We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Good Location Good Value”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Arrived around 8pm to be greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist. As we were leaving before 8am we were able to park in the street for free rather than paying 150Kr to use hotel car park.
Room was clean, comfortable and reasonably well equipped lacking only a kettle and coffee making facilities.
Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice from traditional English through Continental to Norweigan, something for everyone.
Disappointment was dinner in the restaurant. It is never going to go well when your main course of choice is not available, particularly as whilst we were waiting for our meal the sea-food platter we would have chosen was served to the next table. OK ingredients run out, I can understand that, but the dishes we ordered as an alternative (prawn salad and steak) were really pretty ordinary.
No problem with the hotel though an excellent choice if you are staying in Alesund.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    235
    101
    28
    5
See reviews for
72
180
21
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very nice hotel. Very comfortable bed,had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was very good with great choice.
Hotel is in a great position. You also get free internet.
Also the receptionist was very very helpful, she spoke great English and helped make sure I was parked on the right place.

Room Tip: I booked a business class room. It was very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed one night here last week. We checked in on a Sat pm. Sunday am we woke up to pouring rain, scratching our plans for the day.. Our flight out of Alesund was not until 8 pm and the Radisson staff let us stay until 5 pm at no extra charge. Our room overlooked the bay and felt like we were literally over the water. Great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMH_in_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your nice review, I am glad that you enjoyed our location by the water.
You are welcome back next time you are in the area.
Have a great summer.

Best regards,
Britt Skjong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had one of the best rooms at the hotel. Fantastic view, but for a suite the bathroom was disappointing; too small and the shower was not very functional, resulting in water all over the floor and vanity. First night we slept great; the second night there was a banquet at the hotel and the music made it impossible to sleep even on the 5th floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank BA1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

From the moment you arrive, until your departure, you are treated efficiently, friendly and respectfully in all areas of the hotel. The room was larger and much nicer than other hotels we have stayed in in Norway. When you entered the lobby you were always greeted with a smile and the offer to help. The restaurant staff was very efficient and respectful. Management was visual and participated in your daily experience, which is definitely going above and beyond. I will definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there in the future.

Room Tip: Corner room is great because you have a view of the surrounding islands as well as the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hello Elizabeth,
thank you so much for your review, I will share the good feedback with my staff. We are very happy that you find us efficient, clean and that we are providing good service for our guests. Our great advantage in this town is our fantastic view of the Valderhaug Fjord, and I am glad you enjoyed it from your room.
On behalf of my entire staff I thank you for beeing our guests and you are always welcome back to us if you are travelling to Ålesund again .
Have a fantastic summer in Nassau.

Best Regards from Team Blu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

One month before I even set foot in Norway I was charged, not once, but twice (!!!) for my whole booking.
I tried to solve the situation by calling and e-mailing the hotel and bringing their attention to the problem. There was no way the hotel could solve it, even if I e-mailed and called them several times. No matter what time of the day it was, the excuse was that the hotel manager was not there (?!)
I ended up spending around 1.500 Nok just in telephone calls alone...

I had to cancel my reservation, and book another hotel for my stay (the best thing I ever did, as the other hotel was fabulous!).
During my stay in Ålesund I had to go four times (!!!) to the Radisson Blu Hotel to see my problem solved!
In the end I had to call and ask my Bank Account Manager to e-mail them my current bank account with proof of the amount charged as they said they didn't have records of it (???) and didn't believe me...

Oh, and by the way: of all of the four times I went there... the manager was never there...

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Holtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Hello,

Thank you for bringing this to my attention, this situation happened a while ago, and it is very unfortunate that we were not able to solve this for you right away.
It sounds like you have been through quite an ordeal, and this is not representative of how we do business, booking with us should always be easy.

The managers at the hotel work shifts, at different hours, but we always have a Manager on Duty who should have been contacted to handle this for you.
I don’t have the dates for your booking, but we always strive to be accessible at all times for our guest. I would like to investigate why you weren’t able to speak to a manager.

It is challenging for me to give an answer to your issue, not knowing the details on how your booking was made.
I invite you to send me the details of your reservation and I will look into it as soon as possible.

If the booking is done through an Online Travel Agent, it is the travel agent who makes the charges, and they are the only ones who can approve any changes to the reservation.
If the booking is done directly to our own webpage, to the hotel by phone or to our reservations email, you are free to change or cancel the booking until 6pm. on the day of arrival.
Again, thank you for the information, and I apologize on behalf of my staff for your trouble.


Best regards
Britt Skjong, General Manager

britt.skjong@radissonblu.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The room was larger than others in Norway and attractive, but the lighting was a bit too dim, the draperies were hung in a sloppy manner and the pillows were inferior. The sink was not cleaned properly on a daily basis and the trouser press didn't work. The bathroom had a fantastic shower layout that made great use of the smallish space; towels were a bit skimpy. The breakfast room was attractive and the buffet had very good fruit selections but the egg dishes were limited. The location was waterfront but our room didn't have more than a sliver of a view. One of the best things was the Internet connection - it was really good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank concordia39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your review, we always read all reviews and do our best to solve any problems that are brought to our attentinon as soon as possible.
We strive to be very clean, well maintained and a extreemely service oriented hotel, we want our guests to always feel most comfortable.
I will bring forward the information about the curtain and pillows, and about the sink, and we will strive to do even better.
We are a popular hotel in Ålesund, much because of our location by the Fjord, and around half of our 131 rooms have a seaview. I hope you got a chance to enjoy the fantastic view from our seaside breakfastroom or from the outside terrace.
I am very happy that our wi-fi was to your satisfaction, and that you were happy with our breakfast selection, I will see if we can increase the egg selection. We invite our guests to ask for "made to order" eggs and bacon dishes so that they are fresh for you. Mabe this information was not properly visible to you this day, if you come by again, please ask and we will make eggs the way you like them.
Thank you again, and have a great spring !
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.2 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#4 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#5 of 12 in Alesund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Address: Sorenskriver Bulls G. 7, Alesund 6002, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alesund
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
#6 Business Hotel in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a stunning location in Alesund, the Radisson Blu Hotel, Alesund offers guests breathtaking views of the fjord and its surrounding islands while providing city centre convenience to both business and leisure travellers. Impressive service, on-property dining and superior amenities await at this stylish hotel that reflects the chic Art Nouveau design found throughout Alesund. Relax in a comfortable room and stay connected with Free high-speed, wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Alesund guests enjoy casual dining at the on-site Bulls Brygge or a refreshing drink and snack at the Lobby Bar. In the summer months, savour a light meal on the Terrace by the waterfront. A well-equipped business centre and event space ensures a productive stay for corporate guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Alesund
ålesund Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing