We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
“disapointing”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

pros- location perfect, breakfast delish, customer service good and shuttleservice reasonable priced.

cons- room outdated and not really clean, aircon not working, bathroom plastic fantastic, telly had 7 nordic channels and bbc news not really ctaering for international guests. WIFI NOT WORKING!! if you are lucky you have a few minutes online, not really usable for working.

For the rates you pay at Radisson this hotels does NOT meet the standards.

Aalesund is recommendable, a truly beautiful city with friendly people.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeronaut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am happy for the nice comments on our location our breakfast, the customer service and the convenient airportshuttle.

We are of course well aware that for some we might seem a bit outdated in our room decor at the moment. I am happy to tell you that we are planning our refurbishment, all rooms will in the near future be upgraded.

We do take much pride in the cleanliness of our rooms, and in keeping our rooms well maintained. We do get a lot of good feedback actually on our rooms beeing very clean, and we will try and get even better at this.

About the internet not working properly during your stay, we unfortunately had a router down and this affected some of our rooms. We do take theese matters very seriously. The router will be replaced july 15 th. and after that our wi-fi is fully functioning in all rooms as usual. Well suitable for working. We cincerely apologize for this event occuring during your stay, and maybe we can make this right for you if you come back in the future. Have a great summer, and again thank you for your feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed the beauty of Ålesund city and the friendly people, and we thank you for this compliment !

Best regards
Britt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    245
    104
    29
    5
See reviews for
76
192
23
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our expectations were met at this hotel - a splendid breakfast, comfortable room with everything working, a convenient location. Our room faced towards the Thon hotel rather than the beautiful sea view, but that's probably to be expected at a basic room rate.. The overall effect of the hotel was of boxy corridors and a rather sparse impersonal space, aimed at the corporate singleton rather than couples. We enjoyed our stay, with no problems on arrival or departure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for you review, we appreciate youur feedback on our splendid breakfast, we take every aspect of you review seriously and try to get better on the things we can do better.
Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a peaceful hotel, with polite staff and comfortable rooms. The breakfast is very good, with a large selection, buffet style. Access to the rest of Ålesund is very easy, including the ferry and cruise boat terminals. The room service was quick, and friendly. The cost is comparable with quality hotel prices in Norway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Donald G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are trying to have the best breakfast we can everyday and we thank you for the great feedback on our buffet.
Have a wonderful summer and welcome back next time in beautiful Ålesund, Norway .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were very pleased with this hotel. The bed was very comfortably, and that's coming from someone with back issues. The breakfast was the best we had during our two weeks in Norway, and the receptionist was very helpful. They even allowed us to leave our luggage at the hotel, after we checked out, and pick it up the next day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
I am happy to hear that you were very pleased with us.
We do get a lot of feedback on our new beds, and it is great that it was good for your back. I will bring foreward your comments about our breakfast, my kitchen staff will be very happy as they work hard everyday to provide a great meal every morning.

Thank you very much for your excellent review, and you are always welcome back to Ålesund and to Norway again in the future.

Best regards, Britt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Arrived around 8pm to be greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist. As we were leaving before 8am we were able to park in the street for free rather than paying 150Kr to use hotel car park.
Room was clean, comfortable and reasonably well equipped lacking only a kettle and coffee making facilities.
Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice from traditional English through Continental to Norweigan, something for everyone.
Disappointment was dinner in the restaurant. It is never going to go well when your main course of choice is not available, particularly as whilst we were waiting for our meal the sea-food platter we would have chosen was served to the next table. OK ingredients run out, I can understand that, but the dishes we ordered as an alternative (prawn salad and steak) were really pretty ordinary.
No problem with the hotel though an excellent choice if you are staying in Alesund.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very nice hotel. Very comfortable bed,had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was very good with great choice.
Hotel is in a great position. You also get free internet.
Also the receptionist was very very helpful, she spoke great English and helped make sure I was parked on the right place.

Room Tip: I booked a business class room. It was very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed one night here last week. We checked in on a Sat pm. Sunday am we woke up to pouring rain, scratching our plans for the day.. Our flight out of Alesund was not until 8 pm and the Radisson staff let us stay until 5 pm at no extra charge. Our room overlooked the bay and felt like we were literally over the water. Great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMH_in_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your nice review, I am glad that you enjoyed our location by the water.
You are welcome back next time you are in the area.
Have a great summer.

Best regards,
Britt Skjong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#8 of 12 in Alesund
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#7 of 12 in Alesund
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Address: Sorenskriver Bulls G. 7, Alesund 6002, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alesund
#6 Business Hotel in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a stunning location in Alesund, the Radisson Blu Hotel, Alesund offers guests breathtaking views of the fjord and its surrounding islands while providing city centre convenience to both business and leisure travellers. Impressive service, on-property dining and superior amenities await at this stylish hotel that reflects the chic Art Nouveau design found throughout Alesund. Relax in a comfortable room and stay connected with Free high-speed, wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Alesund guests enjoy casual dining at the on-site Bulls Brygge or a refreshing drink and snack at the Lobby Bar. In the summer months, savour a light meal on the Terrace by the waterfront. A well-equipped business centre and event space ensures a productive stay for corporate guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Alesund
ålesund Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing