We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost the perfect hotel”
Review of Scandic Alesund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Alesund
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
533 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 710 helpful votes
“Almost the perfect hotel”
Reviewed 17 November 2006

Scandic Alesund was a very welcoming hotel when we arrived. Our room (No 403) was fantastic. It had plenty of space and everything about it was quality. The view from the window offered a gorgeous panorama stretching from the Alesund Old Town, to the harbour and towards the mountain peak Aksla. Looking out the window the water was directly below us. Thick curtains ensured that no light got in during the night ensuring a pleasant sleep. The only sound to be heard was the background chugging of boats. The bathroom was equally good although a bit thin on amenities.
Breakfast was something special with a huge buffet with almost anything you could want including roasted potatoes with the hot breakfast, fresh fruit and croissants. The room had the same beautiful outlook over the harbour. The only let down was that on the second morning they cordoned off almost the entire room for a bus tour and shoved us at a small table right by the entrance to the room. Alas this pandering to the tour bus dollar left a sour taste in our mouth. Apart from this the hotel could not be faulted and was one of our favourite places to stay.

  • Liked — Convenient location, best view in town, extensive buffet breakfast and comfortable room
  • Disliked — The way the breakfast staff commanded the room for a bus tour
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TassieTravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    230
    109
    36
    14
See reviews for
120
205
28
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2005

Stayed here during an Edelweiss motorcycle trip and found it to be a lovely hotel. We had a Club level room right on the water and were constantly entertained by the passing boats and the vision of art nouveau Alesund. ( If you visit, do take the great walking tour offered by the Tourist office of all the lovely circa 1906 buildings) The breakfast was very good, but the fish on the buffet was not very tasty, nor was another meal we had there. Luckily there are some excellent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joelmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2005

We stayed in Alesund at the end of a tour round Norway, and were thrilled not only by the beautiful town itself but by the excellent quality of the Scandic. We were upgraded on arrival to a suite, a very large and modern room with a stunning view over the harbour and across to the nearby islands. It was so lovely that we didn't close the curtains for the entire stay, preferring to lie in bed watching the sun go down (very late, of course)! The staff went the extra mile to help with any problem and breakfasts were vast and varied. Excellent.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nezzerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2004

but a great location and breakfast. We had an upgraded "Club" room because of Hilton Honors membership. The rooms are designed with the usual efficient Scandic layout. Wonderful staff and great breakfast with an equally great view. Free wireless internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank claudbtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#5 of 12 in Alesund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Alesund

Property: Scandic Alesund
Address: Moloveien 6, Alesund 6001, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Alesund 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Ålesund! Stay at the Scandic Ålesund hotel overlooking the harbour in central Alesund.Unwind in the sauna and enjoy the waterside views from our bar and restaurant. Close to the commercial district, the hotel has 8 meeting rooms. The Alesund Museum is just 5 minutes' walk away and the Fjellstua view point 2,4 kilometers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Alesund Hotel Alesund
Scandic Alesund Ålesund
Scandic Alesund Hotel Ålesund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing