bedsheets were not made. Most of the days glasses were not changed to clean ones, papers were not added, no vacuuming was done even it was clearly visible that there was lots of dust.
Maintenance of the hotel did not seem to be up to date as the sauna was in terrible state with loose wooden floorboards and broken window openers.
The two rooms me and colleague stayed were outdated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juq P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you for you review, it means a lot to us. This way we can find out were we can improve ourselves.
I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay with us.
You are right that we have some new staff, and that they need time to be trained. But at NO time should they be rude. I really apologise if that is how you felt you were treated here.
And of course our housekeeping should make sure to follow our routines of cleaning, I am sorry that we didn't succeed in that.

I really hope that you give us one more chance to give you the service you deserve, and that you come back to stay at our hotel.

Wishing you a wonderful fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    235
    111
    40
    14
See reviews for
126
209
28
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

If you are travelling from the airport by car, Scandic Alesund is good choice. Central location, nice building and view, comfortable room, very good breakfast, pleasant staff, convenient parking. But I could mark one negative thing - too expansive beer in the bar :)...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vytis2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for writing a feedback - it is very important to us.
I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay - and that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel.
And when it comes to the beer-prices, I wish I could do something - bur my hands are tied. ;-)

Have a wonderful fall, and hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were here many years ago and still it is a nice hotel with a wonderful view. The staff in the reception was a little bit stiff, but when we talked to them few times they started to warm up and seems to be really nice and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. We had a dinner in the restaurant and it was delicious as the breakfast too. I will definitely come here again and recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XO_Traveler_OX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for you nice review - it is much appreciated.
I make us really proud to read it, and we are very happy to hear that you where happy with both the service, views and the food.

I look forewards to welcoming you to our beautiful hotel again soon.

Wishing you a wonderful fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiller
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Used to visit this hotel when I conducted bussiness in Ålesund. It's placed beautifully in the Ålesund harbour only a short walk from the city center. The view from the hotel is awsom and the breakfast is fantastic. I can only recomend this hotel in Ålesund, and I lived at most of them!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Håvard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for your great review - it made us so proud reading it!
And of course we agree with you (without being biased at all of course.) ;-)

Wishing you a wonderful fall, and hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is in a very good position for relaxing and exploring the town. The room was good size, spotless, quiet and comfortable with unspoilt views over the fjord. Most rooms have a see view, and it is worth asking for one. Very good value for money and the staff was efficient and friendly. The all inclusive free coffee an afternoon cup of soup was nice and the free bike hire a welcome bonus. We have no complaints about this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torhild D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for your great review - it makes me very happy to read your positive feedback.
We totally agree with you - the view i s so nice. I will tell all my staff that you though they were friendly and efficient - that will make them proud.

It`s good to hear you appreciated the free coffee and cup of soup - we are happy to offer it.

Wishing you a wonderful fall, and hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Nice and clean rooms, my room had two beds, and a nice wiew. Breakfast was great, served in the restaurant with large windows facing the fjords. Amaxinc.
Good and central location in beautiful Ålesund.

I stayed for 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norskjente71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review.
We (of course) totally agree with you about the view, and feel very lucky to get to experince this every day. :-)

I wish you an amazing summer, and hope to see you here again soon.

Best regards Silje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed in this hotel, booking a room with a harbour view. The room was very comfortable and clean with a good ensuite. The breakfast included in our booking was very good with lots of choices.
The hotel also has a limited number of bicycles ( I saw 3 or 4) which could be used by guests free of charge.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and cooperative.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room with a harbour view
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wacoo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest!

Thank you so much for your review, and your recommandation! :-)

I am so happy and proud to hear that you had a good stay with us, and that you got to use the bicycles.

I wish you a fantastic summer, and hope to see you here again soon.

Best regards Silje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#5 of 12 in Alesund
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Alesund

Property: Scandic Alesund
Address: Moloveien 6, Alesund 6001, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Alesund 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Ålesund! Stay at the Scandic Ålesund hotel overlooking the harbour in central Alesund.Unwind in the sauna and enjoy the waterside views from our bar and restaurant. Close to the commercial district, the hotel has 8 meeting rooms. The Alesund Museum is just 5 minutes' walk away and the Fjellstua view point 2,4 kilometers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Alesund Hotel Alesund
Scandic Alesund Ålesund
Scandic Alesund Hotel Ålesund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing