We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Parken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scandic Parken
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Very nice hotel, well located in front of the harbour. I stayed just few days ,but it was a wonderfull experience . Some pros : Excellent breakfast, good food , good staff / contras : poor ilumination and they need to change the eletric powers as soon as possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    203
    35
    10
    2
See reviews for
50
135
30
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hareid, Norway
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Rica Parken Aalesund is a great place to have your conferance, but also a great place to stay in Aalesund. The rooms are at higher standard and the food is also great. Specially the lunch:)
The staff are very helpfull and find a solution on problems if they occur..

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
286 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel is situated right in the middle of Aalesund. You'll have easy access to any attraction in the city by foot.

Very nice restaurant in the hotel, and the rooms are refurbished or rather new. Ask for a room in the part of the hotel that has the destinct Art Noveau-style.

The hotel has nice rooms/bathrooms and very good beds.

The most amazing is the outstanding (and award-winning) breakfast they serve!

You may also take in a fantastic view of the city from the lounge on the 9th floor. Really an extra you don't pay for!

It's definitely my favourite Hotel in Aalesund.

Room Tip: As for a room high up facing the city or in the Art Noveau-part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here only one night in August on buisiness. Did not get a total feel of the hotel, but experienced helpfull proffesional staff, easy check-in, clean good rooms, and a marvelous breakfast.
For travellers like my self, a good breakfast makes the day start a lot easier, and if the breakfast at this hotel is the standard of Rica, well, no question regarding choice in hotell were I will be staying on my next trip in Norway.
Keep it up!

Room Tip: Choose high floor towards the harbour - great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norway68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We really loved this hotel. It is conveniently located right next to the park entrance, 5 minutes walk from the ferry port, and 10 minutes walk from the bus station and cruise ships port. Which is not surprising since the whole Alesund can be walked through in 30-40 minutes. The staff is very nice and friendly. Our room on the 8th floor was not very big, but comfortable and very well maintained, and offered magnificent view at the city, port, fjord, and mountains. Breakfast was one of the best ones I've ever seen in hotels around the world. The only downside is that there's such a variety, and everything looks so attractive, that you can't help eating a lot. Perfect place for a night in Alesund!

Room Tip: Magnificent views from the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikolayG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Marys, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We chose hotel for location and advertised parking. Parking is under the hotel and managed by another organization. Payment was confusing - you insert your credit card upon arrival and again upon departing to pay. (I thought the machine ate my card upon entry and had to call hotel staff to help - they were patient and helpful). Hotel was very nice and as others have noted, one of the best breakfast buffets of our trip - after the 3 tour bus groups left and the staff restocked.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
206 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This hotel is a big one, and my impression is that the members of staff are trained and organized. Fast check-in, very nice rooms, ok fitness center, very delicious food (even with more than 800 guests attending dinner) and great surroundings. You can easily walk to a place you will have a nice view just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ContrailsfromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#4 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#8 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Parken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Parken

Property: Scandic Parken
Address: Storgata 16, Alesund 6002, Norway (Formerly Rica Parken Hotel)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Parken 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Parken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing