We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very quiet, clean, and comfortable but not fancy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We spent three nights here in January and found everything to be fine. It isn't as charming or as interesting as some of the other hotels in town but the beds were comfortable, heated towel racks, and heated bathroom floor. The breakfast buffet was nice and had everything we wanted. It is conveniently located too. The front desk staff have been very helpfull as well so the price is right.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaskanprimrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hello in Alaska,
thank you for your nice review, I am happy that you found our hotel to be convenient, cofortable and clean.
A good breakfast is important to most of our guests, and I am glad you enjoyed it.
Welcome back anytime ,

Best Regards
Britt Skjong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

Location is excellent as it is close to the town centre and right next to the pier where the ferry to Geirangerfjord departs. The view from the lobby bar during dawn and dusk is absolutely stunning.

Hotel is slightly dated but very clean. The rooms are quite small and would benefit greatly from climate control.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is good with a good selection of breads and meats.

Room Tip: Call in advance to ask for rooms with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swlee988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

I had one night stay on a business trip to Ulsteinvik and location of ferry port to Hareid is ideal with Radisson Blu. Everything worked fine and staff was professional and friendly. Free wifi, nice breakfast, clean and spacious rooms. Next time will be there again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Toni_Br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your excellent review. I am happy that you appreciate our location by the ferry port to Hareid, it is perfect for travelers going to Ulsteinvik. I am happy that everything worked fine and that you found my staff to be professional and friendly. This is what we are working for every day . Free wifi is always included here and our nice breakfast will be even nicer next year since we are upgrading the buffet next year. It is fantastic to hear that our rooms are clean and spacious to you, this is important to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in town.
Thank you on behalf of my entire staff, and we wish you a merry christmas and a happy new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Very disappointed with the rooms at this hotel for the price. Although everything in Norway is expensive some very basics could have been supplied in the rooms. No washcloth provided just towel. The shower was broken. No coffee or team making facilities. Room service not provided on the second day. Very basic breakfast. Most rooms face the street so no view unless you pay $$$$. Over a poor place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenthaydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Nice quality hotel !

At check-in, got an upgrade to a business class room due to gold status. Room was great size, and angled roof made the room layout very cosy. Along with a brand new flat screen TV set, a great size working area, sofa, it was indeed a good experience.

Still, some flaws. The ironing board was on a 45 degree angle (missing a bolt). There were some fruits put up on the room as a welcome gift. To that were some peanuts in a glass covered with plastic for preservation purposes. The orange halves, looked like they were leftovers from the previous guest, and the peanuts were soft, and had got impregnated by an orange taste.. The other fruit did not look very fresh, and all went from the table to the wastebin. Would suggest a better welcoming gift, even though the thought was nice.

Also, the shower cabin sippered out water on the full floor, even though properly closed.

Breakfast was a proper one, with good variety, even though not the usual Radisson Blu quality.

All in all, some flaws, but great layout of the room, the complementary upgrade for frequent Radisson customers is always welcome, which also includes free movies (BC room). Most likely I would have kept the hotel a 3 if these extras were not done. That brought it up to 3.5-4 !

Some things to do, but going the right way.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the water !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The rooms were clean and functional, if not spectacular. We had a good view of the quayside and arriving/departing ferries, ships. Though activity on the quay can be noisy.
Breakfast was good quality; internet was free and the location of the hotel good for walking into the main tourist-oriented part of town (10 minutes or so).
Good value, friendly service, nice comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChookNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here many years Back... It was beautifully located. The view of the pier from the hotel was amazing... Rooms are strickly ok... its a bit dated.... Main lobby area and the restaurant area are quite nicely decorated. I would recommend this hotel for business stay or short tourist stay. Areas around the hotel are quite nice to walk around.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ira D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#5 of 12 in Alesund
695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#8 of 12 in Alesund
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund

Address: Sorenskriver Bulls G. 7, Alesund 6002, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alesund
#6 Business Hotel in Alesund
Price Range: £75 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a stunning location in Alesund, the Radisson Blu Hotel, Alesund offers guests breathtaking views of the fjord and its surrounding islands while providing city centre convenience to both business and leisure travellers. Impressive service, on-property dining and superior amenities await at this stylish hotel that reflects the chic Art Nouveau design found throughout Alesund. Relax in a comfortable room and stay connected with Free high-speed, wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Alesund guests enjoy casual dining at the on-site Bulls Brygge or a refreshing drink and snack at the Lobby Bar. In the summer months, savour a light meal on the Terrace by the waterfront. A well-equipped business centre and event space ensures a productive stay for corporate guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Alesund
ålesund Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing