We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Alesund
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveller rating
204
278
154
50
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
278
154
50
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelsoupgreat viewroom was spacious and cleanharbour areagreat breakfastparking placeexcellent locationbeautiful townstayed here for one nightper daygreat roombuffet breakfastfree coffeenice staffsea viewfish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 706 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2010

This is part of the Scandic chain and so you know roughly what to expect of the hotel and its rooms. This hotel did not disappoint and the restaurant had great views of the harbour area.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable and the hotel is good value for Norway at the price we paid through Expedia on a prepaid, non-refundable basis.

Best of all the staff were incredibly helpful and were always smiling, cheerful and pleasant. This included all the staff we met while we were there, from Reception to the Restaurant and Bar staff right through to the Cleaners. This was in marked contrast to some other hotels we stayed in during our touring trip of Norway.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay and in many ways were reluctant to move on.

If we were to be at all critical, there were 3 things we would have liked which were not provided and which would have improved our stay, but none of them is common in this class of hotel in Norway.
1. Spare pillows
2. In room tea & coffee making faciliites
3. A room safe
There was also a minor niggle that although wi-fi was available in the room, it was necessary to keep changing the log-in code and password by reference to the TV screen.

However, these are minor issues and I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone based on our experience here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silvertravelsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

It is a fantastic hotel offering perfect place for relaxation, next to the sea and gives ample of opportunity to work in comfort and peace. A must place to stay for all business and tourists.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

I booked this hotel online and got a confirmation email, only to be told when I arrived fairly late in the evening that there was a problem. I was told to sit down whilst the reception staff giggled with visiting businessmen.
Eventually, I was told that luckily they had found me a bed at the local youth hostel and I could get a taxi there !? They did not mention that they had double booked until I asked them the question directly. As a lone female traveller to a new city this was a nightmare situation, they seemed really disorganised and none too bothered about sending a customer away.
I could not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
3  Thank ek0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

had a blast--the hotel was nice, clean and had everything you need--gorgeous location and quiet, yet, accessible near a good Indian restaurant and several nice art galleries and a coffee shop and a few bars--the town is a perfect size to walk about.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
Thank hagetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We spent one night at the Scandic in Alesund, on the way to stay with family in Tingvoll.

We had unfortunately had a bit of a nightmare journey from Heathrow. Our plane from London to Oslo was delayed, and then (very uncharacteristic for Norway) there were only two immigration officers on duty for several hundred people... hence we missed our connecting flight to Alesund. Five hours at Oslo Airport waiting for the next plane, then arrival at Alesund to find out that the tunnel that crosses the fjord was closed so the bus into the city had to take a ferry... all in all, a journey of 11 hours!

We were therefore delighted to arrive at the Scandic at 00:15 and we were warmly greeted by the young man on reception who expressed sympathy for our lengthy journey. He promptly checked us in and gave us information about breakfast.

Our room was wonderful - very spacious with great facilities and a wonderful 'atrium' of sorts at the far end - glass not only from floor to ceiling but also the ceiling (like a conservatory)... and views over the harbour (the hotel is perched right on the water). The bed was enormous and very comfortable. The bathroom had a fantastic shower and loads of space. PLUS free wi-fi!

Breakfast was the usual high standard one finds in Scandinavia - a huge buffet with cereals, fruit, juices, five different kinds of milk, yoghurts, a variety of breads and crispbreads, cold meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, pastries and hot dishes like scrambled eggs, sausages etc.

The (different) staff on duty that morning were also extremely helpful and friendly.

We highly recommend this place. We got a very favourable rate using eBookers. Norway can be hideously expensive, however the standard of accommodation we got - for less than we usually pay for accommodation in the UK - was incredible.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mareepsasja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews