We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”
Review of Scandic Alesund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Alesund
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Reviewed 8 August 2014

It suited our needs well. The room was a bit quirky and my husband kept on hitting his head on the slanted ceiling above the bed (and he is quite short).

The only real problem I had was the room was very, very hot when we first came in. It took the whole night for it to cool down as the sun beat down through our window until it set .

Room Tip: The opposite side of where the sun shines in the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for a week as part of a tour group. The conference event room is a modern, well lit option for groups. The hotel rooms have everything - but make sure you get a view. The breakfasts are generous and the dinners are ok too. We saw people checking in with their dogs which was cool. Its close to most of the attractions.

Room Tip: ensure you get a view of the sea/harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The familyroom was the best about this hotel. Fairly large, and plenty of free channels to watch on tv.

It was no water boiler on the familiyroom, but I could get boiled water in the respetion. Some of the other rooms had waterboilers. It was a playroom for kids there, but it was a bit messy and the room was not kept very well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bikkaole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review.
It makes us very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the room and the location.
We have boilers in some of our rooms, and sometimes we are able to borrow them if the rooms are not in use. In this case I am glad to hear that the reception were able to help you with boiled water.
Our playroom can be a bit messy, depending on how quickly we can tidy it after the kids have used it, we try to tidy when there are no kids.

I wish you a wonderfull fall - and hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I personally like Scandic hotels and frequently travel them but this time I was let down by Scandic.
Stayed for 7 nights and during this time there happened many disappointments.
Most of the staff seemed to be new so when they could not handle something or did not know what to do some of them seemed even quite rude at times. Many of the staff were from eastern countries and did not seem to have idea of the surroundings, which is not good when you are trying to ask for advice on where to go / see / shop / something.
Poor housekeeping, one day even the bedsheets were not made. Most of the days glasses were not changed to clean ones, papers were not added, no vacuuming was done even it was clearly visible that there was lots of dust.
Maintenance of the hotel did not seem to be up to date as the sauna was in terrible state with loose wooden floorboards and broken window openers.
The two rooms me and colleague stayed were outdated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Juq P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you for you review, it means a lot to us. This way we can find out were we can improve ourselves.
I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay with us.
You are right that we have some new staff, and that they need time to be trained. But at NO time should they be rude. I really apologise if that is how you felt you were treated here.
And of course our housekeeping should make sure to follow our routines of cleaning, I am sorry that we didn't succeed in that.

I really hope that you give us one more chance to give you the service you deserve, and that you come back to stay at our hotel.

Wishing you a wonderful fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

If you are travelling from the airport by car, Scandic Alesund is good choice. Central location, nice building and view, comfortable room, very good breakfast, pleasant staff, convenient parking. But I could mark one negative thing - too expansive beer in the bar :)...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vytis2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you so much for writing a feedback - it is very important to us.
I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay - and that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel.
And when it comes to the beer-prices, I wish I could do something - bur my hands are tied. ;-)

Have a wonderful fall, and hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were here many years ago and still it is a nice hotel with a wonderful view. The staff in the reception was a little bit stiff, but when we talked to them few times they started to warm up and seems to be really nice and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. We had a dinner in the restaurant and it was delicious as the breakfast too. I will definitely come here again and recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XO_Traveler_OX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you so much for you nice review - it is much appreciated.
I make us really proud to read it, and we are very happy to hear that you where happy with both the service, views and the food.

I look forewards to welcoming you to our beautiful hotel again soon.

Wishing you a wonderful fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Used to visit this hotel when I conducted bussiness in Ålesund. It's placed beautifully in the Ålesund harbour only a short walk from the city center. The view from the hotel is awsom and the breakfast is fantastic. I can only recomend this hotel in Ålesund, and I lived at most of them!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Håvard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you so much for your great review - it made us so proud reading it!
And of course we agree with you (without being biased at all of course.) ;-)

Wishing you a wonderful fall, and hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#7 of 12 in Alesund
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#8 of 12 in Alesund
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Alesund

Address: Moloveien 6, Alesund 6001, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Alesund
Price Range: £72 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Alesund 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Ålesund! Stay at the Scandic Ålesund hotel overlooking the harbour in central Alesund.Unwind in the sauna and enjoy the waterside views from our bar and restaurant. Close to the commercial district, the hotel has 8 meeting rooms. The Alesund Museum is just 5 minutes' walk away and the Fjellstua view point 2,4 kilometers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Alesund Hotel Alesund
Scandic Alesund Ålesund
Scandic Alesund Hotel Ålesund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing