We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing romantic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing romantic place”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Spent there St. Valentine's Day with my wife. Great location, very close to the city centre, to restaurants and pubs, to Aksla hill and many other touristic places like hike trails.
There is no private parking, but we left hired car right near the entrance for free and nothing happened to it. Breakfast was very tasty but quite same every day, perhaps due to out-of-season time. Staff was very hospitable and polite, moreover, as we were the only new visitors on that day, very polite person from the reception gave us a corner business suit (we booked standard) with stunning panoramic view on a several other islands of the Alesund conglomerate.
From the airport (that is very small) you can take a bus and order a shuttle for the return way in the hotel.
I would suggest booking of Radisson Blu for those who like a good service (as well as location and food) for the reasonable money.

Room Tip: Corner suites has stunning panoramic view. All rooms are quite due to the location of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello Dmitry.
Thank you for all of your nice comment about our location and about our town. I am happy to hear you had a nice time in beautiful Ålesund with your wife, and that you received good quality service while you were here. Again, thank you for taking the time to review us, you comments mean a lot to us, and you are welcome back to us in the future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    244
    104
    29
    5
See reviews for
75
190
23
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Radisson Blu is a modern business hotel located very close to the heart of the town, within couple of minutes walking distance. The hotel is lacking in parking. As what used to be the parking lot is now being renovated into a new building. Compounded with a festival that was ongoing in town parking was hard to find. There is a big parking space couple of blocks up the street from the hotel, but even with that we took the last space. It is a municipal parking space but the machine is smart enough to let you pay only what you need (as parking in the evenings is free).

We booked with points and originally were upgraded (for a fee) for an executive room which ensured a view of the bay (and the construction). They did start working early in the morning but the noise was not a big problem. The room was larger than most, with large bathroom. The bed, as usual were too soft. Unfortunately the WiFi for our side of the hotel was not working for the entire stay which was a problem. The WiFi in the lobby worked. The hotel did advertise it upon check-in, but it seems to me that it took way too long to get it solved (it was not solved even when we checked out two days later).

The breakfast spread was impressive, but the sitting places did not match the demand. Maybe because it was a little cold and people were not sitting outside. We did manage to find a table but it took some creativity and being eagle eyed.

Service on the whole was good. Request were answered promptly. Upon check-out I mentioned that I had expected the upgrade to be free as a Gold member, and in the end did not charge us for the upgrade, which I did appreciate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDDCFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the breakfast, we are sorry to hear you had to wait to be seated. Also we apologies regarding the wifi, there was a hold up on the part, which caused the delay further, I can confirm the wifi has been fixed and working perfectly now. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ålesund, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Exelent hotel, magnificient viuev, but to varm at night in the room. A plesent stay for two couples. Ålesund is a lovely city, worth a visit. The holtal is at the seeside, where we could see a tremndius sunset.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Torill Hukkelas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you felt the hotel was very central. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This time the restaurant has a vegetarian burger, which is excellent as a meal in itself. Breakfast variety has also improved considerably. The hotel, the rooms, the service and all other matters remain unchanged and is as I have written before.

Due to better weather, we could spend more time on the seafront terrace without freezing and that in itself is relaxing.

Room Tip: Sea facing, is you can ignore or tolerate the sounds that large sea gulls make.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to come back to us, your feedback is important to us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the new selction on the menu. The other parts of the hotel have remained the same from your previous stay but we are planning to refurbish our rooms in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming your back in the future.

Regards

Shaun Curtis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were staying 3 nights in room 537 which is a suit were you expect a perfect service.
No wifi in the room
No proper capuchin in the entire hotel. the machine is broken
They did not replace towels in the room even though we did not leave them on the towel rack
They did not fill the mini bar
The ironing rack which was attached to the wall fell on the floor but was not repaired until we left.
Light bulb in the bathroom went off but not repaired.
There are construction works just adjacent the hotel which seems to last for at least a year from now. Beware!
generally the maintanance of the property is very poor and it is not appealing at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room during your stay. I have discussed the conditions of your stay with the staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson Blu by Rezidor standards. During your stay we had an issue with the wifi throughout the whole hotel, we have been able to fix the issue and the internet is working now. Concerning the cleanliness of the room, I have spoke to housekeeping and we are going to do more inspections so they meet our standards.

I hope we can welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Shaun Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

we stayed 1 night in a spacious room, very comfortable.
breakfast was delciious - a huge selection of delciousness
tea/coffee in the lobby all day was good after a walk up to the lookout
the gym is basic but quiet and useable
the only downside was that the only parking is in the streets
overall we thought it was excellent value for money (we did get a good deal) and would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliaguliadavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was fantastic for you. I am sorry to hear about the parking issue though, here at Radisson Blu Aalesund we do have our own parking spaces witin walking distance of the hotel, which the front office should of informed you about. We hope we can welcoming you back to Aalesund in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was surprised at how interesting Aalesund is for a short visit. We stayed here to recover from jet-lag before visiting the Fjord Country. The hotel is modern, and comfortable, with an excellent (included) breakfast---and is very very close to the center of the town. A very good and respectable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njronneberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay especially our excellent breakfast. We look forward to your welcoming you back to Aalesund in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#8 of 12 in Alesund
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Address: Sorenskriver Bulls G. 7, Alesund 6002, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alesund
#6 Business Hotel in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a stunning location in Alesund, the Radisson Blu Hotel, Alesund offers guests breathtaking views of the fjord and its surrounding islands while providing city centre convenience to both business and leisure travellers. Impressive service, on-property dining and superior amenities await at this stylish hotel that reflects the chic Art Nouveau design found throughout Alesund. Relax in a comfortable room and stay connected with Free high-speed, wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Alesund guests enjoy casual dining at the on-site Bulls Brygge or a refreshing drink and snack at the Lobby Bar. In the summer months, savour a light meal on the Terrace by the waterfront. A well-equipped business centre and event space ensures a productive stay for corporate guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Alesund
ålesund Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing